Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Ernst Schering Prize 1996

Prof. Dr. Judah Folkman

This year's Ernst Schering Prize will be presented to Professor Judah Folkman of the Harvard Medical School in Berlin on November 27, 1996. Professor Folkman is awarded the DM 75,000 prize for his outstanding pioneering work on angiogenesis (the proliferation of new vessels) and tumor biology. This research has greatly helped explain the regulation of tumor growth and of the development of metastasis.

Angiogenesis research began with the question of how tumors induce the formation of blood vessels (angiogenesis). The background: solid tumors can only grow to a few cubic millimeters in size if they are not being nourished through blood vessels. If the supply of nutrients and oxygen by means of diffusion ceases, any further tumor growth is dependent on blood vessels. Folkman began dealing with this in detail in the early seventies. Although only a few people were working in this field at that time, by the late eighties and early nineties much greater interest was being shown. Meanwhile, numerous factors have been discovered that stimulate the formation of blood vessels. Several of these factors can be produced by the tumor cells themselves.

The main significance of the research findings is for cancer therapy applications, because if it becomes possible to inhibit or prevent the creation of blood vessels, the growth of tumors will be stopped. Or to put it another way, the tumor starves. Numerous research groups are trying out different approaches to block the process of angiogenesis.

1996_Folkman_grau

Curriculum Vitae

News

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Digital Salon: A Soft Spot for Cyborgs

22.05.2017, Berlin | Smart robot hands, artificial legs, printable organs: Are implants the panacea of the...
more

Philipp Lachenmann: DELPHI Rationale

 

Ernst Schering Preis 1996

Prof. Dr. Judah Folkman

Der diesjährige Ernst Schering Preis wird am 27. November 1996 in Berlin an Professor Judah Folkman von der Harvard Medical School in Boston, MA, verliehen. Folkman erhält den mit 75.000 DM dotierten Preis für seine hervorragenden und grundlegenden Arbeiten zur Gefäßneubildung (Angiogenese) und Tumorbiologie, die wesentlich zum Verständnis der Regulation des Wachstums und der Metastasierung von Tumoren beigetragen haben.

Das Gebiet der Angiogeneseforschung begann mit der Frage, durch welche Mechanismen es Tumoren gelingt, die Bildung von Blutgefäßen, also die Angiogenese, zu induzieren. Hintergrund ist, dass solide Tumore ohne eine Versorgung mit Blutgefäßen nur bis zu einer Größe von wenigen Kubikmillimetern wachsen können. Ist die Versorgung mit Nährstoffen und Sauerstoff durch Diffusion nicht mehr gewährleistet, ist das weitere Wachstum des Tumors gefäßabhängig. Folkman begann bereits Anfang der siebziger Jahre, sich eingehend mit dieser Thematik zu beschäftigen. Während es zu jener Zeit nur wenige Mitstreiter gab, erfuhr diese Forschungsrichtung ab Ende der achtziger, Anfang der neunziger Jahre verstärktes wissenschaftliches Interesse. Mittlerweile wurden zahlreiche Faktoren gefunden, die die Bildung von Blutgefäßen stimulieren. Manche dieser Faktoren können von der Tumorzelle selbst gebildet werden.

Die zentrale Bedeutung der Forschungsergebnisse liegt in der Anwendung in der Krebstherapie, denn wenn es gelingt, therapeutisch die Neubildung von Blutgefäßen zu hemmen oder zu unterbinden, wird das Tumorwachstum gestoppt: Der Tumor muß quasi verhungern. Zahlreiche Forschungsgruppen versuchen, den Angiogeneseprozess mit verschiedenen Ansätzen zu blockieren.

1996_Folkman_grau

Curriculum Vitae

Aktuelles

Hybrid Encounters. Tomás Saraceno und Gäste

18.04.2018, Berlin | Die Hybrid Plattform und die Schering Stiftung haben mit den »Hybrid Encounters« eine...
mehr

Live-Debatte: Arm durch Wohnen? Wie Mieten bezahlbar bleiben

16.05.2018, Berlin/Braunschweig | Die Mieten in Deutschland steigen kontinuierlich: Seit 2010 zahlen Bundesbürger im Durchschnitt 30...
mehr

DOME – Unser Verhältnis zum Kosmos

25.04.2018, Berlin | Das interdisziplinäre Kunstprojekt DOME lädt vom 18.05. bis 01.07.2018 im Zeiss-Großplanetarium in Berlin-Prenzlauer...
mehr