Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Johann Gottfried Schadow— - A Complete Catalogue of His Drawings

17.02.2006, Academy of Art, Berlin | Commissioned by the Berlin Academy of Art and the German Society for Art History, the first complete catalogue of the drawings of Johann Gottfried Schadow, which are preserved in different collections, was compiled by art historians Sibylle Badstübner-Gröger, Claudia Czok and Jutta von Simson. The three-volume work, edited by Rüdiger Becksmann and supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation, will be presented to the public on February 17, 2006, as part of a "Little Schadow Celebration" at the Berlin Academy of Art.

Born in Berlin in 1764, Johann Gottfried Schadow at the age of 15 starts his apprenticeship as a sculptor in the Royal Sculptor's Workshop under the direction of Jan Pieter Antoon Tassaert, while at the same time attending the Art Academy. A prolonged study trip takes him to Rome for two years, where he studies classical works of art and cultivates the company of important artists such as Antonia Canova. Upon his return to Berlin, he succeeds Tassaert in 1788 to become director of the Royal Sculptor's Workshop. During his directorship, he closely collaborates with Carl Gotthold Langhans (director of the Royal Office of Works). From 1815 until his death in 1850, Schadow serves as director of the Berlin Academy of Art.

He favors a naturalistic/realistic representation, which stands in sharp contrast to the then preferred mode of representation, i.e. an idealized representation deriving from classical antiquity. For that he is criticized by famous contemporaries such as Goethe and Schlegel. Friedrich Wilhelm III even forbids the erection of one of Schadow's best-known sculptures, the "Princesses Luise and Friederike" (1795/97), because of its overly naturalistic depiction of his wife.

In 1830, Schadow is awarded an honorary doctorate by the Philosophical Faculty in Berlin. Due to an eye problem, Schadow has to limit himself to drawing after 1836.

Schadow's masterpieces include the Quadriga on top of the Brandenburg Gate, the equestrian statue of Blücher and the touching tomb of Count Alexander von der Mark, who died as an infant.


News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Johann Gottfried Schadow - ein Werkverzeichnis seiner Zeichnungen

17.02.2006, Akademie der Künste, Berlin | Im Auftrag der Berliner Akademie der Künste und des Deutschen Vereins für Kunstwissenschaft wurde das erste Werkverzeichnis sämtlicher in verschiedenen Sammlungen bewahrter Zeichnungen Johann Gottfried Schadows durch die Kunsthistorikerinnen Sibylle Badstübner-Gröger, Claudia Czok und Jutta von Simson erarbeitet. Das dreibändige Werk, von Rüdiger Becksmann herausgegeben, wird am 17. Februar 2006 mit einem "Kleinen Schadow-Fest" in der Akademie der Künste erstmals der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert.

Der 1764 in Berlin geborene Johann Gottfried Schadow beginnt bereits mit fünfzehn Jahren eine Bildhauerlehre in der königlichen Bildhauerwerkstatt unter der Leitung von Jan Pieter Antoon Tassaert und besucht gleichzeitig die Kunstakademie. Eine ausgedehnte Studienreise führt ihn für zwei Jahre nach Rom, wo er die Antike studiert und Kontakte zu bedeutenden Künstlern, u.a. Antonio Canova, pflegt. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Berlin tritt er 1788 die Nachfolge von Tassaert an und wird Leiter der Hofbildhauerwerkstatt. In dieser Zeit arbeitet er eng mit Carl Gotthold Langhans (Direktor des Oberhofbauamtes) zusammen. Ab 1815 bis zu seinem Tode 1850 ist Schadow Direktor der Akademie der Künste in Berlin.

Er favorisiert eine naturalistisch/realistische Darstellung, die im Gegensatz zu der bis dahin favorisierten, aus der Antike stammenden idealisierenden Darstellung steht. Kritisiert wird er dafür von so bekannten Zeitgenossen wie Goethe und Schlegel. Friedrich Wilhelm III. untersagt gar die Aufstellung einer der bekanntesten Skulpturen Schadows, der Prinzessinnengruppe "Luise und Friederike" (1795/97), wegen der allzu naturalistischen Darstellung seiner Frau.

1830 verleiht ihm die Berliner Philosophische Fakultät die Ehrendoktorwürde. Ab 1836 muss sich Schadow wegen eines Augenleidens auf das Zeichnen beschränken.

Zu den großen Werken Schadows zählen die Quadriga auf dem Brandenburger Tor, das Reiterstandbild Blüchers und das anrührende Grabmal des als Kind verstorbenen Grafen Alexander von der Mark.


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Die KW Institute for Contemporary Art und die Schering Stiftung freuen sich, die...
mehr