Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Fellows Meeting 2005

They came from England, Italy and Spain, Finland, Poland and Switzerland, the United States, Canada and Germany—young scientists who have all done excellent work in their respective fields. Some are current fellows of the Ernst Schering Foundation, others have won prizes awarded by the Ernst Schering Foundation, and yet others are former fellowship recipients of the Ernst Schering Research Foundation. Some study details of cell division, others investigate the protein synthesis in ribosomes or think about new ways of synthesis of certain target molecules. Some work at universities, others at research institutions, yet others as researchers in an industrial environment.

No matter how varied their places of origin and professional backgrounds—the 60 participants of the Fellows Meeting, who gathered for three days in the Harnack House of the Max Planck Society in Berlin, had one thing in common: All of them were outstanding scientists.

Oncology, signal transfer, endocrinology, neurosciences, chemistry, bioinformatics and cell biology were the focus of the scientific program. In four sessions and a central poster presentation, numerous participants presented their current research, thus giving others an opportunity to broaden their horizons beyond their own specialties.

The scholarly exchange was only one focus of the meeting, however. The young scientists were also to become aware of their responsibility to society. One occasion for them to do so was a workshop on the "Public Understanding of Science." In addition, eleven fellows had the opportunity to participate in a media and communications training, which took place directly after the meeting. "This offer is part of a larger program to provide long-term support to young scientists and to aid their development in becoming leaders in science," says Monika Lessl, member of the board of directors of the Ernst Schering Foundation. Additional events on other useful themes are in preparation—such as helpful advice for young academics who for the first time put together a research group or direct a major scientific project.

At the meeting, the German Pupils Academy (Deutsche SchülerAkademie) presented itself. Several times a year, at different locations, this initiative—which is supported, among others, by the Ernst Schering Foundation—organizes so-called academies. During these two-week seminars, taking place during school vacations, pupils deal intensively with a variety of topics and are introduced to scientific work and modern techniques of presentation.

In 2005 alone, seven such academies took place, with a total of 640 participants. At the Fellows Meeting in Berlin, two pupils talked about their experiences during one such academy. "We thus hope to encourage some of the participating young scientists to take part in a German Pupils Academy," said Monika Lessl. After all, each academy includes scientific experts who supervise the individual courses and workshops.

A diversion from the rest of the program was provided by Susanne Weirich. In her lecture on "Alternate Endings," the installation artist presented some of her works—works that she sees always also "at the intersection between art and science," not least because "I use scientific working methods during the intensive research phase at the beginning of my projects." Occasionally, she even seeks the cooperation of scientists—fpr example, when she got members of the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics involved in her video installation "Event Horizon"—a term from physics.

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Stipendiatentreffen 2005

60 junge Forscher kamen im Juni 2005 zum Stipendiatentreffen der Schering Stiftung nach Berlin, um sich auszutauschen. Aber es ging nicht nur um das Gespräch miteinander, sondern auch um das mit der Gesellschaft. "Wie können wir den Dialog zwischen Wissenschaft und Öffentlichkeit verbessern?" war eine der Fragen, die im Rahmen eines Workshops eingehend diskutiert wurden.

Sie kamen aus England, Italien und Spanien, aus Finnland, Polen und der Schweiz, aus den USA und Kanada, und aus Deutschland. Junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die allesamt exzellent in ihrem Gebiet sind. Einige sind aktuelle Stipendiaten der Schering Stiftung, andere hatten von der Schering Stiftung vergebene Preise gewonnen, wieder andere waren ehemalige Stipendiaten der Schering Forschungsgesellschaft. Manche erforschen Details bei der Zellteilung, andere haben die Eiweißsynthese in den Ribosomen im Visier, oder sie brüten über neuen Synthesewegen zu bestimmten Zielmolekülen. Einige tun dies an Universitäten, manche an anderen Forschungseinrichtungen, wieder andere forschen im industriellen Umfeld.

So unterschiedlich Herkunft und Arbeitsgebiete auch sein mochten - eines war allen 60 Teilnehmern des Stipendiatentreffens gemeinsam: Es waren herausragende Wissenschaftler, die für drei Tage im Berliner Harnack-Haus der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zusammenkamen.

Onkologie, Signalübertragung, Endokrinologie, Neurowissenschaften, Chemie, Bioinformatik und Zellbiologie waren die Schwerpunktthemen des wissenschaftlichen Programms. In vier Sitzungen und einer zentralen Posterpräsentation stellten zahlreiche Teilnehmer ihre aktuellen Forschungsergebnisse vor. Das bot vielen die Gelegenheit, über den unmittelbaren Rand des eigenen Forschungsgebiet hinauszublicken.

Der wissenschaftliche Austausch war aber nur ein Schwerpunkt. Außerdem sollten sich die Jungakademiker ihrer Verantwortung gegen-über der Gesellschaft bewusst werden. Gelegenheit hierzu bot der Workshop "Public Understanding of Science". Außerdem bekamen elf Stipendiaten im Anschluss an das Treffen die Möglichkeit, an einem Medien- und Kommunikationstraining teilzunehmen. "Dieses Angebot ist Teil eines übergeordneten Programms, mit dem wir langfristig junge Wissenschaftler unterstützen und ihre Entwicklung zu führenden Persönlichkeiten in der Wissenschaft fördern möchten", so Monika Lessl, Vorstand der Schering Stiftung. Weitere Veranstaltungen zu anderen nützlichen Themen sind geplant - etwa mit Tipps für junge Akademiker, die erstmals eine eigene Arbeitsgruppe zusammenstellen oder ein größeres wissenschaftliches Projekt steuern.

Im Rahmen des Treffens stellte sich auch die Deutsche SchülerAkademie vor. Diese - unter anderem von der Schering Stiftung unterstützte - Einrichtung führt mehrmals im Jahr an verschiedenen Orten so genannte Akademien durch. Das sind gut zweiwöchige Ferienseminare, in denen Schüler sich intensiv mit Themen unterschiedlicher Fachgebiete befassen und an wissenschaftliches Arbeiten sowie an moderne Präsentationstechniken herangeführt werden.

Allein 2005 fanden sieben solcher Akademien mit insgesamt 640 Teilnehmern statt. Auf dem Berliner Stipendiatentreffen berichteten zwei Schülerinnen von ihren eigenen Erfahrungen während einer solchen Akademie. "Wir würden uns wünschen, wenn wir einigen der teilnehmenden Jungakademiker Lust gemacht haben, sich einmal an der Deutschen SchülerAkademie zu beteiligen", so Monika Lessl. Schließlich seien bei jeder Akademie auch wissenschaftliche Experten dabei, die die einzelnen Kurse und Workshops fachlich betreuen.

Für einen Exkurs vom übrigen Programm sorgte Susanne Weirich. In ihrem Vortrag "Alternate Endings" gab die Installationskünstlerin eine Übersicht über einige ihrer Arbeiten. Arbeiten, die sie immer auch "an der Schnittstelle zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft" sieht - nicht zuletzt, weil "ich mich bei den umfangreichen Recherchen am Anfang meiner Projekte wissenschaftlicher Arbeitsmethoden bediene". Zum Teil suche sie sogar die Zusammenarbeit mit Wissenschaftlern - etwa als sie für die Videoinstallation "Der Ereignishorizont" - einem Begriff aus der Physik - Mitarbeiter des Max-Planck-Instituts für Gravitationsphysik einbezog.

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni...
mehr