Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Ernst Schering Prize 2006

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang P. Baumeister

Professor Wolfgang Baumeister has opened up a new perspective on cell biology: With fascinating images of rapidly frozen cells, he can create spatial, i.e. three-dimensional representations of protein structures and from there even derive information about the molecules' sequence of movements. For these landmark developments of the so-called cryo-electron tomography, the director at the Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry in Martinsried is awarded the ?50,000 Ernst Schering Prize 2006. The prize of the Ernst Schering Foundation will be presented today in Berlin.

How does a virus enter a cell where it begins its fatal proliferation? How do bacteria and amoebae move? These are some of the questions that Professor Dr. Wolfgang Baumeister will soon be able to answer in detail. With his development of the cryo-electron tomography, the biologist opens up a new door in cell research and provides new insights into the nano world of the cell, as it allows imaging of thousands of tiniest protein complexes and other structures in a cell simultaneously?even in 3D.

"This fascinating new technology will make a decisive contribution to our understanding of the functioning of the cell," says Dr. Monika Lessl, Member of the Board of Directors of the Ernst Schering Foundation. The cells are rapidly frozen and thus solidified in a natural state. Even the movements of the proteins are frozen and can be reconstructed from several images. Apart from its importance for basic research, Baumeister also sees medical applications in the future: "In the long term, the cryo-electron tomography will help us discover pathological mutations in the pattern of molecular interaction. We will also be able to describe the influence of therapeutic agents on the interactions."

In recent years, Baumeister has given depth to the two-dimensional images of the cellular "interior furnishings" provided by traditional electron microscopy: Together with his research team, the director of the Department of Molecular Structural Biology adapted the technology of medical computer tomography to the electron microscope. First, a cell is being photographed from various perspectives. The computer then assembles the individual images to a three-dimensional image.

Professor Dr. Jürgen Mittelstraß, director of the Konstanz-based Center for Philosophy and Theory of Science and chairman of the Foundation Council of the Ernst Schering Foundation, is convinced: "The technology developed by Baumeister has enormous potential. His work will greatly advance the scientific understanding of how life works."

As part of the award ceremony, Prof. Baumeister will give a lecture to some 350 pupils at the Life Science Learning Laboratory of the Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine (MDC) in Berlin-Buch on September 20, 2006, at 10:00 a.m., followed by a public lecture at 2:00 p.m. For additional information on this lecture, contact Prof. Udo Heinemann via e-mail at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

2006_Baumeister_grau

Curriculium Vitae

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Ernst Schering Preis 2006

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang P. Baumeister

Eine neue Perspektive der Zellbiologie hat Professor Wolfgang Baumeister eröffnet: Mit faszinierenden Aufnahmen blitzschnell eingefrorener Zellen kann er Eiweißstrukturen räumlich, also dreidimensional darstellen und daraus sogar Bewegungsabläufe der Moleküle ableiten. Für diese wegweisenden Entwicklungen der so genannten Kryo-Elektronentomographie wird der Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried heute mit dem mit 50.000 Euro dotierten Ernst Schering Preis 2006 geehrt. Der von der Schering Stiftung vergebene Preis wird dem Preisträger in Berlin überreicht.

Wie dringt ein Virus in die Zelle ein, um dort seine fatale Vermehrung zu beginnen? Wie bewegen sich Bakterien und Amöben? Das sind einige der Fragen, die Professor Dr. Wolfgang Baumeister bald ganz genau beantworten kann. Mit der von ihm entwickelten Kryo-Elektronentomographie stößt der Biologe eine neue Tür in der Zellforschung auf und gibt neue Einblicke in die Nanowelt der Zelle: Er kann Tausende winzigster Proteinkomplexe und anderer Strukturen in einer Zelle gleichzeitig darstellen - und das sogar in 3D.

"Die neue Technologie ist faszinierend und wird entscheidend zum Verständnis beitragen, wie die Zelle funktioniert", sagt Dr. Monika Lessl, Vorstand der Schering Stiftung. Die Zellen werden blitzschnell in flüssigem Stickstoff eingefroren und erstarren so in einem natürlichen Zustand. Sogar die Bewegungen der Proteine sind eingefroren und lassen sich aus mehreren Aufnahmen rekonstruieren. Für die Zukunft sieht Baumeister neben der Bedeutung für die Grundlagenforschung auch medizinische Anwendungen: "Langfristig wird man mit der Kryo-Elektronentomographie in der Lage sein, krankhafte Veränderungen im Muster der molekularen Wechselwirkungen zu entdecken. Auch den Einfluss therapeutischer Wirkstoffe auf die Interaktionen wird man beschreiben können."

Baumeister hat den zweidimensionalen Bildern der zellulären "Inneneinrichtung", die mit der herkömmlichen Elektronenmikroskopie aufgenommen wurden, in den vergangenen Jahren Tiefe verliehen: Zusammen mit seinem Forschungsteam passte der Leiter der Abteilung Molekulare Strukturbiologie die Technik der medizinischen Computertomographie an das Elektronenmikroskop an. Dabei werden elektronenmikroskopische Bilder einer Zelle in gefrorenem Zustand bei -196°C oder -269°C aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln aufgenommen. Die Einzelbilder werden dann im Rechner zu einem dreidimensionalen Bild zusammengesetzt.

Professor Dr. Jürgen Mittelstraß, Direktor des Konstanzer Zentrums für Philosophie und Wissenschaftstheorie und Vorsitzender des Stiftungsrats der Schering Stiftung, ist überzeugt: "Die von Baumeister entwickelte Technologie hat enormes Potenzial. Seine Arbeiten sind richtungsweisend für das wissenschaftliche Verständnis, wie Leben funktioniert."

Im Rahmen der Preisvergabe wird Prof. Baumeister am 20. September 2006 um 10:00 Uhr im Gläsernen Labor des Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine (MDC) in Berlin-Buch einen Vortrag vor rund 350 Schülern halten, gefolgt von einem öffentlichen Vortrag um 14:00 Uhr. Weitere Informationen zu diesem Vortrag: Prof. Udo Heinemann, E-Mail: Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.

2006_Baumeister_grau

Curriculium Vitae

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr