Philipp Lachenmann: DELPHI Rationale


Ernst Schering Prize 1995

Prof. Dr. Yasutomi Nishizuka

On September 21, 1995, this year's Ernst Schering Prize was awarded to Professor Yasutomi Nishizuka, Kobe University, Japan, in Prague. Nishizuka receives the DM 75,000 prize for his basic and outstanding work on protein kinase C. This enzyme plays an important role in the communication between cells.

The award ceremony took place under the auspices of the Charles University in Prague. Nishizuka received the prize from the Vice-Chancellor of the Charles University, Professor Pavel Klener. As one of the oldest European university cities, Prague was chosen for the award ceremony by the Ernst Schering Research Foundation as a symbol of research tradition.

Cells receive signals from outside and transport these as messages into the cell. Inside the cell an answer will be induced which is specific to the cell type and signal. Signal molecules are, for example, hormones or growth factors. The basic question is how various cell types in different tissues of an organism can specifically recognize the information of signal molecules and process it further. On a cellular level, this involves a highly complex cascade of biochemical reactions. Protein kinase C is one of the key factors in this process.

In the late 1970s, Nishizuka was the first to describe protein kinase C. With his discoveries he initiated an intensive research into cell biology. So far, 11 forms (isoenzymes) of protein kinase C have been identified. Depending on cell type and function, researchers can identify different patterns of these isoenzymes. This research has led to a better understanding of the information pathways in the body and between cells.


Curriculum Vitae


Live Debate: What to Do When Kidneys, Livers and Hearts Are Getting Scarce?

09.03.2018, Berlin | While more than 10,000 people in Germany are desperately waiting for a donor...

Big Data Means Big Responsibility. The Use of Data in the Healthcare Sector

24.02.2018, Erlangen | The digitalization of medicine is making big strides. The integration of previously distinct...

Visions of Synthetic Biology

16.02.2018, Berlin | Life is what you make it – this is the motto of synthetic...

Ivana Franke

 

Ernst Schering Preis 1995

Prof. Dr. Yasutomi Nishizuka

Der diesjährige Ernst Schering Preis wurde am 21. September 1995 in Prag an Professor Yasutomi Nishizuka von der Kobe Universität in Japan verliehen. Nishizuka erhält den mit DM 75.000 dotierten Preis für seine hervorragenden und grundlegenden Arbeiten zur Proteinkinase C, einem Enzym, das eine zentrale Rolle bei der Kommunikation zwischen Körperzellen spielt.

Die feierliche Verleihung des Preises in Prag fand unter der Schirmherrschaft der Karls-Universität statt. Nishizuka nahm den Preis vor internationalem Publikum vom Prorektor der Karls-Universität, Professor Pavel Klener, in Empfang. Die Verleihung fand in diesem Jahr zum ersten Mal im Ausland statt. Prag als eine der ältesten Universitätsstädte Europas wurde zur Preisverleihung von der Schering Forschungsgesellschaft als Sinnbild für Forschungstradition ausgewählt.

Zellen erhalten von außen Signale, leiten diese als Botschaft in die Zelle weiter, und innnerhalb der Zelle kommt es zu einer für Zelltyp und Signal spezifischen Antwort. Signalmoleküle sind zum Beispiel Hormone oder Wachstumsfaktoren. Dabei stellt sich die Grundfrage, wie die unterschiedlichen Zelltypen in den verschiedenen Teilen eines Organismus den für sie bestimmten Informationsgehalt von Signalmolekülen erkennen und verarbeiten. Dies ist auf der Zellebene ein hochkomplizierter Vorgang, der über viele biochemische Reaktionen führt. Die Proteinkinase C ist ein entscheidender Faktor, dass diese Reaktionsfolge geordnet abläuft.

Ende der siebziger Jahre beschrieb Nishizuka erstmals die Proteinkinase C und initiierte damit eine intensive Forschung in dieser Thematik. Bis heute konnten 11 Formen (Isoformen) der Proteinkinase C identifiziert werden. Je nach Zelltyp und Funktion von Zellen können unterschiedliche Muster dieser Isoformen festgestellt werden. Diese Forschungsarbeiten haben dazu beigetragen, die Informationswege im Körper und zwischen Zellen besser zu verstehen.

1995_Nishizuka_grau

Curriculum Vitae

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni...
mehr