Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum


Preisträgerin Prof. Carolyn R. Bertozzi

Achtung, öffnet in einem neuen Fenster. | Drucken |

Adresse: Department of Chemistry and Molecular and Cell Biology
University of California
Berkeley, California 94720-1460
Tel.: +1-510-643-1682 Fax: +1-510-643-2628
Geburtsdatum: 10.10.1966
Geburtsort: Boston, MA, USA

1984 - 1988 A.B. in Chemie, summa cum laude, Harvard University
1988 - 1993 Ph.D. in Chemie, University of California, Berkeley
1993 - 1995 American Cancer Society Postdoctoral Fellow, UCSF

Beruflicher Werdegang:
1996 - 1999 Assistant Professor für Chemie; UC Berkeley
1996 - heute Fakultätsmitglied, Materials Sciences Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
1999 - 2002 außerordentliche Professorin für Chemie und Molekular- und Zell Biologie, UC Berkeley
2000 - heute Wissenschaftlerin am Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2000 - heute Professorin für Molekular- und Zellpharmakologie, University of California (UCSF)
2001 - heute Direktorin, Biological Nanostructures Facility of The Molecular Foundry (LBNL)
2002 - heute Professorin für Chemie und Molekular- und Zellbiologie, UC Berkeley
2006 - heute Direktorin, The Molecular Foundry, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

2007 Ernst Schering Preis
2005 Elected member of the National Academy of Sciences; T.Z. and Irmgard Chu
Distinguished Professorship in Chemistry; Havinga Medal, Univ. Leiden
2004 Iota Sigma Pi Agnes Fay Morgan Research Award
2003 Elected member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
2002 Irving Sigal Young Investigator Award of the Protein Society; Fellow of the American
Association for the Advancement of Science
2001 Donald Sterling Noyce Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching; UC Berkeley
Distinguished Teaching Award; ACS Award in Pure Chemistry
2000 Merck Academic Development Program Award; UC Berkeley Department of Chemistry
Teaching Award; Presidential Early Career Award in Science and Engineering (PECASE)
1999 MacArthur Foundation Award; Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award; Arthur C. Cope
Scholar Award (ACS); Joel H. Hildebrand Chair in Chemistry (1998-2000)
1998 Beckman Young Investigator Award; Prytanean Faculty Award; Glaxo Wellcome Scholar;
Research Corporation Research Innovation Award; Office of Naval Research Young
Investigator Award
1997 Horace S. Isbell Award in Carbohydrate Chemistry (ACS); Alfred P. Sloan Research
Fellow; Burroughs Wellcome New Investigator Award in Pharmacology
1996 Pew Scholars Award in the Biomedical Sciences; Exxon Education Fund Young
Investigator Award
1995 Camille and Henry Dreyfus New Faculty Award
1992 Bruce Mahan Teaching Award
1989 und 1990 Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Awards
1988 Thomas T. Hoopes Undergraduate Thesis Prize; New England American Institute of
Chemists Award
1987 Danforth Teaching Award; Phi Beta Kappa

Prescher, J.A., Bertozzi, C.R. Chemistry in living systems. Nature Chemical Biology. 2005, 1, 1, 13 - 21
Dube, D. H.; Bertozzi, C. R. Glycans in Cancer and Inflammation - Potential for Therapeutics and
Diagnostics. Nature Rev. Drug Disc. 2005, 4, 477-88.
Stowell, C. L.; Barvian, K. K.; Young, P. C.; Bigsby, R. M.; Verdugo, D. E.; Bertozzi, C. R.; Widlanski, T. S. A
Role for Sulfation-Desulfation in the Uptake of Bisphenol A Into Breast Tumor Cells. Chem. Biol. 2006, 13,
Schelle, M.W., Bertozzi, C.R. Sulfate Metabolism in Mycobacteria. ChemBioChem 2006 7, 1516 - 1524
Prescher, J. A.; Bertozzi, C. R. Chemical Technologies for Probing Glycans. Cell 2006, 126, 851-854.
Jain, M; Petzold, C.J.; Schelle, M.W.; Leavell, M.D.; Mougous, J.D.; Bertozzi, C.R.; Leary, J.A.; Cox, J.S.
Lipidomics Reveals Control of Mycobacterium tuberculosis Virulence Lipids via Metabolic Coupling. Proc.
Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 2007, 104, 5133-5138.
Kumar, P.; Schelle, M. W.; Jain, M.; Lin, F. L.; Petzold, C. J.; Leavell, M. D.; Leary, J. A.; Cox, J. S.; Bertozzi,
C. R. PapA1 and PapA2 are Acyltransferases Essential for the Biosynthesis of the Mycobacterium
tuberculosis Virulence Factor Sulfolipid-1. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 2007, 104, 11221-11226.
Chang. P. V.; Prescher, J. A.; Hangauer, M. J.; Bertozzi, C. R. Imaging Cell Surface Glycans with
Bioorthogonal Chemical Reporters. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2007, 129, 8400-8401.
Wong, P. G.; Bertozzi, C. R., Eds. Glycochemistry. Principles, Synthesis and Applications. Marcel Dekker,
Inc. (New York), 2001.


Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...