Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

The Ernst Schering Foundation and the Berlin Museum of Prints and Drawings cooperate to build a collection of contemporary art on paper

On October 22, 2008, Klaus-Peter Schuster, general director of the Berlin State Museums, and Heike Catherina Mertens, arts & culture director of the Ernst Schering Foundation, signed a long-term cooperation agreement to build a collection of contemporary artworks on paper, which the Ernst Schering Foundation will buy for the Berlin Museum of Prints and Drawings starting in 2008. The purchases of drawings and prints by international artists or by artists working in or connected to Berlin will be made in close cooperation with the director of the Museum of Prints and Drawings, Professor Dr. Heinrich Schulze Altcappenberg, and the curator of contemporary art at the Museum of Prints and Drawings, Dr. Andreas Schalhorn. The Ernst Schering Foundation will donate the artworks to the Museum of Prints and Drawings on permanent loan.

“With this cooperation, the Foundation pursues its goal of providing long-term support to contemporary artists and making their works accessible to a larger public,“ says Heike Catherina Mertens. “In addition, as a foundation under private law, we take it to be our responsibility to support public museums to increase their holdings of contemporary art. Because of the modest acquisition budgets of the museums and the exploding art market, there is a risk that, without private support, the current international art production in Berlin will not be sufficiently represented in the state collections.“

For Heinrich Schulze Altcappenberg, director of the Museum of Prints and Drawings, the cooperation with the Ernst Schering Foundation “significantly strengthens the holdings of the contemporary art collection at the Museum of Prints and Drawings. Given our extensive collections of prints and drawings from the Middle Ages until today, long-term additions in the field of contemporary art – as are made possible by the partnership with the Ernst Schering Foundation – are an absolute stroke of luck. This is even more the case now that the usual state acquisition funds have become very insecure.“

The Ernst Schering Foundation was established by Schering AG, Berlin, in 2002 and aims to promote the sciences and the arts, especially the life sciences and contemporary art. It pursues these goals by honoring groundbreaking work, e.g. by awarding the prestigious Ernst Schering Prize and the Ernst Schering Art Award. A particular focus is on inter- and multidisciplinary projects, especially at the intersection of science and art. In addition, the Ernst Schering Foundation promotes the scientific and cultural education of children and youth and the dialogue between science and society. The Foundation has an endowment of € 35 million.

The Museum of Prints and Drawings was founded in 1831 as the third institution of (today’s) Berlin State Museums. The basis of the collection was a number of drawings and watercolors acquired by the Great Elector in 1652. Comprising some 550,000 prints and 110,000 drawings as well as a collection of fine book illustrations, the Museum of Prints and Drawings is one of the four largest graphic arts museums in the world. Its holdings of miniatures, watercolors, pastel drawings, oil sketches, drawings and prints cover 1,000 years of European and international art, cultural and media history – from medieval times to the present.

Kunstsammlung der Schering Stiftung

 

Kunstsammlung der Schering Stiftung

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Die Schering Stiftung und das Berliner Kupferstichkabinett kooperieren beim Aufbau einer Sammlung zeitgenössischer Kunst auf Papier

Mit den Unterschriften des Generaldirektors der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin, Peter-Klaus Schuster, und des Vorstands Kultur der Schering Stiftung, Heike Catherina Mertens, wurde am 22.10.2008 eine langjährige Kooperation zum Aufbau einer Sammlung zeitgenössischer Arbeiten auf Papier besiegelt, die die Schering Stiftung ab 2008 für das Berliner Kupferstichkabinett erwerben wird. Der Ankauf von Zeichnungen und Druckgraphiken internationaler, in Berlin wirkender oder mit Berlin verbundener Künstler erfolgt in enger Abstimmung mit dem Direktor des Berliner Kupferstichkabinetts, Professor Dr. Heinrich Schulze Altcappenberg, und dem Kurator für zeitgenössische Kunst am Kupferstichkabinett, Dr. Andreas Schalhorn.

„Mit dieser Kooperation verfolgen wir unser Stiftungsziel, zeitgenössische Künstler nachhaltig zu fördern und ihre Werke einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen“, erläutert Heike Catherina Mertens und fügt hinzu: „Ferner sehen wir uns als privatrechtliche Stiftung in der Verantwortung, die öffentlichen Museen bei der Erweiterung ihrer Sammlung aktueller Kunst zu unterstützen. Aufgrund der geringen Ankaufetats der Museen sowie der rasanten Preisentwicklung auf dem Kunstmarkt droht ohne private Unterstützung die Gefahr, dass die aktuelle internationale Kunstproduktion in Berlin in nicht ausreichend repräsentativen Maße Eingang in die staatlichen Sammlungen findet.“

Für Heinrich Schulze Altcappenberg, den Direktor des Kupferstichkabinetts, bedeutet die Kooperation mit der Schering Stiftung „eine wesentliche Stärkung des Ausbaus der Sammlung zeitgenössischer Kunst am Kupferstichkabinett. Vor dem Hintergrund unserer reichen Bestände der Kunst auf Papier vom Mittelalter bis heute sind langfristig angelegte Ergänzungen im Bereich der Gegenwartskunst, wie sie das partnerschaftliche Engagement der Schering Stiftung ermöglichen, ein absoluter Glücksfall. Dies gilt umso mehr, als reguläre staatliche Erwerbungsmittel sehr unsicher geworden sind.“

Die Schering Stiftung wurde 2002 durch die Schering AG, Berlin errichtet und dient der Förderung von Wissenschaft und Kultur mit Schwerpunkten auf den Lebenswissenschaften sowie der zeitgenössischen Kunst. Diese Ziele verfolgt sie durch Auszeichnung richtungweisender Arbeiten, u. a. durch Verleihung des renommierten Ernst Schering Preises sowie des Förderpreises Bildende Kunst. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt auf Projekten in Grenzbereichen, insbesondere an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft und Kunst. Weiterhin fördert die Schering Stiftung die wissenschaftliche und kulturelle Bildung von Kindern und Jugendlichen und unterstützt den Dialog zwischen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft. Das Stiftungsvermögen beträgt 35 Mio. €.

Das Kupferstichkabinett wurde 1831 als dritte Einrichtung der (heutigen) Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin gegründet. Einen Grundstock bildeten dabei die Erwerbungen an Zeichnungen und Aquarellen durch den Großen Kurfürsten im Jahr 1652. Mit rund 550.000 Druckgraphiken und 110.000 Zeichnungen sowie einer Sammlung feiner Buchmalerei gehört das Kupferstichkabinett weltweit zu den vier größten Museen der Graphischen Künste. Seine Bestände an Miniaturen, Aquarellen, Pastellen, Ölskizzen, Zeichnungen und Druckgraphik umspannen 1000 Jahre europäischer und internationaler Kunst-, Kultur- und Mediengeschichte – vom Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart.

Kunstsammlung der Schering Stiftung

 

Kunstsammlung der Schering Stiftung

Aktuelles

Die Debatte – Die Macht der Meinungsforschung

01.08.2017, Berlin | Das politische Jahr 2017 bewegt sich auf den Höhepunkt zu: Die Bundestagswahlen am...
mehr

Digitaler Salon: Bei Nebenwirkungen fragen Sie Ihren Algorithmus

01.08.2017, Berlin | Werden wir durch personalisierte Tabletten und Nano-Roboter künftig länger und besser leben? Welchen...
mehr

"Women" von Sasha Waltz

19.07.2017, Berlin | Sasha Waltz & Guests werden im Rahmen von „Tanz im August“ am 30....
mehr