Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

The Messiah by Georg Friedrich Händel in the Arrangement of Carl Friedrich Zelter

14.12.2004, Berlin Philharmonic Hall, Berlin| In 1789 in Vienna, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart took into account the contemporary taste by writing a new orchestration for "The Messiah" by Georg Friedrich Händel, thus bringing a fresher note to the oratorio. Only shortly afterwards, between 1829 and 1835, Carl Friedrich Zelter worked on the Baroque piece to be able to perform it in Berlin.

December 14, 2004, 8:00 p.m.

 

Händel's works were well-known and popular, but already at the end of the 18th century they could frequently no longer be performed in their original arrangements, since the spread of new instruments such as the clarinet made it difficult to put together an orchestra using the original instrumentation.

Zelter's arrangement, which was presumed missing for many years after the Second World War together with the archive of the Sing-Akademie, will now be performed for the first time—after its première in the early 19th century—on December 14, 2004, at 8:00 p.m. in the Berlin Philharmonic Hall.

The archive of the Berlin Sing-Akademie, rediscovered in the National Library of the Ukraine in Kiev, is a musico-historical treasure of international importance. Among the more than five thousand hand-written scores and old prints, twenty-one unknown passions by Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach alone await their revival. We are delighted that our contribution enables the public to share in these discoveries. Already last year, the Ernst Schering Foundation made possible the performance of the St. John's Passion of 1772, while the St. Matthew's Passion by Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach, dating from 1785, could be presented to the public after more than two hundred years on April 4, 2004.

Performed by:
Zelter Ensemble of the Berlin Sing-Akademie—Choir and Orchestra
Mojca Erdmann—Soprano
Tina Hörhold—Contralto
Maximilian Schmitt—Tenor
Locky Chung—Baritone
Conducted by Joshard Daus

Date: December 14, 2004, 8:00 p.m.

Location: Berlin Philharmonic Hall

Tickets: Konzert-Direktion Haus Adler, phone: +49 30 8264727

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Der Messias von Georg Friedrich Händel in der Fassung von Carl Friedrich Zelter

14.12.2004, Philharmonie, Berlin | Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart trägt in Wien im Jahr 1789 dem Zeitgeschmack Rechnung, als er dem "Messias" von Georg Friedrich Händel durch eine geänderte Fassung mit neuer Instrumentierung eine frischere Klangfarbe verleiht. Nur wenig später, zwischen 1829 und 1835, arbeitet Carl-Friedrich Zelter an dem barocken Stück, um es in Berlin aufführen zu können.

14. Dezember 2004, 20:00 Uhr

Händels Werke waren zwar bekannt und beliebt, konnten jedoch bereits zum Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts in ihrer ursprünglichen Fassung bisweilen nicht mehr aufgeführt werden, da durch die Verbreitung neuer Instrumente, wie z. B. der Klarinette, die Originalbesetzung für ein Orchester kaum noch zusammengestellt werden konnte.

Die Fassung Zelters, die nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg viele Jahre mit dem Archiv der Sing-Akademie als verschollen galt, wird nun - erstmals nach ihrer Uraufführung zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts - am 14. Dezember 2004, 20 Uhr, in der Berliner Philharmonie zu hören sein.

Das in der Nationalbibliothek Kiew wiederentdeckte Archiv der Sing-Akademie zu Berlin ist ein musikhistorischer Schatz von internationaler Bedeutung. In den mehr als 5000 Notenhandschriften und alten Drucken warten allein 21 unbekannte Passionen von Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach auf ihre Wiederaufführung. Wir freuen uns, mit unserer Unterstützung dazu beizutragen, dass die Öffentlichkeit an diesen Entdeckungen teilhaben kann. Nachdem die Schering Stiftung bereits im vergangenen Jahr die Aufführung der Johannes-Passion von 1772 ermöglicht hat, konnte am 4. April 2004 eine weitere Passion - die Matthäus-Passion von Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach aus dem Jahr 1785 - zum ersten Mal nach über 200 Jahren der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt werden.

Ausführende:
Zelter-Ensemble der Sing-Akademie zu Berlin - Chor und Orchester
Mojca Erdmann, Sopran
Tina Hörhold, Alt
Maximilian Schmitt, Tenor
Locky Chung, Bariton
Leitung: Joshard Daus


Datum: 14. Dezember 2004, 20:00 Uhr

Ort: Philharmonie Berlin
Karten: Konzert-Direktion Haus Adler, Tel.: +49 30 8264727

Aktuelles

KLAS-Workshop „AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC“

17.10.2017, Berlin | Im Rahmen des „Artist-in-Residence“-Programms KLAS laden die Max-Planck-Institute für Kolloid- und Grenzflächenforschung und...
mehr

Verschwindende Vermächtnisse: Die Welt als Wald

11.10.2017, Berlin | Der Wald ist ein Mythos. Besungen und vergoldet von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aller...
mehr

Perspektivisomorphe – ein experimentell-künstlerischer Zugang als Theorieansatz in der Organischen Chemie

04.10.2017, Berlin | In einem neuen Projekt an der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen kommt es zu einer ungewöhnlichen...
mehr