Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Ernst Schering Prize 2003

Prof. Dr. Svante Pääbo

Professor Svante Pääbo, director at the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig, uses material from extinct organisms from pleistocene mammals such as the cave bear, the mammoth and the Neanderthal as well as from extant species to help understand the genetic evolution of humans. His groundbreaking research is to be honored by the Ernst Schering Foundation with the 2003 Ernst Schering Prize. With a prize money of 50,000 euro, it is one of the richest German research prizes. The prize will be presented on September 26, 2003, at a ceremony in the Royal Castle in Warsaw, Poland. A press interview will be held on September 16 at the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig: Prof. Pääbo will report on his research findings on the evolution of the human genome and will also present new data on the development of the sense of smell. Thus, according to the latest research, only two thirds of the genes responsible for smell actually functions in humans in comparison with the chimpanzees.

Svante Pääbo is responsible for the introduction of the state-of-the-art molecular genetics procedures in paleontology and is seen as the founder of paleogenetics. With his outstanding research results Prof. Pääbo has made an important contribution to expanding our knowledge on the pre- and early history of humans as well as establishing a connection between extinct and extant species and has made the first statements on the evolution of various organs and behavior characteristics.

Prof. Pääbo was the first person to analyze material from a 30,000-year-old Neanderthal skeleton. The results of the comparison of the mitochondrial DNA of the Neanderthal with that of humans alive today have shown that the Neanderthal was a lateral branch rather than in the direct line of human evolution. Pääbo emphasizes: "This does not exclude the possibility that some Neanderthal genes have had an influence on modern humans, but a significant genetic mixing of the two groups is unlikely. As early as 600,000 years ago modern humans and the Neanderthals must have had a common ancestor."

When observing the genetic history of our species the question arises again and again as to who we should be comparing ourselves with. Prof. Pääbo's data supports the premise that chimpanzees are our closest relatives. Our hereditary material differs from that of the ape species by a mere 1.2 percent. In other words, genetically speaking we are 98.8 percent chimpanzees. But what does almost 99 percent identical DNA mean?
Fascinated by this question, Prof. Pääbo spent five years researching the genetic causes of the differences between chimpanzees and humans as well as between the Neanderthal and our species. Since the differences are most marked in the cognitive area, the experts carry out analysis on how the genes in the brain, liver and blood cells are switched off and on in humans, the chimpanzees, the orang-utang and the rhesus monkey. Of key interest here is the number of gene copies (messenger RNA) made of each individual gene in the tissues. Prof. Pääbo and his team were able to demonstrate that more changes took place in the human brain than in the chimpanzee brain. This means that in the course of evolution humans switched to using the genes in the brain differently.

The evolution of language is another key area in Prof. Pääbo's research. Here, the Leipzig scientists work with the FOXP2 gene, a necessary prerequisite for human speech ability. They analyzed the base sequence of the human FOXP2 gene and compared it with the sequence of the same gene in apes, rhesus monkeys and mice. Pääbo and his group found hardly any differences between the different species examined, so that the evolutionary change in FOXP2 must have been very slow. The gene product of FOXP2 consists of 715 amino acids. The mouse version of the gene product only differs from every human in three and the chimpanzee version only in two amino acids. Researchers working with Prof. Pääbo are now speculating that the small evolutionary changes in FOXP2 were important in the development of our highly articulate language since these changes made it possible for humans to gain fine-motor skills in the mouth and larynx, the prerequisite for human speech.

In their search for differences between humans and chimpanzees, Prof. Pääbo and his collaborators systematically analyzed every gene important for sensory perception. When analyzing the gene responsible for smell, the Leipzig team was able to prove for the first time that in comparison with the apes one third of the genes cannot function in humans. The inactivation of the smell genes is a continuing process, not yet complete. Is our species on the way to losing its sense of smell?

2003_Pbo_grau

Curriculium Vitae

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Ernst Schering Preis 2003

Prof. Dr. Svante Pääbo

Material von ausgestorbenen Organismen aus dem Pleistozän, wie Höhlenbär, Mammut und Neandertaler, sowie von heute lebenden Spezies nutzt Professor Svante Pääbo, Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für evolutionäre Anthropologie in Leipzig, um den Verlauf der genetischen Evolution der Menschen aufzuklären. Seine bahnbrechenden Forschungsarbeiten werden von der Schering Stiftung mit dem Ernst Schering Preis 2003 ausgezeichnet. Mit 50.000 Euro zählt dieser zu den höchst dotierten deutschen Forschungsauszeichnungen. Die feierliche Preisübergabe erfolgt am 26. September 2003 im Königlichen Schloss in Warschau, Polen.

Am 16. September findet dazu ein Pressegespräch am Max-Planck-Institut für evolutionäre Anthropologie in Leipzig statt: Prof. Pääbo wird über seine Forschungsergebnisse zur Evolution des humanen Genoms berichten und neue Daten zur Entwicklung unseres Geruchssinns vorstellen. So sind nach neuester Erkenntnis beim Menschen im Vergleich zum Schimpansen nur noch zwei Drittel der für den Geruchssinn verantwortlichen Gene funktionsfähig.

Svante Pääbo hat modernste Verfahren der Molekulargenetik in die Paläontologie eingeführt und gilt als Begründer der Paläogenetik. Mit seinen hervorragenden Forschungsergebnissen leistet Pääbo einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Erweiterung unseres Wissens über die Vor- und Frühgeschichte des Menschen, konnte Verwandtschaftsbeziehungen zwischen ausgestorbenen und lebenden Arten nachweisen und erste Aussagen über die Evolution verschiedener Organe und Verhaltensmerkmale treffen.

Erstmalig gelang Pääbo die genetische Analyse von Material eines über 30.000 Jahre alten Neandertaler-Skeletts. Die Ergebnisse des Vergleichs der Mitochondrien-DNA des Neandertalers mit der heute lebender Menschen zeigen, dass der Neandertaler eher ein Seitenzweig als ein direktes Bindeglied innerhalb der menschlichen Evolution darstellt. Pääbo betont: "Dies schließt nicht aus, dass der Neandertaler einige Gene des modernen Menschen beeinflusst hat, aber eine bedeutende genetische Vermischung zwischen beiden Gruppen ist unwahrscheinlich. Bereits vor etwa 600.000 Jahren müsste ein gemeinsamer Vorfahr von modernem Mensch und Neandertaler gelebt haben."

Bei der Betrachtung der genetischen Geschichte unserer Spezies tritt immer wieder die Frage auf, mit wem wir uns eigentlich vergleichen sollen. Die Daten Pääbos untermauern, dass unsere nächsten Verwandten die Schimpansen sind. Unser Erbgut unterscheidet sich von dem der Affen-Spezies nur um etwa 1,2 Prozent, das heißt, genetisch sind wir zu 98,8 Prozent Schimpanse. Aber was bedeuten knapp 99 Prozent identische DNA?

Fasziniert von dieser Frage, beschäftigt sich Pääbo seit fünf Jahren mit den genetischen Ursachen der Unterschiede zwischen Schimpanse und Mensch sowie zwischen Neandertaler und unserer Spezies. Da vor allem im kognitiven Bereich die Differenzen ausgeprägt sind, analysieren die Experten, wie die Gene in Gehirn-, Leber- und Blutzellen bei Mensch, Schimpanse, Orang-Utan und Rhesusaffe an- bzw. abgeschaltet werden. Dabei ist die Anzahl der Gen-Kopien (Boten-RNA), die von jedem einzelnen Gen in den Geweben erstellt werden, von großem Interesse. Pääbo und sein Team konnten nachweisen, dass im menschlichen Gehirn mehr Änderungen stattgefunden haben als im Gehirn des Schimpansen. Das heißt, der Mensch ist im Verlauf der Evolution dazu übergegangen, seine Gene besonders im Gehirn anders zu nutzen.

Auch die Evolution der Sprache ist ein wichtiger Forschungsschwerpunkt Pääbos. Dabei arbeiten die Leipziger Wissenschaftler mit dem Gen FOXP2, das eine notwendige Vorbedingung der menschlichen Sprechfähigkeit darstellt. Die Experten analysierten die Basensequenz des menschlichen FOXP2-Gens und verglichen diese mit der Sequenz des gleichen Gens bei Menschenaffen, Rhesusaffen und Mäusen. Pääbo und seine Gruppe konnten kaum Unterschiede zwischen den untersuchten Tierarten ermitteln, sodass die evolutionäre Veränderung von FOXP2 sehr zäh verlaufen sein muss. Das Genprodukt von FOXP2 besteht aus 715 Aminosäuren. Die Maus-Version des Genprodukts unterscheidet sich nur durch drei, die Schimpansen-Version sogar nur durch zwei Aminosäuren von jener des Menschen. Die Forscher um Pääbo spekulieren nun, dass die kleinen evolutionären Veränderungen in FOXP2 wichtig für die Entstehung unserer hochartikulierten Sprache waren, da diese Abweichungen den Menschen in die Lage versetzt haben könnten, die feinmotorischen Kompetenzen im Mund und Kehlkopf zu erwerben, die Voraussetzung für die menschliche Sprechfähigkeit sind.

Auf der Suche nach den Unterschieden zwischen Mensch und Schimpanse analysiert Pääbo mit seinen Wissenschaftlern systematisch jene Gene, die für Sinneswahrnehmungen wichtig sind. Bei der Analyse der für den Geruchssinn verantwortlichen Gene konnten die Leipziger Experten inzwischen erstmals nachweisen, dass beim Menschen im Vergleich zum Menschenaffen ein Drittel dieser Gene funktionsunfähig geworden ist. Dabei ist die Inaktivierung der Geruchsgene ein fortlaufender, noch nicht abgeschlossener Prozess. Ist unsere Spezies also auf dem Weg, ihren Geruchssinn zu verlieren?

2003_Pbo_grau

Curriculium Vitae

Aktuelles

Wie frei sind wir wirklich?

17.02.2017, Berlin | Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet...
mehr

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2017

16.02.2017, Berlin | Brauchen wir Spielplätze für unsere Nutztiere? Wie werden 7 Milliarden Menschen satt? Und...
mehr

In Spandau startet die Al-Farabi Musikakademie

02.01.2017, Berlin | Eine sorgenfreie und unbeschwerte Jugend ist nicht für alle Kinder eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach...
mehr