Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Shanghai Beauty - Dance Performance as Part of the ABOUT BEAUTY Festival

08.04.2005, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin | As reference point, the artists used the much-debated work "Vom Wesen des Nackten" [Of the Essence of Nudity] by philosopher and sinologist François Jullien, which describes the different conceptions of beauty in Asia and Europe. "In China," Chinese star dancer Jin Xing says, "nakedness is considered superficial and unattractive. The veiled, the concealed, and the mystical qualities of the clothed body are the source of inspiration and imagination."

Jin Xing has been honored as best (male) dancer of China, before undergoing a sex change, which has made her one of the most famous artists in China. Self-determination and personal freedom are at the center of Jin Xing's artistic work. The dance company founded by Jin Xing draws on classical ballet and Chinese folk dances as well as a modern dance technique developed by Jin Xing herself.

The commissioned work "Shanghai Beauty" is the second cooperation between the Berlin artist couple Jutta Hell and Dieter Baumann and the Chinese star dancer Jin Xing. Already in 2002, the House of World Cultures hosted the world première of "Person to Person" as part of the IN TRANSIT festival.

Location: House of World Cultures, Berlin, Auditorium

Dates: April 7, 8 and 9, 2005, in Berlin, early March 2005 in Shanghai


News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Shanghai Beauty - Tanzperformance im Rahmen des Festivals ÜBER SCHÖNHEIT

08.04.2005, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin | Als Grundlage der Performance diente den Künstlern der vieldiskutierte Band "Vom Wesen des Nackten" des Philosophen und Sinologen François Jullien, der darin die unterschiedlichen Vorstellungen von Schönheit in Asien und Europa beschreibt. "Nacktheit", so die chinesische Startänzerin Jin Xing, "gilt in China als vordergründig und unattraktiv. Das Verhüllte, Verborgene, Mystische des angezogenen Körpers ist die Quelle der Inspiration und der Fantasie."

7., 8., 9. April 2005 in Berlin, Anfang März 2005 in Shanghai

Jin Xing ist als bester Tänzer Chinas ausgezeichnet worden, bevor er durch eine Geschlechtsumwandlung zur Frau und zu einer der bekanntesten Künstlerpersönlichkeiten Chinas wurde. Selbstbestimmung und persönliche Freiheit stehen für Jin Xing im Mittelpunkt ihres künstlerischen Schaffens. Als Grundlage dient der von Jin Xing gegründeten Tanzkompanie dabei sowohl klassisches Ballett und chinesische Volkstänze als auch eine von Jin Xing selbst entwickelte Modern-Dance-Technik.

Die Auftragsprodutkion "Shanghai Beauty" ist die zweite Kooperation zwischen dem Berliner Künstlerpaar Jutta Hell und Dieter Baumann und der chinesischen Startänzerin Jin Xing. Bereits 2002 hat das Haus der Kulturen der Welt die Arbeit "Person to Person" im Rahmen des Festivals IN TRANSIT uraufgeführt.

Ort: Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, Auditorium

Zeitraum: 7., 8., 9. April 2005 in Berlin, Anfang März 2005 in Shanghai


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni...
mehr