Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Eastern Europe Fellowship

From 2004 until 2009 the Ernst Schering Foundation awarded an annual fellowship to an artist from Eastern Europe. The fellowship was open for all media of the fine arts including the performing arts. It was to enable the fellowship recipient to work in a studio of the Künstlerhaus Bethanien in Berlin and to cover his/her cost of living.

2009 – Tomasz Kowalski

In January 2009, the young Polish artist Tomasz Kowalski (born 1984 in Szczebrzeszyn/ Poland) took up the Ernst Schering Foundation’s one-year Eastern Europe Fellowship in Fine Arts at the Künstlerhaus Bethanien. The jury was impressed by the exceptional talent of the 24-year-old artist and the quality of his surreal imagery constructed from iconographic quotations and references. A solo exhibition of the works he will create during his stay in Berlin is scheduled for November 2009 at the Künstlerhaus.

Press release (in German only)

Kowalksi

2008 – Sophia Tabatadze

The installations of the young artist (born in 1977) mainly deal with the relationship between people and architecture. In her work, she focuses on the rapid changes that result from political transformations and often lead to painful upheavals in one’s social environment. Here, Tabatadze is more interested in psychological and social aspects than in formal aspects. Examining, for example, the notion of “home“ – both in the sense of one’s home country, region or town, but also in the more familial sense –, she asks whether it is, perhaps, more a psychological phenomenon than a physical phenomenon tied to a certain place.

Press release (in German only)

01 avlabari_klein.jpg

2007 - Uršula Berlot

With her light installations based on physical processes, the Slovenian artist Uršula Berlot boasts of an already quite mature and complex formal language which exhibits many references to the natural sciences. Her light installations and acryl paintings are characterized by a high degree of abstraction and a minimalist formal language. Transparent, painted surfaces made from industrial materials serve to reflect light and create optical spaces.

Press release (in German only)

2006 - Arturas Raila

Photography and video are the primary media for Arturas Raila's work. Born in 1962, his main interests are the behavior of certain social groups and the history of Lithuania, particularly the period of occupation by German and Soviet troops between 1940 and 1953. In 2003, Raila won the Hansabank Art Award, the most prestigious prize of its kind in the Baltic states, for his project "Roll Over Museum"?a portrait of four car mechanics including a 17-minute video as they talk about their cars.

Press release (in German only)

2005 - Jan Mancuska

In 2005, Mancuska's work was shown in a number of international exhibitions. At this year's Venice Biennial, he designed the Czech-Slovak pavilion "Model of the World," a collaborative work with Stano Filko und Boris Ondreicka. In the fall of 2005, Jan Mancuska, together with Jonas Dahlberg (Stockholm), was invited by the Bonner Kunstverein to review and explore current ideas of space and the modes of perception associated with them. Jan Mancuska's work comes from the Eastern European tradition of conceptual art, with language always also being expressed in sculptural form. He is now represented by international art galleries in Europe and the United States.

Press release (in German only)

2004 - Monika Sosnowska

Monika Sosnowska's installations are for the most part walkable constructions. In labyrinth-like spaces, she plays with the observer's perceptions. The irritation targets the observer's normal view and learned sense of space. In her installations, which are composed of familiar set pieces, we are confronted with an unknown and at the same time fantastical world. Works by the artist were shown, amongst other places, at the Manifesta in Frankfurt in 2002 and at the Venice Biennale in 2003.

Press release (in German only)

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Osteuropa-Stipendium Bildende Kunst

Die Schering Stiftung hat von 2004 bis 2009 jährlich ein Stipendium an einen Künstler oder eine Künstlerin aus Osteuropa vergeben. Das Stipendium war offen für alle Medien der bildenden Kunst einschließlich performativer Ansätze. Es diente dazu, dem Stipendiaten die Arbeit in einem Atelier des Künstlerhauses Bethanien in Berlin zu ermöglichen und den Lebensunterhalt des Stipendiaten zu decken.

2009 – Tomasz Kowalski

Tomasz Kowalskis (*1984 in Szczebrzeszyn/ Polen) Malerei und seine Skulpturen nehmen trotz oder vielleicht gerade aufgrund der Adaption kunsthistorischer Meisterwerke eine bemerkenswerte, eigenständige künstlerische Position ein. Die hohe Qualität der zitatenreichen Bilder überzeugen ebenso wie die damit verbundene Fragestellung nach den sich verändernden Sehgewohnheiten.

Presseinformation zur Ausstellung

Kowalksi

2008 – Sophia Tabatadze

Die georgische Künstlerin Sophia Tabatadze (*1977) setzt sich in ihren Installationen vorrangig mit dem Verhältnis von Mensch und Architektur auseinander. Sie fokussiert dabei ihren Blick auf die rapiden Veränderungen, die durch politischen Wandel entstehen und zu schmerzhaft empfundenen Umbrüchen der Lebensumwelt führen. Tabatadze ist dabei weniger an formalen, als vielmehr an psycho-sozialen Aspekten interessiert. Themen wie Heimat und Heim werden dahingehend untersucht, ob sie nicht vielmehr psychologische Phänomene denn physikalische bzw. ortsgebundene sind.

Presseinformation zur Ausstellung

01 avlabari_klein.jpg

2007 - Uršula Berlot

Die slowenische Künstlerin Uršula Berlot bietet mit ihren auf physikalischen Prozessen basierenden Lichtinstallationen eine bereits sehr reife und komplexe Formensprache, die vielfältige Bezüge zu den Naturwissenschaften aufweist. Ihre Lichtinstallationen und Acryl-Malereien zeichnen sich durch einen hohen Abstraktionsgrad und minimalistische Formensprache aus. Transparente Flächen aus Industriematerialien und ihre Bemalungen dienen der Reflektion von Licht und der Schaffung optischer Räume.
Uršula Berlot hat im Januar 2007 ihr Atelier im Künstlerhaus Bethanien bezogen.

Presseinformation zur Ausstellung

2006 - Arturas Raila

Arturas Raila (geb. 1962) bevorzugt in seinen Arbeiten die Medien Fotografie und Video. Dabei interessiert er sich vor allem für das Verhalten bestimmter sozialer Gruppen und setzt sich mit der Geschichte Litauens, insbesondere mit der Zeit der Besetzung durch deutsche und sowjetische Truppen zwischen 1940 und 1953, auseinander. Für sein Projekt "Roll Over Museum", in dem er vier Automechaniker porträtiert und sie 17 Minuten lang in einem Video über ihre Autos erzählen lässt, wurde Raila 2003 mit dem Hansabank Art Award, dem bedeutendsten Preis seiner Art im Baltikum, ausgezeichnet.

Presseinformation zur Ausstellung

2005 - Jan Mancuska

Im Jahr 2005 war Mancuska auf zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen zu sehen. So entwarf er für den tschechisch-slowakischen Pavillon auf der diesjährigen Biennale von Venedig "Ein Modell der Welt", eine Gemeinschaftsarbeit mit Stano Filko und Boris Ondreicka. Im Herbst 2005 war Jan Mancuska gemeinsam mit Jonas Dahlberg (Stockholm) vom Bonner Kunstverein eingeladen, heutige Raumauffassungen zu überprüfen und damit verbundene Wahrnehmungsformen zu verfolgen. Jan Mancuskas Werk setzt in der osteuropäischen Tradition der Konzept-Kunst an, wobei Sprache immer auch als skulpturale Form zur Geltung kommt. Er wird inzwischen von internationalen Galerien in Europa und den Vereinigten Staaten vertreten.

Presseinformation zur Ausstellung

2004 - Monika Sosnowska

Monika Sosnowskas Installationen sind zumeist begehbare Konstruktionen. In labyrinthartigen Räumen provoziert sie ein Spiel mit der Wahrnehmung des Betrachters. Die Irritation gilt seinem gewohnten Blick und seiner erlernten Raumerfahrung. In ihren aus bekannten Versatzstücken realisierten Entwürfen begegnen wir einer unbekannten und zugleich fantastischen Welt. Arbeiten der Künstlerin waren u.a. 2002 auf der Manifesta in Frankfurt und 2003 auf der Biennale in Venedig zu sehen.

Presseinformation zur Ausstellung

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Am 1. Juni, um 19 Uhr, eröffnet in den KW Institute for Contemporary...
mehr