Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Jerusalem Syndrome - Dance Performance by Sommer Ulrickson

25.08.2003, Sophiensæle, Berlin | The Jerusalem Syndrome project is designed to be an interdisciplinary dance theater production. The production's theme is the Jerusalem Syndrome, a physical and psychological condition afflicting certain travellers in Jerusalem. The patients identify themselves with biblical figures or believe themselves to be on a religious mission.

July 25–28 and July 30–August 3, 2003

The Jerusalem Syndrome project is to serve as a metaphor for physical and psychological extreme conditions in society and asks how the Western (Protestant) world in particular deals with religious intensity and spirituality. The première took place on July 25 at the Sophiensæle.

"Dance alternates with drama in a seamless sequence of extremely varied scenes, accompanied in parts by spherical sounds, in others by folkloric sounds. The six-person ensemble gives a virtuoso physical dancing and acting performance, witty and tempo-driven to the point of exhaustion, making use of the whole space. The observer gets also dizzy, since the exuberant attack on his/her associational abilities befuddles the brain, while the senses receive stimuli from all directions. Almighty, one thinks, wondering about a word one normally never uses, what a divine production!" (Katrin Pauly, Berliner Morgenpost)

July 25–28 and July 30–August 3, 2003


News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Jerusalem Syndrom - Tanzperformance von Sommer Ulrickson

25.08.2003, Sophiensæle, Berlin | Das Projekt Jerusalem Syndrom ist als interdisziplinäre Tanztheaterproduktion angelegt. Gegenstand der Produktion ist das Jerusalem Syndrom, eine körperliche und geistige Verfassung, die bestimmte Reisende in Jerusalem heimsucht. Die Patienten identifizieren sich mit biblischen Figuren oder glauben, eine religiöse Mission zu haben.

25. bis 28. Juli, 30. Juli bis 3. August 2003

Das Jerusalem Syndrom soll als Metapher für körperliche und geistige Extremzustände in der Gesellschaft stehen und will fragen, wie gerade die westliche (protestantische) Welt mit religiöser Intensität und Spiritualität umgeht. Premiere war am 25. Juli in den Sophiensælen.

"Es wechselt Tanz mit Schauspiel in bruchloser, extrem variantenreicher Szenenfolge, unterstützt von mal sphärischen, mal folkloristischen Klängen. Raumgreifend tanzt und spielt das sechsköpfige Ensemble mit virtuoser Körperlichkeit, mit Witz und Tempo bis zur Erschöpfung. Dem Zuschauer wird's auch ganz schwummrig, weil ihm der überbordende Angriff auf seine Assoziationsfähigkeit den Verstand vernebelt, während die Sinne Reize aus allen Richtungen empfangen. Allmächtiger, denkt man und wundert sich über das Wort, das man sonst nie benutzt, was für eine göttliche Inszenierung!" (Katrin Pauly, Berliner Morgenpost)

25. bis 28. Juli, 30. Juli bis 3. August 2003


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr