Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum


Preisträger Prof. Dr. Kyriacos Nicolaou

Achtung, öffnet in einem neuen Fenster. | Drucken |

Name: Kyriacos C. Nicolaou
Date of Birth: July 5, 1946
Place of Birth: Cyprus
Marital Status: Married to Georgette K. Nicolaou
Children: Colette, Alexis, Christopher, Paul
Address: Department of Chemistry, The Scripps Research Institute, 10550 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, CA 92037, Phone (858) 784-2400, Fax (858) 784-2469
and Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry University of California/San Diego, 9500 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, CA 92093, Phone (858) 534-7115
Citizenship: USA/UK

1969 B.Sc. (Honors degree, First Class), Bedford College, University of London, UK
1972 Ph.D., University College, University of London, UK (with Professors F. Sondheimer and P.J. Garratt)

1972-73 Research Associate, Columbia University, New York, NY (with Professor T.J. Katz)
1973-76 Research Associate, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA (with Professor E.J. Corey)
1976-80 Assistant Professor of Chemistry, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA
1976-81 Associate Professor of Chemistry, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA
1976-82 Professor of Chemistry, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA
1976-83 Rhodes-Thompson Professor of Chemistry, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA
1989- Chairman, Department of Chemistry, and Darlene Shiley Chair in Chemistry, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA, and Professor of Chemistry, University of California/San Diego, La Jolla, CA
1996 Aline W. and L.S. Skaggs Professor of Chemical Biology, Skaggs Institute for Chemical Biology, TSRI

Selected Professional Activities
1998- Regional Advisory Board, J.C.S. Chemical Communications
1990- Editorial Board, Synthesis
1991- Regional Advisory Board, J.C.S. Perkin I
1992- Board of Consulting Editors, Tetrahedron Publications
1992-95 Editorial Board, Accounts of Chemical Research
1993- Editorial Board, Carbohydrate Letters
1994- International Advisory Board, Contemporary Organic Synthesis
1978-88 Editorial Board, Prostaglandins, Leukotrienes and Medicine
1984-90 Co-Editor, Synthesis
1994- Editorial Board, Chemistry - A European Journal
1994- International Advisory Board, Angewandte Chemie
1994- Editorial Board, Perspectives in Drug Discovery and Design
1999- Editorial Board, Indian Journal of Chemistry, Section B, 1995-1997
1997- International Advisory Board, J.C.S Perkin I
1998- Editorial Advisory Board, Combinatorial Chem. High Throughput Screening
1998- Editorial Board, Current Opinion in Bioorganic Chemistry
1994- Editorial Advisory Board, Organic Letters
2000- Editorial Advisory Board, ChemBioChem

Selected Awards and Honors
2001 Foreign Member, Academy of Athens, Greece
2001 Greek American Scientists, Engineers, and High Tech Entrepeneurs Award
2001 Nagoya Medal of Organic Chemistry, Nagoya University, Nagoya, Japan
2001 Ernst Schering Prize, Ernst Schering Research Foundation, Germany
2000-01 Centenary Medal, Royal Society of Chemistry, UK
2000 Honorary Ph.D. (honoris causa), Agricultural University of Athens, Greece
2000 Paul Karrer Gold Medal, Switzerland
2000 Max Tishler Prize Lecture, Harvard University, USA
1999 Yamada Prize, Japan
1999 Honorary Professorship, Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, China
1999 Elected Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, USA
1999 Aspirin Prize for Solidarity through Chemistry, Spain
1998 Press Club Headliner Award, San Diego Press Club, USA
1998 Honorary Ph.D. (honoris causa), University of Crete, Greece
1998 Gustavus John Esselen Award for Chemistry in the Public Interest, American Chemical Society, Northeastern Section, USA
1998 Decoration of the Order of the Commander of Honor Medal bestowed by the President of Greece
1998 Honorary Ph.D. (honoris causa), Universidad de Alcala, Madrid, Spain
1997 Cliff S. Hamilton Award in Organic Chemistry, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
1997 Distinguished Scientist Award, American Chemical Society, San Diego Section, USA
1997 Honorary Ph.D. (honoris causa), University of Cyprus, Cyprus
1996 Honorary Member, Pharmaceutical Society of Japan
1996 Honorary Ph.D. (honoris causa), University of Thessaloniki, Greece
1996 Linus Pauling Medal, American Chemical Society, Puget Sound, Portland, and Oregon Section, USA
1996 Member, National Academy of Sciences, USA
1996 Inhoffen Medal, German Research Center for Biotechnology (GBF) and the Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany
1996 Chemical Pioneer of the American Institute of Chemists Award, USA
1996 Ernest Guenther Award in the Chemistry of Natural Products, American Chemical Society, USA
1996 William H. Nichols Medal, American Chemical Society, New York Section, USA
1995 Rhone-Poulenc Silver Medal, Royal Society of Chemistry, UK
1995 Honorary Ph.D. (honoris causa), University of Athens, Greece
1994 D.Sc. degree, University of London, UK
1994 Karavas Prize, Cyprus
1994 Alexander the Great Award, Hellenic Cultural Society of San Diego, USA
1994 Paul Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis, Belgium
1993 Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, USA
1993 Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry, American Chemical Society, USA
1993 Alan R. Day Award, Philadelphia Organic Chemist's Club, USA
1988 Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Award, Japan
1987 Fellow, New York Academy of Sciences, USA
1987-88 Alexander von Humboldt Foundation US Senior Scientist Award, Germany
1987 Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, American Chemical Society, USA
1983 American Chemical Society Philadelphia Section Award, USA
1984 J.S. Guggenheim Fellow, USA
1980 Honorary M.A. (honoris causa), University of Pennsylvania, USA
1980-84 Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, USA
1979-83 A.P. Sloan Fellowship, USA


Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...

Bewerbungsstart: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017, Berlin | Im April 2018 startet erneut das etablierte Führungskräftetraining Young Leaders in Science, das...