Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Art Sponsorship in the Name of Karl Hofer

25.09.2003, Haus am Waldsee, Berlin | Young artists in their thirties present new works in the Haus am Waldsee in Berlin-Zehlendorf: Tatjana Bergius, Regine Bungartz, Niki Elbe, Steffen Geisler, Anne Hille, Anke Kalk, Julia Krewani, Gabriele Künne, Annette Rose, Bodo Rott, Michaela Schweiger, Eric Tschernow, Karen Wald-Bartelt, and Filip Zorzor. All of them were grant recipients of the Karl Hofer Society.


For two years, they had the opportunity to let their creativity unfold in the Atelieretage of the Karl Hofer Society in Berlin-Oberschöneweide. Covering a broad spectrum—from painting, drawing, object, and installation to video and photography—they now present their extraordinary talents to a broader public.

A gas flame, as photographed by Karen Wald-Bartelt, becomes a flower. Seed capsules and an engine under the hands of Julia Krewani turn into a hybrid art object. A unicorn is the main protagonist of Anke Kalk's performance "Leaving Berlin #3." Bodo Rott draws his almost headless "Couple" in a classical watercolor technique. These and other works can be admired in an exhibition catalogue sponsored by the Ernst Schering Foundation.

The Karl Hofer Society was founded in 1953. It supports young graduates of the Berlin University of the Arts by awarding studio grants and prizes, and by arranging for exhibition opportunities and contacts so that they can find their place on the art market after finishing their studies.

Karl Hofer (1878-1955), the founding director of the Berlin University of the Arts after 1945, remains vividly remembered in the Haus am Waldsee, which dedicates itself to contemporary art since 1946. The current exhibition is part of an uninterrupted series of presentations of current directions in art in the post-war period, which has included such prominent names as Karl Schmitt-Rottluff, Bernhard Heiliger, Max Pechstein and also Karl Hofer. Documenting the exhibition, the catalogue sponsored by the Ernst Schering Foundation may very well illustrate the first steps of tomorrow's great artists.


News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Kunstförderung im Namen Karl Hofers

25.09.2003, Haus am Waldsee, Berlin | Die Ausstellung der Stipendiaten der Karl Hofer Gesellschaft 2001–2003

Junge Künstler aus der Generation der 30jährigen zeigen im Haus am Waldsee in Berlin Zehlendorf neueste Arbeiten: Tatjana Bergius, Regine Bungartz, Niki Elbe, Steffen Geisler, Anne Hille, Anke Kalk, Julia Krewani, Gabriele Künne, Anette Rose, Bodo Rott, Michaela Schweiger, Eric Tschernow, Karen Wald-Bartelt und Filip Zorzor. Sie alle waren Stipendiaten der Karl-Hofer-Gesellschaft. Die Schering Stiftung förderte die Herausgabe des Kataloges.

Niki Elbe, Preisträgerin des Atelierpreises der Karl Hofer Gesellschaft 2002,
Leben im Palast, 2000 (Foto: Thomas Bruns, Berlin)

25. September bis 16. November 2003


Zwei Jahre lang konnten sie in der Atelieretage in Berlin-Oberschöneweide ihre Kreativität frei entfalten. Mit einem breiten Spektrum an Werken aus den Gebieten Malerei, Zeichnung, Objekt, Installation, Video und Fotografie präsentieren sie nun ihre außergewöhnlichen Begabungen einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit.

Eine Gasflamme wird, fotografiert von Karen Wald-Bartelt, zur Blume. Samenkapseln und ein Motor verwandeln sich unter den Händen von Julia Krewani zum hybriden Kunstobjekt. Ein Einhorn spielt die Hauptrolle in Anke Kalks Performance "Leaving Berlin #3". Bodo Rott zeichnet sein beinahe kopfloses "Paar" klassisch in Aquarell. Diese und andere Werke sind in einem Ausstellungskatalog zu bewundern, dessen Herausgabe die Schering Stiftung förderte.

Gegründet wurde die Karl Hofer Gesellschaft 1953. Junge Absolventinnen und Absolventen der Universität der Künste werden mit Atelierstipendien, mit der Vergabe von Förderpreisen, der Vermittlung von Ausstellungsmöglichkeiten und Kontakten darin unterstützt, nach erfolgreich abgeschlossenem Hochschulstudium ihren Platz im Kunstmarkt zu finden.

Die Erinnerung an Karl Hofer (1878-1955), den Gründungsdirektor der Staatlichen Hochschule für Bildende Künste nach 1945, ist auch im Haus am Waldsee lebendig, das sich seit 1946 der zeitgenössischen Kunst widmet. Die aktuelle Ausstellung knüpft an eine seit der Nachkriegszeit ununterbrochene Folge von Präsentationen aktueller Kunstströmungen an, in deren Reihe sich neben anderen so bedeutende Namen wie Karl Schmitt-Rottluff, Bernhard Heiliger, Max Pechstein und auch Karl Hofer finden. Der von der Schering Stiftung geförderte Katalog dokumentiert die Ausstellung und wird so möglicherweise die ersten Schritte der großen Künstler von morgen nachvollziehbar machen.


Aktuelles

Die Debatte – Die Macht der Meinungsforschung

01.08.2017, Berlin | Das politische Jahr 2017 bewegt sich auf den Höhepunkt zu: Die Bundestagswahlen am...
mehr

Digitaler Salon: Bei Nebenwirkungen fragen Sie Ihren Algorithmus

01.08.2017, Berlin | Werden wir durch personalisierte Tabletten und Nano-Roboter künftig länger und besser leben? Welchen...
mehr

"Women" von Sasha Waltz

19.07.2017, Berlin | Sasha Waltz & Guests werden im Rahmen von „Tanz im August“ am 30....
mehr