Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Kommander Kobayashi. Series 2

08.09.2006, Sophiensæle, Berlin | Kommander Kobayashi and his crew are on an intergalactic trip through Europe on board their spaceship La Fenice. They successively come under the influence of two threatening systems: Warsaw and Moscow. While the Russian capital becomes the destination of a research expedition, Warsaw comes to represent a field of force which releases unexpected energies. The two saga episodes were written by two composers who are very familiar with these cities: Sergei Nevski (Moscow) and Aleksandra Gryka (Warsaw).

The science fiction operatic saga "Kommander Kobayashi. Series 2" is the sequel to the first series, which premiered at the Hamburg State Opera in January 2005 and which was also made possible by the Ernst Schering Foundation. Through the support of the Ernst Schering Foundation, the Berlin-based opera company of Novoflot, a first-rate international ensemble of young musicians and singers, could realize this highly innovative serialized project. The ensemble is characterized by both its openness to New Music and above all by its high artistic quality.

By supporting the project "Kommander Kobayashi," the Ernst Schering Foundation acknowledges the fact that the two productions redraw the boundaries of the traditional music theater. A new opera format?the operatic saga?has been introduced into the contemporary music theater. Created in order to explore a variety of approaches to opera and contemporary music, the operatic saga comprises a series of short chamber operas written by different composers. This innovative concept has opened up an important debate on contemporary aesthetics and approaches in opera.

Performance Dates:

Sophiensæle, Berlin:
September 9, 10, 15, 16 and 17, 2006, 8:00 p.m.

Teatr Wielki, Warsaw:
September 27, 2006, 7:30 p.m., and
September 28, 2006, 4:30 p.m.

Théâtre National du Luxembourg, Luxemburg:
October 5 and 6, 2006, 8:00 p.m.

Additional Information: www.sophiensaele.com

News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Kommander Kobayashi - Uraufführung der II. Staffel der Opernsaga

08.09.2006, Sophiensæle, Berlin | Kommander Kobayashi und seine Crew befinden sich in ihrem Raumschiff "La Fenice" auf einer intergalaktischen Europareise. Nacheinander geraten sie unter den Einfluss zweier bedrohlicher Systeme: Warschau und Moskau. Während die russische Hauptstadt zum Ziel einer Forschungsexpedition wird, tritt Warschau als Kraftfeld auf, das ungeahnte Energien freisetzt. Komponiert wurden die beiden Sagafolgen von zwei Komponisten, die mit diesen Städten eng vertraut sind: Sergej Newski (Moskau) und Aleksandra Gryka (Warschau).

8. September 2006

Die Science-Fiction-Opernsaga "Kommander Kobayashi. Staffel II" ist die Fortsetzung der im Januar 2005 in der Hamburger Staatsoper uraufgeführten ersten Staffel, die ebenfalls durch die Schering Stiftung ermöglicht wurde. Die Schering Stiftung konnte dazu beitragen, dass die Berliner Opernkompanie NOVOFLOT, ein erstklassiges Ensemble von internationalen Nachwuchsmusikern und -sängern, dieses höchst innovative Fortsetzungsprojekt realisieren konnte. Das Ensemble zeichnet sich sowohl durch Offenheit gegenüber Neuer Musik als auch vor allem durch hohe musikalische Qualität aus.

Mit der Förderung des Projektes "Kommander Kobayashi" honoriert die Schering Stiftung, dass die beiden Produktionen Grenzen des gewohnten Musiktheaters aufbrechen. Ein neues Opernformat - die Opernsaga - wurde in das zeitgenössische Musiktheater eingeführt. Entstanden aus dem Interesse, vielfältige Zugänge zur Oper und zu zeitgenössischer Musik zu thematisieren, umfasst die Opernsaga eine Serie von kurzen Kammeropern unterschiedlicher Komponisten. Durch dieses neuartige Konzept wurde ein wichtiger Diskurs über aktuelle Ästhetiken und Ansätze in der Oper eröffnet.

Aufführungstermine Sophiensæle, Berlin:
9., 10., 15., 16. und 17. September 2006, 20:00 Uhr

Aufführungstermine Teatr Wielki, Warschau:
27. September 2006, 19:30 Uhr und
28. September 2006, 16:30 Uhr

Aufführungstermine Théâtre National du Luxembourg, Luxemburg:
5. und 6. Oktober 2006, 20:00 Uhr

Weitere Informationen: www.sophiensaele.com

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni...
mehr