Ivana Franke

 

The Ernst Schering Foundation

Founded in 2002 by Schering AG, Berlin, the independent and non-profit Ernst Schering Foundation aims to promote science and art. In science the focus is on the life and natural sciences, in art on the contemporary visual and performing arts including dance and music. In addition, the Foundation promotes the scientific and cultural education of children and youth and the dialogue between science and society.

Particular emphasis is on projects in frontier areas, especially at the interface of art and science. This interface is also the focus of its project space, where it puts on shows by young, experimental artists as well as lectures and workshops. The space thus serves as a platform for an interdisciplinary dialogue among science, culture and society.

Decisions about how to use the Foundation’s funds are made twice a year by the Foundation Council, which consists of prominent figures from the arts and sciences. The Managing Director is responsible for running the Foundation’s day-to-day activities and operations and publicly represents the Foundation.

The Foundation has an endowment of €35 million.

Schering Stiftung

News

Call for Applications: Avrion Mitchison Prize of the Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017 | The German Rheumatism Research Center (DRFZ) again awards the Avrion Mitchison Prize of the...
more

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

23.05.2017, Berlin | On June 27, 2017, the Ernst Schering Foundation organizes in cooperation with SAVVY...
more

Long Night of the Sciences at the Ernst Schering Foundation

23.05.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation participates for the first time when more than 70...
more

Links

Ivana Franke

 

Die Schering Stiftung

Die unabhängige und gemeinnützige Schering Stiftung wurde 2002 durch die Schering AG, Berlin, gegründet und dient der Förderung von Wissenschaft und Kultur. Im Bereich der Wissenschaftsförderung liegt der Fokus auf den Lebens- und Naturwissenschaften, im Bereich der Kultur auf der zeitgenössischen bildenden und darstellenden Kunst inklusive Tanz und Musik. Die Stiftung fördert darüber hinaus die wissenschaftliche und kulturelle Bildung von Kindern und Jugendlichen sowie den Dialog zwischen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft.

Einen wichtigen Schwerpunkt bildet die Förderung von Projekten in Grenzbereichen, insbesondere an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Wissenschaft. Dieser Schnittstelle widmet sich die Stiftung auch in ihrem Projektraum, in dem Ausstellungen junger, experimenteller Künstler gezeigt sowie Vorträge und Workshops veranstaltet werden. Damit dient der Raum als Plattform für den interdisziplinären Dialog zwischen Wissenschaft, Kultur und Gesellschaft.

Über die Vergabe der Stiftungsmittel entscheidet zweimal jährlich der Stiftungsrat, der sich aus hochrangigen Persönlichkeiten aus Kultur und Wissenschaft zusammensetzt. Der Vorstand führt die Geschäfte der Stiftung und vertritt diese nach außen.

Das Stiftungsvermögen beträgt 35 Mio. Euro.

Schering Stiftung

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni...
mehr