SS_PP_190x190px2

 

Compositions on Goethe's Faust - Première from the Archive of the Sing-Akademie

25.10.2005, Berlin Philharmonic Hall, Berlin | Inspired by the then director of the Berlin Sing-Akademie, Carl Friedrich Zelter, Anton Heinrich von Radziwill's work is the first setting to music of Goethe's Faust, created in close communication with Goethe himself. The masterpiece is one of the most frequently performed Faust pieces of the 19th century. Goethe himself called the evening-length oratorio, whose protagonists not only sing, but also speak and act, a "brilliant composition, which happily sweeps us along."

October 25, 2005, 8:00 p.m.

Last season, the Ernst Schering Foundation supported the production of Faust at the Deutsche Theater under the direction of Michael Thalheimer. Therefore, we are glad that the work of Radziwill makes possible an examination of the Faust epic on a different, musical, level, while making accessible to the public another work from the archive of the Sing-Akademie.

The Berlin Sing-Akademie, founded by Carl Christian Friedrich Fasch in 1791, was not only an outstanding institution of choral music until the early 20th century, but also an important intellectual and cultural center in Berlin, whose influence radiated throughout Germany. Its members included Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, Meyerbeer and many other composers. Goethe, Schadow, Hegel, Wilhelm von Humboldt and other prominent figures were closely associated with the Sing-Akademie. The archive of the Berlin Sing-Akademie—taken to Kiev after the Second World War—was returned to Berlin in 1999.

Zelter Ensemble of the Berlin Sing-Akademie
Faust: Thomas Dewals—Tenor
Mephisto: Thomas Mohr—Baritone
Gretchen: Fionnuala McCarthy—Soprano
Marte: Annette Kuhn—Alto
Braunschweig State Orchestra

Date: October 25, 2005, 8:00 p.m.
Location: Berlin Philharmonic Hall, Chamber Music Hall

Tickets: 10/15/20/25 euro (pupils and students: 8 euro)
by phone at +49 30 8264727, online at: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
or at all theater ticket offices

News

Unboxing Photographs: Work in the Photo Archive

15.01.2018, Berlin | From February 16 through May 27, 2018, the National Museums in Berlin will...
more

Stellenausschreibung: Teamassistenz

05.01.2018, Berlin | Zur Erweiterung unseres Teams suchen wir zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt eine Teamassistenz (m/w), Teilzeit...
more

Who Is Talking? Research Orientation in Children’s and Youth Theater

02.01.2018, Berlin | An expert conference titled “Who Is Talking? Research Orientation in Children’s and Youth...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Compositionen zu Goethes Faust - Uraufführung aus dem Archiv der Sing-Akademie

25.10.2005, Philharmonie, Berlin | Vom damaligen Leiter der Sing-Akademie zu Berlin Carl Friedrich Zelter angeregt, schuf Anton Heinrich von Radziwill die erste Vertonung von Goethes Faust in enger Kommunikation mit Goethe selbst. Das Meisterwerk gehört zu der am häufigsten und längsten gespielten Faust-Musik des 19. Jahrhunderts. Goethe selbst bezeichnet das abendfüllende Oratorium als "geniale, uns glücklich mit fortreissende Composition", in der die Protagonisten nicht nur singend, sondern auch sprechend und darstellend agieren.

25. Oktober 2005, 20:00 Uhr

In der vergangenen Spielzeit hatte die Schering Stiftung die Inszenierung des Faust am Deutschen Theater in der Regie von Michael Thalheimer unterstützt. Deshalb freuen wir uns, dass das Werk Radziwills die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Faust-Epos auf einer weiteren, musikalischen Ebene ermöglicht und damit zugleich ein weiteres Werk aus dem Archiv der Sing-Akademie der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht wird.

Die von Carl Christian Friedrich Fasch im Jahr 1791 gegründete Sing-Akademie zu Berlin war bis Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts nicht nur eine herausragende Institution der Chormusik, sondern darüber hinaus ein bedeutendes geistig-kulturelles Zentrum in Berlin, das auf ganz Deutschland ausstrahlte. Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, Meyerbeer und viele andere Komponisten waren Mitglieder. Goethe ebenso wie Schadow, Hegel, Wilhelm von Humboldt und weitere Persönlichkeiten waren der Sing-Akademie eng verbunden. Das Archiv der Sing-Akademie zu Berlin - nach dem 2. Weltkrieg nach Kiew verbracht - wurde erst 1999 wieder nach Berlin zurückgeführt.

Ausführende:
Zelter-Ensemble der Sing-Akademie zu Berlin
Faust: Thomas Dewals - Tenor
Mephisto: Thomas Mohr - Bariton
Gretchen: Fionnuala McCarthy - Sopran
Marte: Annette Kuhn - Alt
Staatsorchester Braunschweig

Termine: 25. Oktober 2005, 20:00 Uhr
Ort: Philharmonie Berlin, Kammermusiksaal

Aktuelles

Wer hat Angst vorm fremden Mann?

12.05.2017, Berlin | Die Angst vor dem Fremden scheint ein Wesensmerkmal des Menschen zu sein. Sie...
mehr

SYSTEMA NATURAE

22.05.2017, Berlin | Im Jahr 2013 begannen die Komponisten Mauro Lanza und Andrea Valle ihre Zusammenarbeit...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr