Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Return of the Human Being

An Exhibition of Sculptures by Ron Mueck

10.09.2003, Hamburger Bahnhof - Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin | The truth can be unsettling. This will become apparent to everyone who lets him/herself be seduced by Ron Mueck's sensational exhibition of hyperrealistically portrayed figures to transgress the boundaries that are generally in place to safeguard the privacy of others—and to save us from recognizing our ordinariness. The tremendous artistic force of Mueck's sculptures does not derive from their technical perfection, but from the non-perfection of their object: the human being.

The unsettling nature of this designed truth about birth and becoming, decline and death guarantees the success of artistic work. By radically departing from the traditions of idealization or criticism on the one hand and abstraction on the other hand, Ron Mueck returns to art its core: the human being itself. The Australian artist became instantly famous with his "Sensation," a travelling exhibition of the Royal Academy of Arts, which was on view in the Hamburger Bahnhof—Museum für Gegenwart in Berlin in 1998. His monumental sculpture "Boy" created a stir at the Venice Biennale in 2001.

From September 10 through November 2, 2003, the Berlin National Gallery hosts the artist's first solo show in Germany in the Hamburger Bahnhof with support from the Ernst Schering Foundation. The exhibition presents primarily more recent works, created in 2001 and 2002 during his stint as "Artist in Residence" at the National Gallery in London, including the larger-than-life representations of a self-absorbed "Pregnant Woman" or "Man in a Boat" (both 2002). On view are also older works such as "Man in a Sheet" (1997) and "Shaved Head" (1998). "Mask II," a larger-than-life self-portrait of the artist, was created in 2001.

Mueck refined his technical skills during his work for film studios, where he created life-like simulations in the "Special Effects" department. His materials include fiberglass and silicon, but also animal hair and even animal blood. In spite of his work for the film industry, Mueck is probably closer to classical art than to the representation forms of modern media. During his two years as "Artist in Residence," he dealt intensively with the masters of the Renaissance. Thus hardly any exhibition visitor will remain untouched by his unique representation of the ancient Christian motif of the birth of Jesus, entitled "Mother and Child."

News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Rückkehr des Menschen - Skulpturen-Ausstellung von Ron Mueck

Rückkehr des Menschen - Skulpturen-Ausstellung von Ron Mueck

10.09.2003, Hamburger Bahnhof - Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin | Die Wahrheit kann beunruhigen. Das erfährt jeder, der sich in Ron Muecks sensationeller Ausstellung von den hyperrealistisch dargestellten Figuren zur Übertretung jener Grenze verführen lässt, die uns gemeinhin als Scheu vor der Intimität des Anderen erscheint und davor bewahrt, uns selbst zu genau in dessen Durchschnittlichkeit zu erkennen. So erhalten Muecks Skulpturen ihre enorme künstlerische Kraft nicht aus der Perfektion ihrer Fertigung, sondern aus dem Nicht-Perfektsein ihres Gegenstands: des Menschen.

10. September bis 2. November 2003

Die Beunruhigung in dieser gestalteten Wahrheit über Geburt, Werden, Vergehen und Tod ist der Garant für das Gelingen der künstlerischen Arbeit. Durch den radikalen Bruch mit den Traditionen von Verklärung oder Kritik auf der einen und Abstraktion auf der anderen Seite gibt Ron Mueck der Kunst ihren Kern zurück, den Menschen selbst. Der Australier wurde schlagartig berühmt durch die Wanderausstellung "Sensation" der Royal Academy of Arts, die 1998 im Hamburger Bahnhof zu sehen war. Seine Großskulptur "Boy" machte 2001 auf der Biennale in Venedig Furore.

Vom 10. September bis zum 2. November 2003 widmete die Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof, unterstützt durch die Schering Stiftung, dem Künstler nun die erste Einzelausstellung in Deutschland. Sie zeigte vor allem neuere Arbeiten, die 2001 bis 2002 während seiner Zeit als "Artist in Residence" an der National Gallery in London entstanden sind, darunter die überlebensgroße Darstellung einer selbstversunkenen, schwangeren Frau, "Pregnant Woman", von 2002 oder "Man in a Boat" aus demselben Jahr. Daneben standen ältere Werke wie "Man in a Sheet" (1997) und "Shaved Head" (1998). "Mask II" ist ein im Jahr 2001 entstandenes, überlebensgroßes Selbstporträt des Künstlers.

Die handwerkliche Raffinesse, mit der Mueck seine Skulpturen herstellt, verfeinerte er unter anderem in Filmstudios, für die er im Bereich "Special Effects" lebensnahe Simulationen fertigte. Als Materialien für seine Arbeit dienen ihm neben Fiberglas und Silikon auch Haare von Tieren und selbst tierisches Blut. Trotz seiner Tätigkeit für den Film dürfte Mueck der klassischen Kunst deutlich näher stehen als den Darstellungsformen der medialen Moderne. Während der zwei Jahre als "Artist in Residence" setzte er sich intensiv mit den Meistern der Renaissance auseinander. So wird in "Mother and Child" das alte, christliche Motiv der Geburt Jesu so unvergleichlich wiederbelebt, dass wohl kein Betrachter davon unberührt bleiben kann.

Aktuelles

Wer hat Angst vorm fremden Mann?

12.05.2017, Berlin | Die Angst vor dem Fremden scheint ein Wesensmerkmal des Menschen zu sein. Sie...
mehr

SYSTEMA NATURAE

22.05.2017, Berlin | Im Jahr 2013 begannen die Komponisten Mauro Lanza und Andrea Valle ihre Zusammenarbeit...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr