Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

New Art in the New Chambers!

July 19, 2008, Potsdam, Park Sanssouci, New Chambers | From July 19 through September 28, 2008, the former guesthouse of Frederick the Great opens its doors to contemporary art. Jointly organized by FLORA 16 - Office for Art and Communication and the Prussian Castles and Gardens Foundation in Berlin-Brandenburg (SPSG) and curated by Ellen Kobe and Dr. Marvin Altner, the exhibition "New Art in the New Chambers!" presents pictures, sculptures and installations by 20 contemporary artists from Germany and abroad.

Neue Kunst in den Neuen Kammern
Neuen Kammern mit Historischer Mühle

For the first time, the SPSG opens the doors of this venue to contemporary art.

"New Art in the New Chambers!" makes for a situation of enticing ambiguity: artists integrate their works into the historical rooms, (almost) without touching them. The artistic interventions comment on, interpret and ironize the impressive historical architecture and lifestyle of the 18th century - which results in an exciting dialogue between the past and the present. Most of the 20 artists have created their works specifically for the chambers and halls of the former guesthouse. In all cases, the selected works from the fields of painting, sculpture, performance, architecture, textile production and stage design take as their subject aspects of the place and its history.

The exhibition is accompanied by a series of events including talks with the participating artists and a demonstration of the work of a copyist in the Picture Gallery of Sanssouci. At the closing event, curator and artist Ellen Kobe will stage a performance with musical accompaniment to reflect on both the lives of the historical inhabitants of Sanssouci and the museum activities which characterize the current use of the palace.

An exhibition catalogue (edited by Ellen Kobe and Marvin Altner) will be published in August 2008.


Exhibition dates: July 19 - September 28, 2008
Potsdam, Park Sanssouci, New Chambers
Opening hours: Tue - Sun, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Admission fee: 3 euro / 2.50 euro (discounted tickets)
Additional information can be found at www.spsg.de.

Press conference: Thursday, July 17, 2008, 11:00 a.m.

Click here to download the press release on the exhibition as PDF file (in German only).
Participating artists:

Julia Büttelmann (Berlin), Eggs & Bitschin, Bonnard Woeffray (Sion/Switzerland), Jean Louis Garnell (Paris), Ruth Handschin (Zurich), Knut Helms (Berlin), Josh Kerner (Philadelphia/USA), Ellen Kobe (Berlin), Coco Kühn (Berlin), Annette Munk (Berlin), Simone Neidhard (Neuenstein), Anne Rosin (Berlin), Josef Michael Ruhl (Herbstein), Elisabeth Sonneck (Berlin), Sebastian Stiebert (Karlsruhe), Thorsten Streichardt (Berlin), 3 + x = Christina Kautz, Simone Neidhard, Uta Pottgiesser (Berlin/Neuenstein/Detmold), Falk Weiß (Berlin), Käthe Wenzel (Berlin), Dirk Westermann (Berlin), Anna Zosik (Berlin)

 

 

News

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Digital Salon: A Soft Spot for Cyborgs

22.05.2017, Berlin | Smart robot hands, artificial legs, printable organs: Are implants the panacea of the...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Neue Kunst in den Neuen Kammern!

19.07.2008, Potsdam, Park Sanssouci, Neue Kammern | Das ehemalige Gästeschloss Friedrichs des Großen öffnet sich vom 19. Juli bis zum 28. September 2008 für die zeitgenössische Kunst. In der gemeinsamen Ausstellung „Neue Kunst in den Neuen Kammern!“ von FLORA 16 – Büro für Kunst und Kommunikation und der Stiftung Preußische Schlösser und Gärten Berlin-Brandenburg (SPSG), kuratiert von Ellen Kobe und Dr. Marvin Altner, werden Bilder, Skulpturen und Installationen von 20 zeitgenössischen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus dem In- und Ausland präsentiert.

Neue Kunst in den Neuen Kammern
Neuen Kammern mit Historischer Mühle
Erstmalig öffnet die SPSG damit die Tore ihrer Schlossräume für zeitgenössische Kunst.

„Neue Kunst in den Neuen Kammern!“ schafft eine Situation von reizvoller Mehrdeutigkeit: Künstlerinnen und Künstler integrieren ihre Werke in die historischen Räume, (fast) ohne sie zu berühren. Die künstlerischen Interventionen kommentieren, interpretieren und ironisieren die eindrucksvolle historische Architektur und Lebenswelt des 18. Jahrhunderts – ein spannungsreicher Dialog zwischen Vergangenheit und Gegenwart entsteht. Die meisten der 20 KünstlerInnen haben ihre Arbeiten eigens für die Kammern und Säle des einstigen Gästeschlosses geschaffen. In allen Fällen wurden Werke aus den Bereichen Malerei, Skulptur, Performance, Fotografie, Architektur, Textilherstellung und Bühnenbild ausgewählt, die Aspekte des Ortes und seiner Geschichte thematisieren.

Die Präsentation der Werke wird durch ein Rahmenprogramm begleitet, das unter anderem Gespräche mit den beteiligten Künstlerinnen und Künstlern sowie die Vorführung der Arbeit eines Kopisten in der Bildergalerie von Sanssouci umfasst. Zur Finissage wird die Kuratorin und Künstlerin Ellen Kobe in einer Performance mit musikalischer Begleitung historische Verhaltensweisen der Bewohner von Sanssouci sowie den Museumsbetrieb, der heute das Leben in diesem Schloss bestimmt, reflektieren.

Ein Katalog zur Ausstellung (Hrsg.: Ellen Kobe und Marvin Altner) erscheint im August 2008.

Ausstellung: 19. Juli - 28. September 2008
Potsdam, Park Sanssouci, Neue Kammern
Öffnungszeiten: Di - So 10 – 18 Uhr
Eintritt: 3 Euro / ermäßigt 2,50 Euro
Weitere Informationen unter www.spsg.de.

Pressekonferenz: Donnerstag, 17. Juli 2008, 11 Uhr
Die Pressemitteilung zur Ausstellung können Sie sich hier als pdf herunterladen.

Beteiligte Künstlerinnen und Künstler:
Julia Büttelmann (Berlin), Eggs & Bitschin, Bonnard Woeffray (Sion/Schweiz), Jean Louis Garnell (Paris), Ruth Handschin (Zürich), Knut Helms (Berlin), Josh Kerner (Philadelphia/USA), Ellen Kobe (Berlin), Coco Kühn (Berlin), Annette Munk (Berlin), Simone Neidhard (Neuenstein), Anne Rosin (Berlin), Josef Michael Ruhl (Herbstein), Elisabeth Sonneck (Berlin), Sebastian Stiebert (Karlsruhe), Thorsten Streichardt (Berlin), 3 + x = Christina Kautz, Simone Neidhard, Uta Pottgiesser (Berlin/Neuenstein/Detmold), Falk Weiß (Berlin), Käthe Wenzel (Berlin), Dirk Westermann (Berlin), Anna Zosik (Berlin)

 

 

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr