Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Focus on: Johannes Verspronck, Portrait of a Lady in an Armchair (ca. 1642-45)

07.11.2006, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main | For the first time in decades, the "Portrait of a Lady in an Armchair" (ca. 1642–45) by the Dutch painter Johannes Verspronck will be presented to the public. The Dutch baroque work, part of the storage collection of the Städel Museum in Frankfurt/Main since the end of the Second World War and recently extensively restored, will be displayed next to the double portrait of a married couple by famous fellow artist Frans Hals, in an exhibition featuring comprehensive explanatory material.

Both Johannes Verspronck and Frans Hals gained fame and respect as portraitists in the Dutch town of Haarlem in the first half of the 17th century. While Frans Hals' customers belonged mainly to the circle of Protestant refugees from Flanders who had gained power and fortunes in the town, Johannes Verspronck's patrons were drawn mostly from the Catholic milieu. Not least because of their different clientele, the artists developed different ways of painting.

As part of the extraordinary exhibition series "Focus on: ...," Verspronck's "Portrait of a Lady in an Armchair" (ca. 1642–45) will be examined not only from an art historical perspective, but also in its historical and sociological context. In addition, the exhibition will show the results of the scientific analysis of the painting. Thus, a photographic documentation enables visitors to see the individual stages of the complicated restoration, but also, by comparison, details in painting techniques. "Mind maps," comparison images, microscope photographs and other material make visible the portrait's complexity and illustrate its historical and social background.

While the painting may seem stiff and conventional to today's viewer, a closer examination and interpretation of the artist's use of form reveals the high social status of the "Lady in an Armchair" and even an open-minded attitude towards new developments. It will be interesting to see what else can be discovered in the painting!

Johannes Verspronck is the subject of the second exhibition in the "Focus on: ..." series, which is supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation. In a total of nine exhibitions, masterpieces from the distinguished collection of the Städel Museum are presented from a variety of scientific and scholarly perspectives. The series will be continued on April 10, 2007, with "Focus on: Ernst Ludwig Kirchner: Life, 1927-1932 (Inv. No. 2111)."

Flyer (PDF)

Exhibition Dates:
November 7, 2006–March 25, 2007

Opening Hours:
Tue, Fri–Sun: 10 a.m.–6 p.m.
Wed, Thu: 10 a.m.–9 p.m.

Location:
Städel Museum
Schaumainkai 63
60596 Frankfurt/Main
Phone: +49 69 605098-0

Additional Information:
www.staedelmuseum.de
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Fokus auf: Johannes Verspronck, Bildnis einer Frau im Sessel (um 1642-45)

07.11.2006, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main | Erstmals seit Jahrzehnten wird das "Bildnis einer Frau im Sessel" (um 1642-45) des niederländischen Malers Johannes Verspronck wieder der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert. Das barocke Werk, das sich seit Beendigung des Zweiten Weltkrieges im Depot des Städel Museums in Frankfurt am Main befand und jüngst umfangreich restauriert wurde, wird nun zusammen mit dem Doppelbildnis eines Ehepaares von Frans Hals, dem berühmtem Künstlerkollegen, in einer mit umfangreichen erläuternden Materialien versehenen Ausstellung gezeigt.

Johannes Verspronck und Frans Hals brachten es beide in der ersten Hälfte des 17. Jahrhunderts als Bildnismaler im niederländischen Haarlem zu Ruhm und Ansehen. Während Frans Hals seine Kunden vor allem im Kreis der aus Flandern geflohenen Protestanten fand, die in der Stadt an politischem Einfluss gewonnen hatten und zu Reichtum gekommen waren, stammten Johannes Versproncks Auftraggeber überwiegend aus dem katholischen Milieu. Nicht zuletzt aufgrund ihrer unterschiedlichen Klientel bildeten beide Künstler divergierende Malweisen aus.

In der außergewöhnlichen Reihe "Fokus auf: ..." wird "Das Bildnis einer Frau im Sessel" (um 1642-45) von Verspronck nicht nur aus kunstwissenschaftlicher Perspektive beleuchtet, sondern auch sein historischer und soziologischer Kontext dokumentiert. Auch die Ergebnisse der gemäldetechnologischen Untersuchung mit naturwissenschaftlichen Methoden werden gezeigt. So ermöglicht eine fotografische Dokumentation, die einzelnen Schritte der aufwendigen Restaurierung, aber auch maltechnische Eigenheiten im vergleichenden Sehen zu erfassen. Mit Hilfe von "mind maps", Vergleichsabbildungen, Mikroskopaufnahmen und anderen Materialien wird die Vielschichtigkeit des Porträts visualisiert und sein historischer und gesellschaftlicher Hintergrund erläutert.

Was auf den heutigen Betrachter auf den ersten Blick vielleicht steif und konventionell wirken mag, lässt bei genauem Hinsehen und der Interpretation der individuellen Formensprache des Künstlers die hohe gesellschaftliche Stellung der "Frau im Sessel" und sogar eine aufgeschlossene Haltung gegenüber neuen Entwicklungen erkennen. So dürfen wir gespannt sein, was es noch alles auf dem Gemälde zu entdecken gibt!

Johannes Verspronck steht im Mittelpunkt der zweiten Ausstellung der Reihe "Fokus auf: ...", die von der Schering Stiftung unterstützt wird. In insgesamt neun Ausstellungen wird jeweils ein Meisterwerk aus der bedeutenden Sammlung des Städel Museums unter verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen Aspekten präsentiert. Die Fortsetzung folgt ab 10. April 2007 mit "Fokus auf: Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Das Leben (1927-1932)".

Flyer (PDF)

Ausstellungsdauer:
7. November 2006 bis 25. März 2007

Öffnungszeiten:
Di, Fr-So: 10-18 Uhr
Mi, Do: 10-21 Uhr

Ort:
Städel Museum
Schaumainkai 63
60596 Frankfurt am Main
Tel.: +49 69 605098-0

Weitere Informationen:
www.staedelmuseum.de
Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen, die herausragende Arbeiten...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Die Selbstdarstellung ist so alt wie die Menschheitsgeschichte. Und doch scheint sie in...
mehr