Philipp Lachenmann: DELPHI Rationale

 

The Paradox of Managing Creativity in Science

Why do governments spend public money on scientific research, and the diversity of patterns among countries both in expenditure on basic science and also in the outputs of new knowledge and innovation. Against this background, Lord May will offer suggestions on how best to "manage creativity." These include avoiding hierarchical institutional structures and oppressive bureaucracies, encouraging risk taking, making sure good science is not hindered by institutional or disciplinary rigidities, and above all creating systems - based on peer-reviewed excellence - where young people are set free to express themselves.

This talk will survey why governments spend public money on scientific research and examine the diversity of patterns among countries both in expenditure on basic research and also in the outputs of new knowledge and innovation.

Against this background, Lord May will offer suggestions on how best to "manage creativity." These include avoiding hierarchical institutional structures and oppressive bureaucracies, encouraging risk taking, making sure good science is not hindered by institutional or disciplinary rigidities, and above all creating systems—based on peer-reviewed excellence—where young people are set free to express themselves.

Robert McCredie, Lord May of Oxford, OM AC Kt, President of The Royal Society (2000–2005), holds a professorship jointly at Oxford and Imperial College, and is a Fellow of Merton College, Oxford. From 1995 to 2000, he was Chief Scientific Adviser to the UK Government and Head of the UK Office of Science and Technology. His career includes a Personal Chair in Physics at Sydney University aged 33, Class of 1877 Professor of Zoology and Chairman of the Research Board at Princeton, and in 1988 a move to Britain and Oxford as Royal Society Research Professor. Particular interests include how populations are structured and respond to change, particularly with respect to infectious diseases and biodiversity.

Lecture by Lord May
March 7, 2005, 6:30 p.m.
Schering AG, Auditorium
Müllerstrasse 178, Berlin-Mitte


News

Hybrid Encounters. Tomás Saraceno and Guests

18.04.2018. Berlin | With Hybrid Encounters, the Hybrid Plattform and the Schering Stiftung have created an...
more

The Unseen Universe (An Introduction to Particle Physics)

26.04.2018, Berlin | For his video work DELPHI Rationale, the artist Philipp Lachenmann filmed at the...
more

Live-Debatte: Arm durch Wohnen? Wie Mieten bezahlbar bleiben

16.05.2018, Berlin/Braunschweig | Die Mieten in Deutschland steigen kontinuierlich: Seit 2010 zahlen Bundesbürger im Durchschnitt 30...
more

Philipp Lachenmann: DELPHI Rationale

 

Das Management von Kreativität in der Wissenschaft - ein Widerspruch?

Dieser Vortrag untersucht, aus welchen Gründen öffentliche Gelder für die wissenschaftliche Forschung ausgegeben werden und wie die Ausgaben für Grundlagenforschung und das Output an neuen Erkenntnissen und Innovationen im internationalen Vergleich variieren.

Vor diesem Hintergrund gibt Lord May Anregungen für das "Management von Kreativität", um z.B. hierarchische institutionelle Strukturen und schwerfällige Bürokratien zu vermeiden, die Risikobereitschaft zu fördern, gute Wissenschaft nicht an starren institutionellen oder disziplinären Strukturen scheitern zu lassen, und vor allem Systeme zu schaffen, die - basierend auf dem "Peer Review"-Verfahren - jungen Menschen die Möglichkeit geben, ihr kreatives Potenzial zu entfalten.

Robert McCredie, Lord May of Oxford, OM AC Kt, Präsident der Royal Society (2000-2005), hält Professuren am Oxford sowie am Imperial College, und ist Fellow des Merton College, Oxford. Von 1995 bis 2000 war er leitender Wissenschaftsberater der britischen Regierung und Direktor der britischen Regierungsbehörde für Wissenschaft und Technologie (OST). Im Alter von 33 Jahren erhielt er einen speziell für ihn geschaffenen Lehrstuhl in Physik an der Universität Sydney. Er war Class of 1877-Professor für Zoologie und Vorsitzender der Forschungskommission an der Universität Princeton, und im Jahr 1988 folgte er dem Ruf als Forschungsprofessor der Royal Society nach Oxford. Sein Interesse gilt u.a. der Frage, wie Bevölkerungen strukturiert sind und wie sie auf Veränderungen reagieren, insbesondere auf die Verbreitung von Infektionskrankheiten und die Veränderungen der biologischen Vielfalt.

Vortrag von Lord May
7. März 2005, 18:30 Uhr
Schering AG, Auditorium
Müllerstrasse 178, Berlin-Mitte


Aktuelles

Verschwindende Vermächtnisse: Die Welt als Wald

18.04.2018, Berlin | Mit Verschwindende Vermächtnisse: Die Welt als Wald verwandelt sich das Tieranatomische Theater in...
mehr

Hybrid Encounters. Tomás Saraceno und Gäste

18.04.2018, Berlin | Die Hybrid Plattform und die Schering Stiftung haben mit den »Hybrid Encounters« eine...
mehr

Mikro, Makro, Markt?

23.03.2018, Berlin | „It’s the economy, stupid!“ war der Slogan des US-Präsidentschaftskandidaten Bill Clinton im Jahr...
mehr