Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Estrogens: New Aspects of a Common Hormone

Dr. Ken Korach, National Institute of Environmental Health Science, USA
Dr. Tim Wintermantel, Gynecology & Andrology, Schering AG, Berlin

Berlin, March 1-3, 2006

The Ernst Schering Foundation invited experts from around the world to exchange their ideas and latest findings in the field of estrogen research at a scientific symposium entitled "Tissue-Specific Estrogen Action: Novel Mechanisms, Novel Ligands, Novel Therapies?" held in Berlin, Germany, on March 1–3, 2006.

The aim of modern estrogen research is to understand which tissues and organ functions are most affected by estrogens, and which signal cascades mediate estrogen actions. The latest findings suggest that there might be a number of different signalling pathways, through which these hormones act upon the body. Understanding the signalling pathways is crucial for the development of tailored therapies. The ultimate goal is to activate beneficial estrogen actions only in specific tissues of the body, i.e. in the skeletal system as protection from osteoporosis.

The many different actions of estrogens were discussed by Australian molecular biologist Professor Evan Simpson of Prince Henry's Institute of Medical Research, Clayton, Australia, at the Berlin symposium: "A lack of estrogen promotes obesity, leads to poorer blood-fat profiles and a loss of bone density." In his studies Simpson looks at transgenic ARKO-mice, which cannot produce estrogens, due to mutations in the aromatase enzyme. The total absence lack of estrogens leads to severe imbalances in the the mouse hormone metabolism. Disruptions of fat metabolism, obesity, osteoporosis and complex disorders like the metabolic syndrome are only some of the effects. Similar effects are observed in humans lacking sufficient levels of estrogens. Administration of estrogens usually leads to markedly improved conditions in humans and mice alike. "Treatment with 17-ß-estradiol, one of the estrogens, probably enhances the ß-oxidation of body fat," Simpson supposes.

The effects of estrogens on fat metabolism and the skeletal system are only a few of the many aspects from the vast field of estrogen research. Estrogens influence the female sexual organs, the brain, the prostate, the cardio-vascular system as well as the immune- and digestive systems. In recent decades, growing knowledge of the actions of estrogens within the human body has led to various new directions of research activity in the field.

"Meetings like this one are extremely important for all of us," said co-organizer Professor Kenneth S. Korach from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, North Carolina. "Questions by colleagues from other areas open up new perspectives into your own research. The extensive exchange of ideas helps in developing new approaches in research and therapy and really boosts the entire field of research. It also encourages international co-operations." Apart from Kenneth Korach, speakers included other pioneers in estrogen research like Michael Mendelsohn of Tufts New England Medical Center, Boston, MA, Ellis Levin of Long Beach VA Medical Center, Benita and John Katzenellenbogen from the University of Illinois, as well as Frank Gannon from the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), Heidelberg.

The workshop on tissue-specific estrogens actions was the first event in 2006 in the "Scientific Symposia" series organized by the Ernst Schering Foundation. "We envision the symposia as think tanks for new ideas. We aim to broaden scientific horizons and encourage dialogue between scientists of different research areas and institutions," said Dr. Monika Lessl, molecular biologist and director of the board of the Ernst Schering Foundation, in her opening speech.

Estrogens also play an important role in cardiovascular diseases. The latest research results from this area were presented by Michael Mendelsohn from Tufts University, Boston, MA, and Jean-Francois Arnal from Toulouse, France. Their studies demonstrate the important role estrogen receptors play in vascular-endothelial and smooth muscle cells play, in protecting blood vessels against injury. Mendelsohn's studies show the mechanisms of smooth muscle cell growth being specifically inhibited by estrogens. His French colleague, Jean-Francois Arnal, looked at the controversial role of estrogens in atherosclerotic plaque: Estrogens seem to protect blood vessels from the built up of plaque in the first place, however they can have adverse effects on already existing plaque. Cells of the immune system play a key role in this process, Arnal and his colleagues demonstrate.

Not only do estrogens act selectively upon different types of cells, they also cause different effects in males and females. Looking for successful therapies for both men and women, scientists are increasingly tackling the molecular mechanisms of estrogens and their effects on genes and cells. "Rapid signaling" at the cellular membrane and testing of novel estrogen-like binding partners, so-called ligands, have become some of the new focal points in this field. "Estrogen research is like a house with many doors, which can so far only be opened with one master key," explained Professor Frank Gannon. "We are currently looking for this perfectly matching key that will open only the desirable doors."

The results of the symposium will be published by the Springer publishing house and will be available through bookstores. The "Scientific Symposia" series of the Ernst Schering Foundation will continue on May 10–12, 2006, with a workshop on "GPCRs: From Deorphanization to Lead Structure Identification."

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Östrogene - neue Facetten eines klassischen Hormons

Dr. Ken Korach, National Institute of Environmental Health Science, USA
Dr. Tim Wintermantel, Gynecology & Andrology, Schering AG, Berlin

Berlin, 1. - 3. März 2006

Programm als pdf


Um sich mit Experten aus aller Welt über die neuesten Erkenntnisse in der Östrogenforschung auszutauschen, lud die Schering Stiftung zu einem wissenschaftlichen Symposium zum Thema: "Gewebespezifische Östrogenwirkung: neue Mechanismen, neue Liganden, neue Therapien?" vom 1. bis 3. März 2006 nach Berlin ein.

Das Ziel der modernen Östrogenforschung ist es, herauszufinden, in welchen Geweben und Organen Östrogene wirken und über welche Signalkaskaden die Wirkung vermittelt wird. Neueste Erkenntnisse legen nahe, dass es eine Reihe verschiedener Signalwege gibt, durch die diese Hormone ihre Wirkung entfalten können. Ein genaueres Verständnis dieser unterschiedlichen Signalwege und ihrer Wirkmechanismen ist eine wichtige Grundlage für die Entwicklung maßgeschneiderte Therapien. Das Ziel ist es, nur bestimmte Östrogenwirkungen in jeweils spezifischen Geweben des Körpers zu aktivieren, wie z.B. im Knochen zum Schutz vor Osteoporose.

Wie vielfältig die Wirkungen von Östrogenen sind, erläuterte Evan Simpson vom Prince Henry's Institute of Medical Research, Clayton, auf dem Symposium: "Östrogenmangel begünstigt Fettleibigkeit, verschlechtert das Blut-Fettprofil und führt zum Abbau von Knochensubstanz." In seinen Studien untersuchte Simpson transgene ARKO-Mäuse, die aufgrund einer gezielten Mutation (die das Enzym Aromatase betrifft) keine Östrogene produzieren können. Bei völliger Abwesenheit von Östrogenen gerät der empfindliche Hormonstoffwechsel erheblich aus dem Gleichgewicht. Störungen des Fettstoffwechsels, Fettleibigkeit, Osteoporose sowie komplexe Krankheitsbilder wie das Metabolische Syndrom sind die Folgen. Sie können nicht nur im Mausmodell simuliert, sondern auch in ähnlicher Form bei Menschen mit Östrogenmangel beobachtet werden. Die Behandlung mit Östrogenen zeigt eine deutliche Verbesserung der Krankheitsbilder bei Mensch und Tier. "Die Gabe des Östrogens 17-ß-Estradiol regt höchstwahrscheinlich die ß-Oxidation von Fetten an", so Simpson.

Die Wirkung von Östrogenmangel auf den Fettstoffwechsel und das Skelettsystem sind jedoch nur Teilaspekte aus dem facettenreichen und dynamischen Forschungsfeld. Östrogene beeinflussen nicht nur die weiblichen Geschlechtsorganen, sondern auch das Gehirn, die Prostata, das Herz-Kreislaufsystem und das Verdauungssystem. Die wachsenden Kenntnisse über die komplexe Wirkung von Östrogenen im Körper verursachten daher in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten eine starke Differenzierung der gesamten Forschungsrichtung.

"Treffen wie dieses Symposium sind für alle Östrogenforscher enorm wichtig", so der Mitorganisator Kenneth Korach vom National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, North Carolina. "Fragen aus dem Blickwinkel der anderen Teildisziplinen eröffnen jedem von uns neue Sichtweisen auf die eigene Forschungsarbeit. Solch ein intensiver Austausch über aktuelle und neue Forschungs- und Therapieansätze bringt die gesamte Östrogenforschung voran und fördert die internationale Zusammenarbeit." Unter den Referenten des Symposiums waren neben Kenneth Korach auch eine Reihe weiterer Pioniere der Östrogenforschung wie Michael Mendelsohn vom Tufts New England Medical Center, Boston, MA, Ellis Levin vom Long Beach VA Medical Center, U.S.A., Benita und John Katzenellenbogen von der Universität Illinois sowie Frank Gannon vom European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) in Heidelberg.

Das Symposium zur Untersuchung der gewebespezifischen Wirkung der Östrogene war die Auftaktveranstaltung einer Reihe wissenschaftlicher Symposien, die die Schering Stiftung in diesem Jahr organisiert. "Mit den Symposia wollen wir Think-Tanks für neue Ideen schaffen, Horizonte erweitern und den Dialog zwischen Wissenschaftlern unterschiedlicher Disziplinen und Forschungseinrichtungen fördern", erklärte Dr. Monika Lessl, Molekularbiologin und Mitglied des Vorstandes der Schering Stiftung im Eröffnungsvortrag.

Auch auf dem Gebiet der Herz-Kreislauferkrankungen spielt die Wirkung von Östrogenen eine wichtige Rolle. Neueste Forschungsergebnisse dazu präsentierten Michael G. Mendelsohn aus Boston und Jean-François Arnal aus Toulouse. Ihre Studien zeigten, dass Östrogenrezeptoren sowohl in Zellen des Gefäßendothels als auch in der glatten Gefäßmuskulatur eine wichtige Rolle beim Schutz vor Gefäßschäden spielen. Während Michael Mendelsohn neue Erkenntnisse zu den Mechanismen der Teilung glatter Muskelzellen nach Gefäßverletzungen präsentierte - diese wird in spezifischer Weise durch Östrogene gehemmt - untersucht sein französischer Kollege Jean-François Arnal, warum Östrogene vor der Entstehung von Gefäßverkalkungen (sogenannter atherosklerotischer Plaques) schützen, aber bei bereits bestehenden Plaques eine gegensätzliche Wirkung haben können. Eine besondere Rolle spielen dabei Zellen des Immunsystems, wie Arnal und seine Kollegen zeigen konnten.

Östrogene wirken nicht nur sehr selektiv auf verschiedene Zelltypen sondern auch geschlechtsspezifisch. Bei der Entwicklung erfolgreicher Therapien bei Mann und Frau nehmen die Wissenschaftler daher die molekularen Mechanismen der Östrogenwirkung auf die Aktivität von Genen und Zellen immer wieder unter die Lupe. Auch das "Rapid Signalling" an der Zellmembran und die Testung neuer östrogenartiger Moleküle, entwickelten sich in letzter Zeit zu Schwerpunkten der Forschungsarbeit. "In der Östrogenforschung ist es wie in einem Haus mit vielen Türen, die sich bislang nur mit einem Generalschlüssel öffnen lassen", erklärte Professor Frank Gannon. "Wonach wir derzeit suchen, das ist der passende Schlüssel, der nur die erwünschten Türen öffnet."

Die Ergebnisse des Symposiums werden beim Springer Verlag publiziert und sind im Buchhandel erhältlich. Die Reihe "Wissenschaftliche Symposien" der Schering Stiftung wird vom 10. bis 12. Mai 2006 mit einem Workshop zum Thema "GPCRs: From Deorphanization to Lead Structure Identification" fortgesetzt.


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Die KW Institute for Contemporary Art und die Schering Stiftung freuen sich, die...
mehr