Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Orchestra Academy Scholarship

From autumn 2005 until autumn 2009 the Ernst Schering Foundation supported four talented young musicians with scholarships for the prestigious Orchestra Academy of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. For the young instrumentalists, it is a unique opportunity to learn from acknowledged professionals and to prepare for the high demands of a top-level orchestra.

The idea originated with Herbert von Karajan, long-time chief conductor of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. Because he was worried about the lack of qualified young musicians, he established the Orchestra Academy, an institution which until today has primarily one goal: to prepare young, exceptionally talented instrumentalists for the high standards of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra and other international top-level orchestras.

Since its founding in 1972, the Orchestra Academy has adhered to an effective concept: under the protective wing of the orchestra, young musicians complete a two-year course of study, which is funded by a scholarship. They regularly receive private lessons from the concert masters, principals and soloists, participate in rehearsals and concerts of the orchestra and take lessons in chamber music. The goal of the training is to perfect the artistic skills of the young musicians and to familiarize them with the sound ideal of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. Most of the fellows can immediately obtain positions in leading international orchestras, over half of them as section principals.

Ruslan Vilensky, Cello, Fellow from 2007 until 2009

Born in 1985, the Latvian cellist Ruslan Vilensky was only fourteen years old when he won First Prize at the Karl Davidoff International Competition. This was followed by numerous awards, scholarships and master courses. Since 2003, the young musician has studied at the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music in Berlin in the class of David Geringas. He has already had the opportunity to perform as a soloist with many renowned orchestras including the North German Philharmonic Orchestra Rostock or the Riga Festival Orchestra.

Ruslan Vilensky

Jozef Hamernik, Flute, Fellow from 2007 until 2009

Born in Bratislava in 1984, Jozef Hamernik began to play the flute at the age of ten. He studied simultaneously at the conservatories in Bratislava and Budapest and subsequently at the Mozarteum in Salzburg. While still a student, he also received a scholarship for the Orchestra Academy of the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra. Jozef Hamernik has performed as a soloist with, among others, the Bavarian State Orchestra, the Radio Philharmonic Orchestra Hanover, the North German Philharmonic Orchestra Rostock, the Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra and the Prague Chamber Orchestra.

Photo: Maurizion Mayer

JOZEF HAMERNIK

Márta Malomvölgyi, Oboe, Fellow from 2005 until 2007

The Hungarian oboist Marta Malomvölgyi was born in 1980. The recipient of several awards studied oboe at the Franz Liszt Academy of Music in Budapest and at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Stuttgart. During your fellowship at the Orchestra-Academy Márta Malomvölgyi described her goals as follows: "Later, I would like to pursue a career in a symphonic orchestra. I also hope to be able to perform many chamber concerts. Above all, I want to gain experience in playing with an orchestra and broaden my solo repertory.

Stipendiatin Márta Malomvölgyi

Stanislava Stoykova, Viola,
Fellow from 2005 until 2007

Born in 1980 in the Bulgarian city of Varna, the violist Stanislava Stoykova received her musical training, among other places, at the State Music Academy in Sofi a, the Berlin University of Arts, and at the Liszt School of Music in Weimar. The fellowship of the Ernst Schering Foundation at the Orchestra Academy meant a lot to Stanislava Stoykova: "The scholarship enables young musicians to play in an orchestra that is an extraordinary one in every respect and to work with the greatest conductors. This remains an unforgettable experience. One learns a lot about chamber music, about how to play in an orchestra and how to deal with each other both as musicians and individuals."

Stanislava Stoykova

News

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Digital Salon: A Soft Spot for Cyborgs

22.05.2017, Berlin | Smart robot hands, artificial legs, printable organs: Are implants the panacea of the...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Stipendium an der Orchester-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker

Von Herbst 2005 bis Herbst 2009 finanzierte die Schering Stiftung insgesamt vier talentierten Nachwuchsmusikern ein Stipendium an der renommierten Orchester-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker. Eine einmalige Gelegenheit für die jungen Instrumentalisten, von ausgewiesenen Profis zu lernen und sich auf die hohen Anforderungen in einem Spitzenorchester vorzubereiten.

Die Idee stammt von Herbert von Karajan. Weil der langjährige Chefdirigent der Berliner Philharmoniker sich um qualifizierten Nachwuchs sorgte, schuf er mit der Orchester-Akademie eine Institution, die bis heute vor allem eine Aufgabe hat: junge, außergewöhnlich begabte Instrumentalisten auf die hohen Maßstäbe der Berliner Philharmoniker und anderer internationaler Spitzenorchester vorzubereiten.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1972 verfolgt die Orchester-Akademie ein bewährtes Konzept: Junge Musiker absolvieren unter der Obhut des Orchesters ein zweijähriges Studium, das mit einem Stipendium verbunden ist. Sie erhalten regelmäßig Einzelunterricht durch die Konzertmeister, Stimmführer und Solisten, nehmen aktiv an Proben und Konzerten des Orchesters teil und werden in Kammermusik unterwiesen. Ziel der Ausbildung ist es, die künstlerischen Fähigkeiten der jungen Musiker zu vervollkommnen und ihnen das Klangideal der Berliner Philharmoniker zu vermitteln. Der Großteil der Stipendiaten wird im unmittelbaren Anschluss in internationalen Spitzenorchestern engagiert, über die Hälfte sogar in Solopositionen.

Ruslan Vilensky, Cello, Stipendiat von 2007 bis 2009

Der lettische Cellist Ruslan Vilensky, Jahrgang 1985, war erst vierzehn Jahre alt, als er beim 1. Internationalen Karl-Davidoff-Wettbewerb den ersten Platz belegte. Zahlreiche Auszeichnungen sind seitdem gefolgt, zudem Stipendien und viele Meisterkurse. Der junge Musiker studiert seit 2003 an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin in der Klasse von David Geringas und konnte als Solist bereits mit vielen renommierten Orchestern konzertieren – etwa mit der Norddeutschen Philharmonie Rostock oder dem Riga Festival Orchester.

Ruslan Vilensky

Jozef Hamernik, Föte, Stipendiat von 2007 bis 2009

Der 1984 in Bratislava geborene Jozef Hamernik begann mit zehn Jahren, Flöte zu lernen und studierte anschließend gleich an zwei Konservatorien, in Bratislava und Budapest, später dann am Mozarteum Salzburg. Parallel zu seinem Studium war er Stipendiat der Orchester-Akademie der Münchner Philharmoniker. Als Solist trat Jozef Hamernik u.a. mit dem Bayerischen Staatsorchester, der Radiophilharmonie Hannover, der Norddeutschen Philharmonie Rostock, der Slowakischen Philharmonie und dem Prager Kammerorchester auf.

Foto: Maurizion Mayer

JOZEF HAMERNIK

Márta Malomvölgyi, Oboe, Stipendiatin von 2005-2007

Die ungarische Oboitistin wurde 1980 geboren. Die mehrfache Preisträgerin studierte Oboe u.a. an der Franz-Liszt-Musikakademie in Budapest und an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Stuttgart. Während Ihres Stipendiums an der Orchester-Akademie beschrieb Márta Malomvölgyi ihre beruflichen Ziele wie folgt: "Später möchte ich musikalische Karriere in einem Symphonischen Orchester machen. Ich hoffe auch, dass ich viele Kammerkonzerte geben kann. Ich möchte vor allem Orchestererfahrung sammeln und mein Solo-Repertoire erweitern."

Stipendiatin Márta Malomvölgyi

Stanislava Stoykova, Bratsche, Stipendiatin von 2005-2007

1980 im bulgarischen Varna geboren, erhielt die Bratschistin Stanislava Stoykova ihre musikalische Ausbildung unter anderem an der Staatlichen Musikakademie Sofia, an der Universität der Künste in Berlin, und an der Hochschule für Musik in Weimar. Das Stipendium der Schering Stiftung an der Orchester-Akademie bedeutete Stanislava Stoykova viel: "Das Stipendium ermöglicht jungen Musikern, in diesem in jeder Hinsicht besonderen Orchester mitzuspielen und die größten Dirigenten zu erleben. Das bleibt ein unvergesslicher Lebensabschnitt. Man lernt sehr viel über Kammermusik, das Spielen im Orchester, und darüber, musikalisch und persönlich miteinander umzugehen."

Stanislava Stoykova

Aktuelles

Praktikant/in ab Oktober 2017 gesucht

18.07.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung bietet einer/einem Praktikantin/en ab Oktober 2017 die Möglichkeit, Einblick in...
mehr

"Women" von Sasha Waltz

19.07.2017, Berlin | Sasha Waltz & Guests werden im Rahmen von „Tanz im August“ am 30....
mehr

KreativWettbewerb "Suizid ist nicht die Lösung!"

19.07.2017, Berlin | Das Thema Suizid wird in der Öffentlichkeit gern verdrängt und wer nicht direkt...
mehr