Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

The ubiquitin system in health and disease

From the 9th to the 11th of April, 60 internationally renowned experts from the USA, Switzerland and Germany met at a scientific symposium organized by the Ernst Schering Foundation in Berlin, Germany. The aim of the meeting was to exchange the latest findings in one of the most important biological systems – the ubiquitin-regulated protein metabolism.

Ubiquitin is a small marker peptide, consisting of 76 amino acids. It is an integral part of all eukaryotic cells. The original Latin meaning of its name is “everywhere” and characterizes its ubiquitous presence in organisms and tissues.

In the 1980s US-scientist Irwin Rose and his Israeli colleagues Avram Hershko and Aaron Ciechanover discovered that targeted protein degradation begins when a ubiquitin chain is attached to target proteins in a multi-step process. A protein marked by ubiquitin is recognized by the protein complex “proteasome” and subsequently cut into smaller subunits – so called peptides. Ubiquitin is released during this process and can re-enter the cellular “protein-recycling-process”. Other important players in the ubiquitin-proteasome-system (UPS) are ATP and the three enzymes E1, E2, and E3. The three scientists Rose, Hershko, and Ciechanover were awarded the Nobel prize for Chemistry in 2004 for the discovery of ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation.

“It was this Nobel prize which brought the attention of many scientists to the huge importance of the ubiquitin-system in cell biology”, says Professor Tony Hunter from Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla, USA. “During the last 10 years more and more researchers became interested in this subject and the increase in knowledge in this particular field was exponential. Today we know that ubiquitin does a lot more than just regulate protein degradation.” Hunter himself only stumbled upon the ubiquitin system by chance. In 1998 one of his post-doc-students was working on growth factor receptors. He was trying to understand how these receptors were being down-regulated by interaction with ubiquitin ligases. Thus the ubiquitin system became one of the research focuses of Hunter’s group. “I hope that basic research in the field of ubiquitin will help us to identify target proteins for the development of new drugs, especially cancer drugs”, said Hunter at the symposium. “Our research indicates increasingly the close connection between changes in the ubiquitin pathway and various types of cancer. Ubiquitin seems to also play an important role in neurodegenerative processes. For example some neurodegenerative diseases have been shown to accumulate ubiquitin conjugates in afflicted cells. What we are currently looking for, are ways to stop these types of accumulation.” During his opening lecture Professor Hunter pointed out the importance of basic and applied sciences interacting and working together on the way to the development of new pharmaceuticals.

The ubiquitin system is one of the most highly conserved systems throughout eukaryote evolution. It can therefore be studied in simple life forms like yeast or the nematode C. elegans and comparisons to the human organism can be drawn. Such studies can reveal the signaling pathways characteristic for different cell types and diseases. It has been shown that many proteins contain domains that may undergo reversible ubiquitylation and deubiquitylation. This finding motivated scientists from various fields including molecular biology, genetics, and oncology to try and uncover the functions and mechanical connections of the ubiquitin system in cell biology.

At the symposium in Berlin Professor Martin Eilers from the Institute for Molecular Biology and Tumor Research at the Phillips-University in Marburg, Germany presented his latest findings on the Myc oncogene and its regulation by the ubiquitin system. This gene codes for the protein “Myc” which is present in almost all human tumors and plays a key role in cancer. It is an unusual transcription factor which controls the expression of target genes linked to cell reproduction, growth, cell metabolism, and apoptosis - programmed cell death. Eilers observed that poly-ubiquitylation of the Myc-protein not only resulted in degradation by the proteasome, but furthermore led to increased transcriptional activity of the Myc-protein, thus stimulating cell growth. The aim of the work of the Eilers group is to find ways to block signaling pathways that activate Myc-function.
The ubiquitin pathway regulates a great number of different signaling processes in human cells and is important for cell growth, cell differentiation, and the response to cell damage. It is also important in DNA repair processes. Dr. Alan d’Andrea of the Dana Faber Cancer Institute, Boston, Massachusetts, USA, works on a rare human condition called Fanconia Anemia (FA). DNA repair processes in children suffering from FA are dysfunctional. In healthy cells ubiquitylation and deubiquitylation of certain proteins as well as a number of other processes are important for DNA repair. D’Andrea explained in Berlin, “In some patients the pathway is disrupted.” D’Andrea showed that the FANCD2 protein needs to be ubiquitylated for DNA repair to take place. This process is impaired in children with FA who harbour a mutation in the responsible E3-gene. They therefore have higher risks of contracting cancer. They do however respond well to the drug “Cisplatin”, due to the defects in DNA repair mechanisms. D’Andrea transferred these findings to other types of cancer and found 20% of all ovarian cancer tumors, 18% of all breast cancer tumors, 15% of all lung cancer tumors and head and neck squamous cell carcinomas, and 5% of acute myelogenous leukaemia (AML) to contain disruptions of the DNA repair mechanism. This could indicate that patients with these types of tumors would respond to “Cisplatin” as well. “So if a patient has been diagnosed with cancer, we subsequently analyze the DNA repair mechanism. On the basis of this information we can then predict whether a tumor will be Cisplatin sensitive or not”, explains D’Andrea.
A young German scientist at the symposium, Dr. Thorsten Hoppe, from the Centre for Molecular Neurobiology in Hamburg, studies the regulation of polyubiquitylation in the one millimetre long nematode C. elegans. Hoppe and his team observed that ubiquitylation of a molecular chaperone by two specific E3-enzymes is essential for the function of the protein Cdc-48/p97. Together with the p97 protein this chaperone plays an important role in regulating muscle development. Dysfunctional p97 has been found to occur in certain hereditary muscle disorders like inclusion body myopathy (IBM/PFD). Hoppe and his colleagues now hope to advance the search for new diagnostic methods and therapies in this area.

After two and a half days of intensive scientific exchange Dr. Bernard Haendler of the Therapeutic Research Group Oncology of Bayer Schering Pharma AG and co-organizer of the symposium is very pleased. “The Nobel prize in 2004 and the advent of the first proteasome inhibitor on the market acted like a catalyst for ubiquitin research”, says the biochemist. “We now have to look for more specific approaches. This symposium showed how biochemists and geneticists from around the world and involved in both basic and applied research are trying to identify suitable targets within the UPS. This could be relevant for a variety of diseases ranging from cancer and immunodeficiencies to neurodegenerative diseases like Parkinson´s or Alzheimer´s disease. I am convinced that this symposium took us a step further along this path.”
The Ernst Schering Foundation was founded in 2002 by Schering AG. The objective was to combine under one roof the activities in the fields of science and culture, thus lending them greater weight by developing specific support programs. The Ernst Schering Foundation supports people and institutions that have accomplished pioneering work or set standards in science or art. It aims to make visible and help conserve ground-breaking work. By supporting projects in frontier areas and by bringing together artists and scientists from different disciplines and ways of thinking, the Ernst Schering Foundation seeks to build bridges and broaden horizons. Its goal is to create think tanks for new ideas. The Ernst Schering Foundation wants to support and honor exceptionally talented young scientists and artists and encourage them to take a leading role in society. To that end, it not only awards prizes and fellowships, but also organizes programs and workshops on a variety of topics that go beyond purely specialist interests. Children and young people are afforded the opportunity to gain insights into research and scientific processes and are introduced to cultural issues.

Abbreviations:
ATP = Adenosintriphosphate
C. elegans = Caenorhabditis elegans
FA = Fanconia Anemia
UPS = ubiquitin-proteasom-system

Please click here for a summary of the symposium as pdf file.

News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Ivana Franke

 

The Ubiquitin System

Stefan Jentsch, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany
Bernard Haendler, Bayer Schering Pharma AG, Berlin, Germany

Berlin, 9. - 11. April 2008

Programm als pdf

Vom 9. bis 11. April 2008 trafen sich etwa 60 Experten aus den USA, der Schweiz und Deutschland auf einem wissenschaftlichen Symposium der Schering Stiftung, um sich über neueste Erkenntnisse zur Bedeutung eines der wichtigsten biologischen Systeme – dem Ubiquitin-regulierten Proteinabbau – auszutauschen.

Ubiquitin ist ein kleines Markerpeptid bestehend aus 76 Aminosäuren. Es ist Bestandteil aller eukaryotischen Zellen. Sein aus dem Lateinischen abgeleiteter Name bedeutet "überall" und charakterisiert sein allgegenwärtiges Vorkommen in Organismen und Geweben.

In den achtziger Jahren des letzten Jahrhunderts entdeckten der US-Wissenschaftler Irwin Rose und seine israelischen Kollegen Avram Hershko und Aaron Ciechanover, dass der gezielte Abbau von Proteinen in einer Zelle beginnt, wenn sich Ubiquitine in einem mehrstufigen Prozess an ein Zielprotein binden. Ein mit einer Ubiquitinkette markiertes Protein wird von dem Proteinkomplex „Proteasom“ erkannt und in kleinere Einheiten, sogenannte Peptide, zerlegt. Das Ubiquitin wird dabei wieder freigesetzt und kann erneut in den zellulären „Protein-Abfallentsorgungsprozess“ eintreten. Neben dem Ubiquitin selbst spielen das ATP und die drei Enzyme E1, E2 und E3 eine wichtige Rolle in dem komplexen Ubiquitin-Proteasom-System. Das Forschertrio Rose, Hershko, Ciechanover erhielt als Anerkennung für seine Arbeiten zur Entdeckung des Ubiquitin-gesteuerten Proteinabbaus 2004 den Nobelpreis für Chemie.

„Mit diesem Nobelpreis wurde vielen Wissenschaftlern erst bewusst, welch enorme Bedeutung das Ubiquitin-System für die Zellbiologie hat“, so Professor Tony Hunter vom Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla, California, USA. „In den letzten 10 Jahren geriet es immer stärker in den Fokus vieler Forscher, und der Erkenntniszuwachs auf dem Gebiet war exponentiell. Heute wissen wir, dass Ubiquitin viel mehr kann als nur die Proteinzersetzung regulieren.“ Hunter selbst stieß 1998 eher zufällig auf das Ubiquitin-System, als einer seiner Post-doc-Studenten zu verstehen versuchte, wie Wachstumsfaktorrezeptoren durch die Wechselwirkung mit Ubiquitin-Ligasen herunter reguliert werden. So wurde das Ubiquitin-System über einen Umweg zum Forschungs¬gegenstand der Hunter-Gruppe. „Ich hoffe, dass die Grundlagenforschung auf dem Gebiet des Ubiquitin dazu führen wird, Zielproteine für die Entwicklung neuartiger Medikamente zu identifizieren, insbesondere gegen Krebs“, so Hunter auf dem Symposium. „Unsere Forschungen zeigen immer häufiger, dass es einen engen Zusammenhang zwischen Abweichungen im Ubiquitin-Proteasom-System und verschiedenen Krebserkrankungen gibt. Aber auch bei neurodegenerativen Prozessen spielt das Ubiquitinsystem eine Rolle. So akkumulieren zum Beispiel Ubiquitinkonjugate bei neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen in den Zellen. Was wir derzeit suchen, sind Wege, die derartige Akkumulationen verhindern.“ In seinem Einführungsvortrag hob Hunter das Wechselspiel zwischen Ansätzen aus der Grundlagenforschung und der angewandten Forschung bis hin zur Arzneimittelentwicklung hervor.

Das Ubiquitin-System gehört zu den evolutionär hoch konservierten Systemen. Daher lassen sich aus dem Studium einfacher Organismen wie der Hefe oder dem Fadenwurm (C. elegans) Vergleiche mit dem menschlichen Organismus ziehen. Derartige Untersuchungen zeigen, welche Signalwege für verschiedene Zelltypen und verschiedene Erkrankungen charakteristisch sind. So enthalten sehr viele Proteine Domänen, die mit der reversiblen Ubiquitinierung und Deubiquitinierung in Verbindung gebracht werden. Diese Erkenntnis motiviert Wissenschaftler aus der Molekularbiologie, der Genetik sowie der Onkologie immer stärker, die Funktionen und mechanistischen Verbindungen zum Ubiquitin-System in der Zellbiologie aufzuklären.

Professor Martin Eilers vom Institut für Molekularbiologie und Tumorforschung an der Philipps-Universität Marburg stellte auf dem Symposium neueste Erkenntnisse über das Zusammenwirken eines Onkogens, das eine Schlüsselrolle in der menschlichen Tumorgenese spielt, dem sogenannten MYC-Gen, und dem Ubiquitin-System vor. Das MYC-Gen kodiert für das Protein „Myc“, das in fast allen menschlichen Tumoren vorkommt. Es ist ein außergewöhnlicher Transkriptionsfaktor, der zahlreiche Zielgene aktivieren kann und dadurch die Zellvermehrung, das Wachstum und den Metabolismus bis hin zum Zelltod kontrolliert. Eilers beobachtete, dass durch die Polyubiquitinierung des Myc-Proteins nicht nur der Abbau durch das Proteasom signalisiert wird, sondern auch die transkriptionelle Aktivität des Myc-Proteins verstärkt und damit die Zellteilung angeregt wurde. Ziel seiner Arbeiten ist es, Signalwege, die zur Aktivierung der Myc-Funktion führen, zu blockieren.

Der Ubiquitin-Pathway reguliert eine Vielzahl verschiedener Signalprozesse in menschlichen Zellen und ist wichtig für Zellwachstum und Zelldifferenzierung sowie für die zelluläre Antwort auf Zerstörung. Darüber hinaus spielt er auch eine wichtige Rolle für DNA-Reparatur¬Prozesse. Dr. Alan d’Andrea vom Dana Faber Cancer Institute, Boston, Massachusetts, USA, erforscht eine sehr seltene Erkrankung - die Fanconia Anemia (FA). Kinder, die an FA erkrankt sind, haben einen Defekt im DNA-Reparatur-Mechanismus. In normalen Zellen sind für die DNA-Reparatur, neben anderen Prozessen, sowohl die Ubiquitinierung als auch die Deubiquitinierung von bestimmten Proteinen sehr wichtig. D’Andrea erklärte in Berlin: „Manche an FA erkrankte Patienten haben eine Störung im Ubiquitin-Pathway. Mit unserer Forschung konnten wir zeigen, an welchem Punkt dieser Pathway bei FA-Patienten gestört ist.“ D’Andrea erkannte, dass in normalen Zellen das Protein FANCD2 für den DNA-Reparatur-Prozess ubiquitiniert werden muss. Dieser Prozess ist bei Kindern mit FA, die eine Mutation im dafür verantwortlichen E3-Enzym haben, gestört. Sie haben ein erhöhtes Krebsrisiko und sprechen aufgrund der Defekte im DNA-Reparatur-Mechanismus sehr gut auf das Medikament „Cisplatin“ an. D´Andrea übertrug diese Erkenntnis auf Krebsarten, die andere Patienten treffen und stellte fest, dass in etwa 20 % aller Ovarialtumoren, 18 % aller Brusttumoren, 15 % der Lungentumore und aller HNSC-Tumore sowie in etwa 5 % aller Fälle von akuter myeloischer Leukämie ebenfalls eine Störung im DNA-Reparatur-Mechanismus auftritt. Das könnte bedeuten, dass auch diese Patienten auf eine Behandlung mit „Cisplatin“ gut reagieren würden. „Wenn also ein Patient an Krebs erkrankt, untersuchen wir den DNA-Reparaturmechanismus. Auf der Grundlage dieser Information können wir voraussagen, ob der Tumor gegenüber Cisplatin sensitiv ist oder nicht“, berichtete d’Andrea.

Der Nachwuchswissenschaftler Dr. Thorsten Hoppe vom Zentrum für Molekulare Neurobiologie Hamburg studiert die Regulierung der Polyubiquitinierung am nur einen Millimeter großen Fadenwurm C. elegans. Hoppe und sein Team beobachteten, dass die Ubiquitinierung eines molekularen Chaperons durch zwei bestimmte E3-Enzyme für die Funktion des Proteins Cdc-48/p97 essentiell ist. Zusammen mit dem p97-Protein spielt dieses Chaperon eine wichtige Rolle bei der Regulation der Muskelentwicklung. Bei Fehlfunktion des humanen p97-Proteins kann eine erblich bedingte Muskelerkrankung, die Einschlusskörpermyopathie, auftreten. Wie seine Kollegen hofft auch Hoppe, mit seiner Arbeit die Suche nach neuen Diagnoseverfahren und Therapien voranzubringen.

Nach zweieinhalb Tagen intensiven wissenschaftlichen Austausches ist Dr. Bernard Haendler von der Therapeutic Research Group Oncology der Bayer Schering Pharma AG und Mitorganisator des Symposiums sehr zufrieden. „Der Nobelpreis im Jahre 2004 und die Zulassung des ersten Medikamentes, das das Proteasom hemmen kann, wirkten damals wie ein Katalysator für die Ubiquitin-Forschung“, so der Biochemiker. „Nun geht es darum, Ansätze zu finden, die selektiver wirken. Wie dieses Symposium gezeigt hat, suchen Wissenschaftler aus der Grundlagen- und der angewandten Forschung weltweit im Forschungskreuz Biochemie/ Genetik nach geeigneten Targets im Ubiquitin-Proteasom-System, die für verschiedene Krebserkrankungen, Immundefekte, aber auch neurodegenerative Erkrankungen wie die Parkinson- oder Alzheimer-Krankheit, relevant sein könnten. Ich denke, dieses Symposium hat uns da ein Stück weitergebracht“.

Die Ergebnisse des Symposiums wurden im Springer Verlag publiziert und sind im Buchhandel erhältlich.

Die Schering Stiftung wurde im Herbst 2002 von der Schering AG errichtet. Hauptzweck der gemeinnützigen Stiftung ist die Förderung von Wissenschaft und Kunst. Die Schering Stiftung zeichnet Menschen und Institutionen aus, die Pionierarbeit geleistet und Maßstäbe gesetzt haben. Richtungsweisende Arbeiten aus Kunst und Wissenschaft will sie sichtbar machen und bewahren helfen. Mit der Förderung von grenzüberschreitenden Projekten und dem Austausch zwischen Wissenschaftlern und Künstlern trägt sie dazu bei, Horizonte zu erweitern. Um den Nachwuchs zu fördern, unterstützt die Stiftung besonders begabte, junge Wissenschaftler und Künstler durch die Vergabe von Preisen und Stipendien und bietet Workshops und Programme zu Themen jenseits der rein fachlichen Ausbildung an. Indem sie Kindern und Jugendlichen Einblicke in die Forschung gewährt und sie an kulturelle Fragestellungen heranführt, stärkt sie das Interesse der Jugend für Wissenschaft und Kultur.

Abkürzungen:
ATP = Adenosintriphosphat
C. elegans = Caenorhabditis elegans
FA = Fanconia Anemia
HNSC-Tumor = Head and neck squamous cell carcinoma
Pathway = Weg, Metabolismus, Bahn

Den Bericht vom Symposium können Sie sich hier als pdf herunterladen.


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni...
mehr