Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Organocatalysis

Dr. Hilmar Weinmann, Dr. Stefan Jaroch, Med. Chemistry 1, Bayer Schering Pharma AG, Berlin, Germany
Prof. Manfred T. Reetz, Dr. Benjamin List, Max Planck Institute for Coal Research, Mühlheim/Ruhr

Berlin, April 18 - 20, 2007

The search for new methods to prepare new chiral compounds has been a hot topic among chemists in both academia and industry for years. A recent trend is to employ small chiral organic molecules as catalysts for asymmetric transformations - a method that had been forgotten for some time – enantioselective organocatalysis.

Scientists from the US, the UK, Italy and Germany discussed the capacities of organocatalysis for developing new syntheses as well as clarifying reaction mechanisms on the scientific symposium „Organocatalysis“, organized by the Ernst Schering Foundation (ESF) from the 18th to the 20th of April in Berlin, Germany.

The first descriptions of the use of simple organic molecules as catalysts in asymmetric syntheses, date back to the last century. In the early seventies two research teams discovered, independently of each other, asymmetrical synthesis of steroid structures, catalyzed through the amino acid L-proline. One of these teams was part of the research labs of Schering AG in Berlin. Their pioneering contribution made history as the Hajos-Parrish-Eder-Sauer-Wiechert-reaction, being named after the discoverers both at Schering and Roche. However it seems the world was not ready for it yet. The field of organocatalysis only took off some thirty years later. „We had no idea at the time of how important our work was going to be for enantioselective organocatalysis“, says Dr. Ulrich Eder at the ESF-workshop. He and his fellow colleagues of the Schering team, Dr. Gerhard Sauer and Professor Rudolf Wiechert were honorary guests at the symposium. „The zeitgeist back then was a different one“, recalls Eder. „It was trendy to do catalytic synthesis with transition metals or enzymes.“

During his opening lecture Professor Benjamin List from Max-Planck-Institute for Coal Research in Mülheim, Germany, gave an overview over the broad spectrum of enantioselective, organocatalyzed reactions. He presented some of the latest research results and strategies like the concept of asymmetric counteranion-directed catalysis. „Why we organic chemists have mostly been using catalysts that are not from our own discipline is beyond me,“ says Professor List. „Amines and ketones are so familiar and they are easy to handle, cheap and readily available. Thus organocatalysts are so much more attractive compared to biological catalysts like enzymes and inorganic transition metal catalysts. I think that organocatalysts are going to revolutionize asymmetric synthesis.“

Organocatalysts are lower molecular weight, purely organic catalysts that are easy to synthesize, as well as cheap, stable and often non-toxic. They enable reactions in water, at room temperature and under normal atmospheric conditions. They are highly selective and efficient. In cascade reactions with simple organocatalysts several stereo centers can be established in one pot. Hence, organocatalysts have proven their versatility in the synthesis of natural products and biologically active compounds. They are not only attractive for lab research, but, due to their “green”  properties and handiness, also suitable for larger scale reactions.

Prof. Yian Shi of Colorado State University, Colorado, USA reported on the first industrial scale use of an organocatalyst for asymmetric epoxidation as well as its 2nd and 3rd generation successors discovered in his lab. The so called „Shi-epoxidation“ is used in a process to access chiral lactones. This reaction type generates epoxides with high enantiomeric excesses from trans-disubstituted and trisubstituted alkenes. Shi and his team could show the great potential of the new, fructose derived chiral ketone D-epoxone. First results of using this method on an industrial scale showed useful enantiomeric excess (ee=88%), high yields, and high chemical purity of the reaction product.

Enantioselective organocatalysts that have already made the transition from lab to industrial production were the topic of the talk given by Professor Harald Gröger from the Institute of Organic Chemistry of the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany. Companies like F. Hofmann-La Roche AG, Merck, Nagase, Rhodia ChiRex, Firmenich, Bayer AG, Degussa AG and DSM are experimenting with or using organocatalysts on a larger scale already. Using an alkylation reaction as an example, Gröger was able to show how production costs can be cut considerably using organocatalysts. „It is interesting to notice how many new organocatalytic syntheses come from industrial research groups“, says Gröger. „This leaves us thinking that we will have to expect an even greater use of these new syntheses in industrial production in the future.“ Professor Gröger, who has extensive experience in working in the industry, would like to see more co-operations between academic research projects and big chemical companies. „There will never be a timetable that states exactly up to where the academic part will extend and where and when industry should start getting involved“, thinks Gröger. „However cross-checks on a regular basis according to previously agreed criteria are important.“

Professor Thorsten Bach from the Technical University of Munich, Germany is interested in a rather novel area of enantioselective organocatalysis. He and his team were the first to report on radical reactions accelerated by enantioselective organocatalysis. Bach is currently assessing the impact of chiral additives on enantiomeric excess in photochemical reactions. Furthermore he works on immobilizing organocatalysts in order to enable easier recycling of catalysts. „The aim is to eventually work in a continuous flow reactor with immobilized catalysts“, explains Bach. In his talk given in Berlin, he asked to what degree the principles of asymmetric organocatalytic photoreaction might be exploited for the synthesis of complex molecules such as the pentacyclic alkaloid (+)-meloscine. While the current racemic and low -yielding synthesis requires 26 reaction steps, Bach pursues a shorter approach with an enantionselective, organocatalytic step as key step. He is only a few steps away from obtaining the naturally occurring enantiomer (+)-meloscine.

Professor Varinder K. Aggarwal of Bristol University, UK together with his college Professor Kevin Booker-Milburn developed a single pass continuous flow photochemical reactor for synthesizing bicyclic chiral sulfides on a large scale. These chiral sulfides are being used as organocatalysts in the synthesis of complex chiral target structures via sulfure ylide methodology or Morita-Baylis-Hillman-reaction. Apart from developing new synthesis pathways Aggarwal is further interested in shedding light on the mechanical aspects of organocatalysis.

Dr. Maurizio Benaglia of Milan University, Italy and Professor Scott J. Miller of Boston College, Massachusetts, USA both elaborated on another topic of organocatalysis - employing larger molecules. While Benaglia is working on immobilizing organocatalysts on a polyethylene glycol matrix, Miller examines the potentials of peptide catalysts for selective synthesis of complex molecules. The scientific part of the symposium was brought to an end by the talk of Professor Manfred Reetz of the Max-Planck-Institute for Coal Research in Mülheim, Germany, who elaborated on new methods of target-oriented evolution of more selective and stable enzymes. During the final discussion the co-organizer of the symposium Professor Reetz concluded „In science it’s a bit like in soccer: if you don’t train your players properly and more over, if you do not put them in their appropriate positions you won’t get any goals and you won’t succeed as a team.“

„The intensive exchange on the latest developments in the long neglected field of organocatalysis, at this years Ernst Schering Foundation symposium, has shown to us the great potential of this methodology in chemical synthesis.“, concluded Prof. Eckhard Ottow, head of medicinal chemistry of the Berlin Bayer Schering Pharma AG, as he ended the workshop. „I am especially pleased at the fact that so many young scientists from academia have presented their work at this symposium.“ His colleagues and workshop organizers, Dr. Hilmar Weinmann and Dr. Stefan Jaroch agreed and added that the interesting discussions and new impulses gained here will be very useful and inspiring for organocatalytic research.

News

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Organokatalyse

Dr. Hilmar Weinmann, Dr. Stefan Jaroch, Med. Chemistry 1, Bayer Schering Pharma AG, Berlin, Germany
Prof. Manfred T. Reetz, Dr. Benjamin List, Max Planck Institute for Coal Research, Mühlheim/Ruhr

Berlin, 18. - 20. April 2007

Programm als pdf


Chemiker in akademischen und industriellen Forschungslaboren müssen sich bei der Suche nach neuen Wirkstoffen immer komplexer werdenden Anforderungen stellen. Dabei gilt ihr besonderes Interesse Molekülen mit einem oder mehreren asymmetrischen Zentren. Auf klassischem Syntheseweg ist es jedoch schwierig, reine chirale Moleküle, so genannte Enantiomere, zu synthetisieren. Um keine racemischen Gemische verschiedener Enantiomere zu erhalten, wenden Chemiker jetzt gezielt eine lange in Vergessenheit geratene asymmetrische Synthesemethode an – die enantioselektive Organokatalyse.

Welches Potential die Organokatalyse bei der Entwicklung neuer Synthesen sowie bei der Aufklärung von Reaktionsmechanismen hat, diskutierten Experten aus den USA, Großbritannien, Deutschland und Italien auf dem Wissenschaftlichen Symposium der Schering Stiftung „Organocatalysis“, das vom 18. bis 20. April 2007 in Berlin stattfand.

Erste von einfachen organischen Molekülen katalysierte asymmetrische Synthesen wurden bereits im letzten Jahrhundert beschrieben. So entdeckten Anfang der siebziger Jahre zwei Forschergruppen unabhängig voneinander eine neuartige asymmetrische Synthese von Steroidteilstrukturen, die durch die Aminosäure L-Prolin katalysiert wurde. Eine dieser Gruppen arbeitete in den Forschungslaboratorien der Berliner Schering AG. Ihr Pionierbeitrag ging letztlich nach seinen Entdeckern benannt als Hajos-Parrish-Eder-Sauer-Wiechert-Reaktion in die Annalen der Chemie ein. Aber erst etwa dreißig Jahre später sollte sich das von ihnen angestoßene Forschungsgebiet der Organokatalyse rasant entwickeln. „Uns war damals gar nicht bewusst, wie wegweisend unsere Arbeit für die enantioselektive Organokatalyse sein würde“, sagte Dr. Ulrich Eder auf dem Symposium, der wie seine beiden damaligen Mitstreiter, Dr. Gerhard Sauer und Prof. Rudolf Wiechert, Ehrengast war. "Der Zeitgeist war damals einfach ein anderer und mit Übergangsmetallen oder Enzymen katalysierte Synthesen lagen mehr im Trend."

In seinem Eröffnungsvortrag gab Prof. Benjamin List vom Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, Mülheim, einen Überblick über das breite Spektrum von enantioselektiven, organokatalysierten Reaktionen und stellte neueste Forschungsergebnisse und Strategien wie z.B. das Konzept der Asymmetric Counteranion-directed Catalysis vor. „Warum wir organische Chemiker bisher bevorzugt Katalysatoren verwendet haben, die nicht aus unserer Disziplin kommen, ist mir bis heute ein Rätsel und das, obwohl uns Amine oder Ketone doch so vertraut sind“, resümierte List. „Ihre einfache Handhabung sowie die gute und kostengünstige Verfügbarkeit machen Organokatalysatoren gegenüber biologischen Katalysatoren wie Enzymen oder anorganischen Übergangsmetallkatalysatoren sehr attraktiv. Es sieht so aus, als ob die Organokatalysatoren die asymmetrische Synthese revolutionieren."
Organokatalysatoren sind niedermolekulare, rein organische Katalysatoren, die einfach zu synthetisieren, preiswert, stabil und oft ungiftig sind. Sie ermöglichen Reaktionen in wässriger Lösung, bei Raumtemperatur und in normaler Atmosphäre, sind hochselektiv und effizient. In Kaskadenreaktionen können mit einfachen Organokatalysatoren gleich mehrere Stereozentren aufgebaut werden. Sie sind daher nicht nur für Synthesen im Labor sondern auch für einen Einsatz im industriellen Maßstab in der Naturstoffchemie, bei der Wirkstoffentwicklung, in Mehr-Stufen-Reaktionen aber auch für Mehrkomponenten-Domino-Reaktionen interessant.

Prof. Yian Shi von der Colorado State University, Colorado, USA, berichtete über die erste industrielle Anwendung der von ihm entwickelten asymmetrischen Epoxidationsmethode zur Synthese eines chiralen Lactons sowie neue Organokatalysatoren für die „Shi-Epoxidation“. Bei dieser Reaktion werden Epoxide mit hohem Enantiomerenüberschuss aus trans-disubstituierten oder trisubstituierten Alkenen synthetisiert. Shi und sein Team konnten zeigen, dass der neue von Fruktose abgeleitete Organokatalysator D-Epoxon ein hohes Katalysepotential besitzt. Erste Ergebnisse für die Anwendung seiner Methode im industriellen Maßstab weisen einen hohen Enantiomerenüberschuss (ee=88%) bei guter Ausbeute und hoher chemischer Reinheit des Reaktionsproduktes auf.
Welche der enantioselektiven Organokatalysen bereits den Sprung vom akademischen Forschungslabor in die Industrie geschafft haben, war Thema des Beitrages von Prof. Harald Gröger vom Institut für Organische Chemie an der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg. Firmen wie F. Hofmann-La Roche AG, Merck, Nagase, Rhodia ChiRex, Firmenich, Bayer AG, Degussa AG und DSM erproben bzw. nutzen enantioselektive Organokatalysen bereits in größerem Maßstab. Am Beispiel einer Alkylierungsreaktion konnte er zeigen, dass sich durch Einsatz von Organokatalysatoren z.B. die Prozesskosten erheblich senken lassen. „Interessant ist, dass zunehmend von industriellen Gruppen neue organokatalytische Synthesen entwickelt werden“, so Gröger. „Das lässt erwarten, dass wir zukünftig einen noch größeren Anteil neuer Synthesen aus diesem Forschungsgebiet in der industriellen Anwendung sehen werden.“ Für die akademische Grundlagenforschung wünscht sich Gröger, der vor seiner Arbeit als Universitätsprofessor umfangreiche Industrieerfahrungen sammeln konnte, so früh wie möglich gemeinsame Entwicklungsprojekte mit industriellen Partnern. "Einen allgemein gültigen Zeitplan, bis wohin der akademische Part gehen und wann die Industrie einsteigen sollte, wird es nicht geben," so Gröger. "Wichtig ist eine regelmäßige Prüfung des Projektverlaufs an definierten Kriterien."

Ein auf dem Gebiet der enantioselektiven Organokatalyse eher randständiges Gebiet erforscht Prof. Thorsten Bach von der Technischen Universität München. Er und sein Team waren die Ersten, die über eine radikalische enantioselektive Organokatalyse berichteten. Bach untersucht derzeit, wie die Anwesenheit chiraler Einheiten den Enantiomerenüberschuss bei Photoreaktionen beeinflusst. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt seiner Forschung ist die Immobilisierung von Organokatalysatoren, um die bisher hohen Katalysatormengen zu reduzieren. „Ziel ist, kontinuierlich im Durchflussphotoreaktor mit immobilisiertem Katalysator zu arbeiten“, so Bach. In seinem Vortrag ging er der Frage nach, inwieweit sich das Prinzip der organokatalytischen Photoreaktion auf die Synthese komplexer Moleküle wie z. B. das pentacyclische Melodinus-Alkaloid (+)-Meloscin übertragen lässt. Während die klassische Synthese in einer 26-Stufen-Reaktion lediglich zum Racemat (+/-)-Meloscin in geringer Ausbeute führt, will er mit einem enantioselektiven, organokatalytischen Schritt zu Beginn der Synthese versuchen, den Reaktionsweg zu verkürzen und nur das natürlich vorkommende Enantiomer (+)-Meloscin herzustellen.

Prof. Varinder K. Aggarwal von der University of Bristol, Großbritannien, entwickelte zusammen mit seinem Kollegen, Professor Kevin Booker-Milburn, einen singlepass-Durchflussphotoreaktor zur Synthese von bicyclischen, chiralen Sulfiden in größerem Maßstab. Diese chiralen Sulfide werden als Organokatalysatoren bei der Synthese von komplexen chiralen Zielstrukturen via Schwefel-Ylid-Methode oder auch via Morita-Baylis-Hillmann-Reaktion eingesetzt. Aggarwals Interesse gilt neben der Entwicklung neuer Synthesen vor allem den mechanistischen Aspekten der Organokatalyse.

Dr. Maurizio Benaglia von der University of Milano, Italien, und Prof. Scott J. Miller vom Boston College, Massachusetts, USA beleuchteten eine weitere Facette des vielfältigen Forschungsfeldes – die Organokatalyse mit Makromolekülen. Währende Benaglias die Organokatalyse an einer Polethylenglycol-Matrix erforscht, untersucht Miller das Potential von Peptidkatalysatoren für die selektiven Synthese komplexer Moleküle. Den wissenschaftlichen Teil des Symposiums beschloss Prof. Manfred Reetz vom Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, Mülheim, der in seinem Beitrag über neue Methoden für die zielgerichtete Evolution von Enzymen hin zu besserer Selektivität und Stabilität referierte. In der Abschlussdiskussion zog der Mitorganisator des Symposiums rhetorisch Bilanz. "In der Forschung ist es letztlich wie beim Fußball", sagte Reetz. "Wer seine Spieler nicht gut trainiert und vor allem nicht richtig positioniert, wird nicht genug Tore schießen und letztendlich als Team nicht erfolgreich sein."

„Der intensive Austausch über neueste Forschungsergebnisse der jahrzehntelang wenig beachteten Organokatalyse auf dem Symposium hat gezeigt, welches Entwicklungspotential in dieser Synthesemethode steckt“, beendete Dr. Eckhard Ottow, Leiter der Medizinalchemie Berlin der Bayer Schering Pharma AG, das Symposium. „Besonders freut mich, dass so viele junge Forscher aus Akademia und Industrie auf diesem Symposium vorgetragen haben.“ Seine Kollegen und Mitorganisatoren des Symposiums, Dr. Hilmar Weinmann und Dr. Stefan Jaroch, äußerten sich ebenfalls zufrieden über den regen wissenschaftlichen Austausch, die interessanten Diskussionen und die neuen Impulse für die organokatalytische Forschung.


Aktuelles

Wie frei sind wir wirklich?

17.02.2017, Berlin | Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet...
mehr

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2017

16.02.2017, Berlin | Brauchen wir Spielplätze für unsere Nutztiere? Wie werden 7 Milliarden Menschen satt? Und...
mehr

In Spandau startet die Al-Farabi Musikakademie

02.01.2017, Berlin | Eine sorgenfreie und unbeschwerte Jugend ist nicht für alle Kinder eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach...
mehr