Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Sparking signals: kinases as molecular signal transducers and pharmacological drug targets in inflammation

Dr. Arne von Bonin, Dr. Ulrich Zügel, CRBA Inflammation, Bayer Schering Pharma AG, Berlin, Germany
Prof. Dr. Gottfried Baier, Human Genetics Department, Medical University of Innsbruck
Prof. Dr. Burkhart Schraven, Institute for Immunology, University of Magdeburg

Potsdam-Hermannswerder, June 20-22, 2007

Around 50 internationally renowned scientists in the field of kinase research met at a scientific symposium organized by the Ernst Schering Foundation. The symposium was held in Potsdam-Hermannswerder near Berlin, Germany, from the 20th to the 22nd of June 2007. For three days many experts from academic and industrial research groups discussed the latest findings on this enzymatic group of key regulators involved in a multitude of signalling reactions.

Protein kinases regulate the majority of signalling events in the body. They do this by chemically transferring a phosphate group from ATP, the bodies universally available form of energy, to a target structure. They are, thus, able to change, depending on their particular target, the proteins enzymatic activity, its intracellular localization or its interactions with other proteins or enzymes. The human genome contains 518 different kinases that modify a so far unknown number of substrates, possibly several thousand. Kinases are often found in complex protein structures. These protein complexes can be found on the cytosolic side of membrane receptors, where they are responsible for signal transduction to the inside of the cell. Furthermore, kinases regulate various processes in the cells organelles i.e. at the Golgi- apparatus. Inside the nucleus, kinases control the transcriptional activity of certain genes. Amongst the genes regulated by kinases are inflammation mediators. Inflammatory processes, in particular chronic inflammation, play a key role in certain types of diseases like rheumatoid arthritis, asthma, multiple sclerosis, psoriasis, or inflammatory bowel disease. Additionally metabolic diseases like type-2 diabetes and certain cardiovascular illnesses (i.e. arteriosclerosis) can, according to latest research, be caused by inflammatory processes.

What are the mechanisms of signal transduction during inflammatory processes? Which pathways are disturbed in diseases like cancer or chronic inflammation? What are the roles of kinases during the course of the inflammatory process? And last but not least, how can their activity be controlled and modified by new therapeutics? These were just some of the questions asked by scientists from Germany, Austria, Switzerland, the UK and the US during the workshop in Potsdam.

In his opening lecture professor Arthur Weiss, from Howard Hughes Medical Institute of the University of California, San Francisco, USA, gave an insight into his latest research on the kinase ZAP-70, which has been found to be associated with the T-cell receptor (TCR). Weiss was able to demonstrate the fundamental role of ZAP-70 for the correct function of the TCR. A single point mutation in the ZAP-70 gene results, in the mouse model, in a phenotype with a severe autoimmune disease, very similar to rheumatoid arthritis. Interestingly however ZAP-70 seems to play a very different part in a common form of leukaemia – chronic lymphatic leukaemia (CLL). Here the loss of ZAP-70 seems to be associated with a positive prognosis for patients suffering from CLL – they might live with the disease for 20 – 30 years. On the contrary, patients with the ZAP-70 protein have a much shorter prognostic outcome. "When I started studying intracellular signalling at the beginning of the 1980s, there was little known about these processes", recalls Arthur Weiss, who is one of the pioneers in the field of kinase research. "All we knew at the time was that there was something that induced cells on the outside and then something happened on the inside, but we had no idea how. It was like a black box. Today we know what most of the components are, now we have to understand how they regulate each other." Only then will one be able to understand how enzymes, like ZAP-70, can on the one hand be crucial for correct functioning of (here) T-cells and on the other hand be detrimental to a patient (as demonstrated for CLL), believes the professor from California.

A prime example for the dual functions that many kinases fulfil was the work presented by Magdalena Koziczak-Holbro, scientist at Novartis Pharma AG, Basel, Switzerland. Her research group works on the role of IRAK-4, a kinase which is part of the Toll-like-receptor (TLR) protein complex. The group has been investigating whether knocking out IRAK-4 could be used to treat certain chronic inflammatory diseases like rheumatoid arthritis. "Knocking out IRAK-4 seems to suppress inflammation in murine as well as in human cells. We were no longer able to detect inflammation signalling", explains Koziczak-Holbro. "Therefore we think that specifically targeting IRAK-4 and the TLR could be a useful treatment for chronic inflammatory diseases like rheumatoid arthritis."

Professor Kevan Shokat from the University of Berkeley, California, USA presented a completely new strategy to study the functions of enzymes, which he termed "chemical genetics". It combines protein engineering of certain enzymes and organic synthesis of respective target molecules. "So far people relied on two conventional methods to study signal transduction pathways. On the one hand, knock out models completely prevent the protein expression, and thereby destroy potential scaffolding functions as well. On the other hand, using chemical inhibitors bears the risk – and this is particularly true for kinases as their ATP binding pockets are highly homologous – of observing reactions that are not exclusively caused by the kinase under investigation", explained Shokat. The advantage of chemical genetics is that it relies on genetics to select the target of a small molecule, ensuring that only the intended protein is targeted by the small molecule synthesized. "This method is a powerful tool to investigate all the functions of a kinase without having to do much guesswork. One can use it to understand the various substrates of the enzyme. Potential drug candidates can thus be evaluated and studied without the risk of targeting also other kinases", says Professor Shokat.

While scientists in academia are still trying to understand kinases and the signalling networks controlled by them, researchers in the industry are looking for compounds that can be used in drug design. Their focus is on inflammation and cancer. Dr. Gerard Drewes from the Heidelberg, Germany, based biotech company Cellzome introduced "quantitative chemical proteomics" as a novel tool to test a large number of kinases against a library of chemical compounds. This type of protein screening involves the immobilization of the chemical compounds on so called Kinobeads. The treated beads are then added to a cell lysate where they will bind all kinases that interact with the compounds on the beads. Pulling down those kinases will thus allow for further investigations, including compound profiles of individual kinases, which can then be used to identify potential suitable drug candidates.

Dr. Ulrich Zügel and Dr. Arne von Bonin, both from the Therapeutic Research Group Inflammation and Immunology of Bayer Schering Pharma and co-organizers of the Potsdam symposium, were satisfied upon its conclusion. "Everyone seemed to have had a good time here. All participants were highly motivated and an open discussion between researchers from applied and academic research took place. We think we will all take home a lot of new ideas", they said. Professor Weiss agrees. "Interacting with people here and exchanging ideas with people from the industry is good for academics like me. We both have very different scientific approaches. Academics are more creative and tend to ask more fundamental questions, while people from the industry are very focussed on a goal and can get results much quicker. I think interacting periodically is very useful and all that remains is for us to see how this interaction comes to fruition."

The results of the symposium will be published by the Springer publishing house and will be available in bookstores. The series "Scientific Symposia" by the Schering Foundation will be continued from the 14th to the 16th of November 2007 with a workshop on "Oncogenes meet metabolism – from deregulated genes to a broader understanding of tumor physiology " in Berlin, Germany.

The Ernst Schering Foundation was founded by Schering AG in 2002, primarily to promote science and culture. The goal of the Ernst Schering Foundation is to promote projects, people, or institutions, both in science and culture, which are distinguished by excellence and innovation. By initiating and promoting projects or work on experimental subjects that transcend traditional disciplinary boundaries, the foundation aims to promote interdisciplinary thinking and work, by artists and scientists alike. It intends to promote and encourage talented young people working in science and culture and to help them along on parts of their journey. To achieve these goals, the Ernst Schering Foundation grants fellowships, awards prizes, initiates and supports projects, invites renowned scientists and artists and organizes symposia and workshops on an international level. By introducing young children and teenagers to scientific and cultural projects, it wishes to encourage the young to get involved in science and art.

Glossary:

Antigen (short for antibody generating): substances that can be recognized by the adaptive immune system. This includes viruses as well as bacteria.

B-cells: The principal function of B cells is to make antibodies against soluble antigens. B cells are an essential component of the adaptive immune system.

Chronische lymphatische Leukämie (CLL): a type of adult leukaemia caused by an abnormal accumulation of B lymphocytes. CLL is the most common form of leukaemia in adults. The key risk factor is age.

Humoral immunity: the aspect of immunity that is mediated by secreted antibodies, produced in the cells of the B lymphocyte lineage (B cell). As such it is part of the acquired adaptive immune system, not the more "primitive" innate immune system.

Knock-out-Model: a model animal that has had one or more of its genes made inoperable through a gene knockout. By inactivating the gene and studying the animal for any resulting differences, researchers can infer the probable function of that gene.

Makrophages und neutrophiles: cell that ingests and destroy foreign matter such as microorganisms or debris via a process known as phagocytosis. They are part of the innate immunity.

Proteomics: the large-scale study of proteins, particularly their structures and functions. The term "proteomics" was coined to make an analogy with genomics, the study of the genes.

Toll-like-receptor (TLR): a type of pattern recognition receptors (PRRs). TLRs recognize molecules that are broadly shared by pathogens but distinguishable from host molecules.

T-cells: a group of white blood cells known as lymphocytes. T-cells play a central role in cell-mediated immunity. Together with B-cells they represent the major part of the adaptive immune system.

T-cell-receptor (TCR): a molecule found on the surface of T-cells that is responsible for recognizing antigens.

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Sparking signals: kinases as molecular signal transducers and pharmacological drug targets in inflammation

Dr. Arne von Bonin, Dr. Ulrich Zügel, CRBA Inflammation, Bayer Schering Pharma AG, Berlin, Germany
Prof. Dr. Gottfried Baier, Human Genetics Department, Medical University of Innsbruck
Prof. Dr. Burkhart Schraven, Institute for Immunology, University of Magdeburg

Potsdam-Hermannswerder, June 20-22, 2007

Programm als pdf


Vom 20. bis 22. Juni 2007 trafen sich rund 50 international renommierte Wissenschaftler auf dem Gebiet der Kinasenforschung zu einem wissenschaftlichen Symposium der Schering Stiftung in Potsdam-Hermannswerder bei Berlin. Drei Tage lang diskutierten die Fachleute aus akademischer und industrieller Forschung die neuesten Erkenntnisse auf dem Gebiet dieser wichtigen Gruppe von Enzymen, die an einer Vielzahl von molekularen Signalübertragungsreaktionen im Körper beteiligt sind.

Proteinkinasen regulieren viele Signaltransduktionsreaktionen im Körper. Sie übertragen dabei eine Phosphatgruppe von ATP, der universellen Form unmittelbar verfügbarer Energie in jeder Zelle, auf ein Zielmolekül und verändern somit, je nach Zielmolekül, dessen Enzymaktivität, dessen intrazelluläre Lokalisation oder das Zusammenwirken mit anderen Proteinen und Enzymen. Das menschliche Genom enthält insgesamt 518 verschiedene Kinasen, die eine derzeit noch nicht vollständig bekannte Anzahl von möglicherweise mehreren tausend Substratmolekülen beeinflussen. Kinasen sind häufig in komplexen Proteinkomplexen aufzufinden. Man findet diese Enzymkomplexe u.a. an der intrazellulären Seite von Membranrezeptoren, wo sie für die Weiterleitung von Signalen in das Zellinnere verantwortlich sind. Darüber hinaus sind Kinasen an der Regulation von Prozessen an diversen Zellorganellen wie z. B. dem Golgi-Apparat beteiligt, im Zellkern schalten Kinasen bestimmte Gene an und ab. Eine wichtige Gruppe von Genen, deren Aktivität von Kinasen reguliert wird, sind Entzündungsmediatoren. Entzündungen, insbesondere chronische Entzündungen spielen bei diversen Erkrankungen, wie Rheuma, Asthma, Multiple Sklerose, Schuppenflechte oder Morbus Crohn eine zentrale Rolle. Auch Stoffwechselerkrankungen wie Typ2 Diabetes und bestimmte kardiovaskuläre Erkrankungen (z. B. Arteriosklerose) können nach neuesten Erkenntnissen einen entzündlichen Ursprung haben.

Wie funktioniert die Signalübertragung bei Entzündungsprozessen? Welche Mechanismen sind bei bestimmten Krankheiten wie Krebs oder chronisch entzündlichen Erkrankungen gestört? Welche Rolle spielen die Kinasen in diesen Entzündungsmechanismen? Schließlich, wie kann ihre Aktivität mit neuen therapeutischen Ansätzen gezielt moduliert werden? Diese Fragen beschäftigten die Wissenschaftler aus Deutschland, Österreich, Großbritannien, der Schweiz und den USA auf dem Workshop.

Zu Beginn gab Professor Arthur Weiss, vom Howard Hughes Medical Institute der University of California in San Francisco, USA, einen Einblick in seine neueste Forschung an der Kinase ZAP-70, die mit dem T-Zell Rezeptor (TZR) assoziiert ist. Professor Weiss konnte die grundlegende Bedeutung von ZAP-70 für die korrekte Funktion des TCR nachweisen. Ist ZAP-70 durch eine Mutation nur fehlerhaft vorhanden, so ist, im Mausmodell, eine schwere Autoimmunerkrankung, die Rheuma ähnelt, die Folge. Interessanterweise zeigt sich für die Rolle von ZAP-70 in einer weit verbreiteten Form von Leukämie - der Chronisch Lymphatischen Leukämie (CLL) - eine umgekehrt positiv korrelierte Funktion. CLL-Patienten, denen ZAP-70 fehlt, können oft ohne Probleme 20-30 Jahre mit der Erkrankung leben, wohingegen Patienten mit ZAP-70 eine wesentlich schlechtere Prognose haben. "Als ich Anfang der 80er Jahre begann, mich für Signaltransduktionswege in Zellen zu interessieren, wusste man noch fast gar nichts über diese Prozesse", erzählt Arthur Weiss, der zu den Pionieren auf dem Gebiet der Kinasenforschung gehört. "An der Außenseite werden die Zellen stimuliert und drinnen passiert dann was, so viel war klar. Aber im Prinzip handelte es sich um eine Black Box. Heute kennen wir die meisten Komponenten der Box. Was wir nun herausfinden müssen, ist, wie diese miteinander interagieren." Dann werde man auch verstehen, warum manche Enzyme, wie z.B. ZAP-70, einerseits für die korrekte Funktion (hier) von T-Zellen notwendig, aber unter bestimmten Bedingungen (wie im Fall von CLL) eher schädlich sein können, so der Professor aus Kalifornien.

Beispielhaft für die Doppelfunktion, die viele Kinasen einnehmen, war die von Magdalena Koziczak-Holbro, Wissenschaftlerin bei Novartis Pharma AG, Basel, Schweiz, vorgestellte Forschungsarbeit. Ihre Arbeitsgruppe widmet sich der Rolle der Kinase IRAK-4, die ein Teil des Rezeptorproteinkomplexes des Toll-like-Rezeptors (TLR) ist. Im Rahmen des TLR-Komplexes hat IRAK-4 neben der katalytischen Funktion des Enzyms auch strukturelle Aufgaben. Die Frage, die sich Koziczak-Holbro stellte, war, ob eine gezielte Ausschaltung von IRAK-4, für die Behandlung von chronisch entzündlichen Erkrankungen, wie beispielsweise Rheuma, angewandt werden könnte oder, ob die strukturelle Funktion der Kinase im Proteinkomplex derart essentiell sei, dass dieser ohne IRAK-4 nicht länger funktionsfähig wäre. "Sowohl im Mausmodell, als auch beim Menschen scheint eine gezielte Ausschaltung von IRAK-4 Entzündungsreaktionen zu hemmen. Wir konnten keine Entzündungssignale mehr feststellen", erklärt Koziczak-Holbro. "Das gezielte Hemmen von IRAK-4 und TLR könnte somit eine Behandlungsmöglichkeit für chronisch entzündliche Erkrankungen wie Rheuma darstellen."

Professor Kevan Shokat von der University of California Berkeley, Kalifornien, USA, stellte einen ganz neuen Ansatz zur Untersuchung der Funktion von Enzymen vor: "Chemical genetics" nennt er seine Methode, die die gezielte genetische Veränderung von Enzymstrukturen mit der organischen Synthese dazu passender Zielmoleküle verbindet. "Bisher gab es zwei konventionelle Formen, die Funktion eines Proteins zu studieren: Knock-out Modelle, die ein Protein ganz ausschalten und somit auch mögliche strukturelle Funktionen vernichten, oder Inhibitoren, die möglicherweise auch andere Kinasen blockieren. Beide Ansätze bergen das Risiko, Reaktionen zu beobachten, die nicht direkt von der eigentlich untersuchten Kinase verursacht werden." erklärt Shokat. Der Vorteil von chemical genetics liegt in der Selektivität. Zunächst bewirkt Shokat eine gezielte Punktmutation. Im katalytischen Zentrum der Kinasen entsteht so eine kleine Tasche. Dann wird ein künstliches Inhibitormolekül erstellt, das genau in diese Tasche passt. "Die Methode ist hervorragend dazu geeignet, sämtliche Funktionen einer Kinase genau zu studieren. Man kann auch alle Zielsubstrate eines Enzyms auf diese Weise einfangen und untersuchen. Potentielle Kandidaten für die Entwicklung von neuen Medikamenten könnten so sicherer untersucht werden", sagt Professor Shokat.

Während die Forscher auf der akademischen Seite noch versuchen, Kinasen und die von ihnen regulierten Reaktionen als Ganzes zu verstehen, so sucht man auf Seiten der Industrie schon ganz pragmatisch nach realen Komponenten für potentielle Medikamente. Der Fokus der angewandten Forschung liegt dabei im Bereich der chronisch entzündlichen Erkrankungen sowie Krebs. Dr. Gerard Drewes von der Heidelberger Biotech-Firma Cellzome stellte auf dem Potsdamer Symposium vor, wie man mithilfe von "quantitative chemical proteomics", also einem quantitativ chemischen Protein-Screening, chemische Komponenten an einer großen Anzahl von Kinasen testen kann. Die chemischen Komponenten, die die Kinasen beeinflussen können, werden dazu auf kleinen Kügelchen, so genannten Kinobeads, immobilisiert. Die so behandelten Kügelchen werden dann in eine Zelllösung gegeben, wo sie die Kinasen, die mit den chemischen Komponenten interagieren, binden. Sie fischen, die Kinasen somit gezielt aus der Lösung heraus und erlauben es, diese im Folgenden genauer zu untersuchen. So wird anschließend ein Komponenten-Profil für einzelne Kinasen erstellt, mithilfe dessen Wirkstoffkandidaten für potentielle Medikamente identifiziert werden können.

Dr. Ulrich Zügel, Head of Small Molecules Research und Dr. Arne v. Bonin in der Therapeutic Research Group Inflammation und Immunology von Bayer Schering Pharma und Mitorganisatoren des Symposiums zeigten sich am Ende sehr zufrieden. "Die Stimmung auf dem Symposium war sehr gut, alle Teilnehmer waren äußerst motiviert und ein echter Dialog zwischen Wissenschaftlern aus der angewandten und jenen aus der akademischen Forschung fand statt. Wir denken, wir werden alle neue Ideen und Anregungen aus Potsdam mitnehmen." Professor Weiss stimmt dem zu. "Es ist sehr gut, wenn sich Akademiker und Forscher aus der Industrie gelegentlich treffen, um sich über ihre Arbeit auszutauschen. Denn beide haben sehr unterschiedliche Herangehensweisen. Die Akademiker sind kreativer in ihrer Fragestellung, sie suchen nach fundamentaleren Antworten, wohingegen die Leute aus der Industrie sehr viel zielgerichteter vorgehen und schneller Ergebnisse bekommen. Ein Austausch, wie auf diesem Symposium ist daher für beide Seiten lohnenswert."

Die Ergebnisse des Symposiums werden beim Springer Verlag publiziert und sind im Buchhandel erhältlich. Die Reihe "Wissenschaftliche Symposien" der Schering Stiftung wird vom 14. bis 16. November 2007 mit einem Workshop zum Thema "Oncogenes meet metabolism - from deregulated genes to a broader understanding of tumor physiology" in Berlin fortgesetzt.
Die Schering Stiftung wurde im Herbst 2002 von der Schering AG errichtet. Hauptzweck der gemeinnützigen Stiftung ist die Förderung von Wissenschaft und Kunst. Die Schering Stiftung will Vorbilder aufzeigen, um Inspiration zu geben, und zeichnet Menschen und Institutionen aus, die Pionierarbeit geleistet und Maßstäbe gesetzt haben. Richtungsweisende Arbeiten aus Kunst und Wissenschaft will sie sichtbar machen und bewahren helfen. Grenzen überschreiten, um Horizonte zu erweitern ist das Ziel, das sie mit der Förderung von grenzüberschreitenden Projekten und dem Austausch von Wissenschaftlern und Künstlern verfolgt. Um den Nachwuchs zu fördern, und Entwicklung zu ermöglichen unterstützt die Stiftung besonders begabte junge Wissenschaftler und Künstler durch die Vergabe von Preisen und Stipendien und bietet Workshops und Programme zu Themen jenseits der rein fachlichen Ausbildung an. Indem sie Kindern und Jugendlichen Einblicke in die Forschung gewährt und sie an kulturelle Fragestellungen heranführt, will sie die Jugend begeistern, um Interesse für Wissenschaft und Kultur zu stärken.

Glossar:

Humorale Immunantwort: (lat. humor = Flüssigkeit) die Antikörperproduktion der B-Lymphozyten. Sie ist Teil des adaptiven Immunsystems höherer Lebewesen, nicht Teil der angeborenen Immunantwort.

Antigene (engl. für Antibody generating): Stoffe, an die sich Antikörper und bestimmte Lymphozyten-Rezeptoren spezifisch binden können (die Bezeichnung davon, dass sie im Körper die Produktion von Antikörpern anregen können).

Chronische lymphatische Leukämie (CLL): ein niedrigmalignes, leukämisch verlaufendes B-Zell-Non-Hodgkin-Lymphom ("B-NHL"). Sie ist in der westlichen Welt die am häufigsten vorkommende Leukämieform und tritt vor allem im höheren Lebensalter auf.

Knock-out-Modell (engl. K.O. - kaputt schlagen): ist ein Tiermodell, bei dem mittels einer genetischen Manipulation gezielt eines oder mehrere Gene deaktiviert wurden.

Makrophagen und neutrophile Granulozyten: Als Phagocyten sind sie Teil der angeborenen Immunabwehr und dienen der Identifizierung und Zerstörung von Mikroorganismen.

Proteomics: umfasst die Erforschung des Proteoms, d.h. der Gesamtheit aller in einer Zelle oder einem Lebewesen unter definierten Bedingungen und zu einem definierten Zeitpunkt vorliegenden Proteine.

Screening: ein auf bestimmte Kriterien ausgerichteter orientierender Siebtest

Toll-like-Rezeptor (TLR): Strukturen des so genannten angeborene Abwehrsystems. Sie gehören zu einer Gruppe von Rezeptoren, den PRRs (Pattern Recognition Receptors).

T-Zellen/T-Lymphozyten: für die Immunabwehr wichtige Gruppe von Blutzellen. Es handelt sich bei ihnen um eine Subpopulation der weißen Blutkörperchen (Leukozyten). T-Lymphozyten sind neben B-Lymphozyten an der adaptiven Immunantwort beteiligt.

T-Zell-Rezeptor (TZR): Rezeptormolekül, dass an der Oberfläche von T-Lymphozyten, kurz T-Zellen, für die Erkennung von Antigenen zuständig ist.


Aktuelles

Die Debatte – Die Macht der Meinungsforschung

01.08.2017, Berlin | Das politische Jahr 2017 bewegt sich auf den Höhepunkt zu: Die Bundestagswahlen am...
mehr

Digitaler Salon: Bei Nebenwirkungen fragen Sie Ihren Algorithmus

01.08.2017, Berlin | Werden wir durch personalisierte Tabletten und Nano-Roboter künftig länger und besser leben? Welchen...
mehr

"Women" von Sasha Waltz

19.07.2017, Berlin | Sasha Waltz & Guests werden im Rahmen von „Tanz im August“ am 30....
mehr