Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Writing - Images - Ideas: Walter Benjamin and Contemporary Art

31.10.2004, Haus am Waldsee, Berlin | His dissertation was ignored. His habilitation was rejected by the University of Frankfurt. It was only after his death, in the mid-1950s, that the expert public began to recognize the productive impetus of Walter Benjamin's work.

Through his reflections on the changes in art, culture and the media, Walter Benjamin opened up new horizons not just for philosophers and cultural historians. Artists such as Joseph Beuys and Marcel Duchamp also dealt with his ideas in their work.

The exhibition "Writing—Images—Ideas" in the Haus am Waldsee for the first time shows a representative selection of works by artists who have grappled with Benjamin's personality, his writings and ideas since the 1970s. The focus is on terms such as myth-making, aura and reproduction. It was through these terms that Benjamin shaped the debate about the transformation of art and society due to the new technical media of photography, film and radio.

In keeping with its goal to support innovative and outstanding projects, the Ernst Schering Foundation joins the German Capital Culture Fund (Hauptstadtkulturfonds) in sponsoring this exhibition, which for the first time presents to the public a comprehensive and scholarly review of Benjamin's influence on the arts.

October 31, 2004-January 30, 2005
Haus am Waldsee
Opening Hours: Tue-Sun: 12 noon-8 p.m.
www.hausamwaldsee-berlin.de


News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Schrift - Bilder - Denken: Walter Benjamin und die Kunst der Gegenwart

31.10.2004, Haus am Waldsee, Berlin | Seine Dissertation blieb unbeachtet. Seine Habilitationsschrift lehnte die Frankfurter Universität sogar ab. Erst nach seinem Tod, Mitte der 1950er Jahre, erkannte die Fachöffentlichkeit, welch produktive Impulse die Werke Walter Benjamins in sich bergen.

31. Oktober 2004 bis 30. Januar 2005

Nicht nur den Philosophen und Kulturwissenschaftlern eröffnete Walter Benjamin durch seine Überlegungen zum Wandel von Kunst, Kultur und Medien neue Horizonte. Auch bildende Künstler wie Joseph Beuys und Marcel Duchamp setzten sich in ihren Arbeiten mit ihm auseinander.

Die Ausstellung "Schrift - Bilder - Denken" im Haus am Waldsee zeigt erstmals einen repräsentativen Querschnitt von Werken bildender Künstler, die sich seit den 1970er Jahren mit der Person, den Schriften und den Ideen Benjamins beschäftigt haben. Begriffe wie Legendenbildung, Aura und Reproduzierbarkeit stehen dabei im Mittelpunkt. Denn gerade durch sie prägte Benjamin die Diskussion um jene Veränderungen, die die damals neuen technischen Medien Fotografie, Film und Rundfunk für Kunst und Gesellschaft mit sich brachten.

Gemäß ihrem programmatischen Schwerpunkt, Wegweisendes und Herausragendes zu fördern, unterstützt die Schering Stiftung, gemeinsam mit dem Hauptstadtkulturfonds, diese Ausstellung, da hier zum ersten Mal Benjamins Einfluss auf die Kunst umfassend und wissenschaftlich kommentiert für die Öffentlichkeit aufgearbeitet wird.

31. Oktober 2004 bis 30. Januar 2005
Haus am Waldsee
Öffnungszeiten: Di-So: 12-20 Uhr

www.hausamwaldsee-berlin.de

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Acousmatic Lectures Series

26.06.2017, Berlin | Im Rahmen der Acousmatic Lectures Series wird in Berlin eine Reihe von interdisziplinären...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr