Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

re.act.feminism

Performance Art of the 1960s and 1970s Today

01.12.2008, Berlin | From December 13, 2008, until February 8, 2009, the Berlin Academy of Arts hosts the international performance project “re.act.feminism,“ which presents an exemplary overview of gender-critical performance art of the 1960s and 1970s and its current “revival“ through re-enactments and re-appropriations by young contemporary female artists.

Kate_Gilmore_Star_Bright_Star_Might_2007_Video_Still

From December 13, 2008, until February 8, 2009, the Berlin Academy of Arts hosts the international performance project “re.act.feminism,“ which presents an exemplary overview of gender-critical performance art of the 1960s and 1970s and its current “revival“ through re-enactments and re-appropriations by young contemporary female artists.

During the 1960s and 1970s, performance art was the ideal medium to explore the (female) body beyond ascription and distortion. Moreover, performance art was a medium for collective and political activity, and the newly emerging video art was an ideal way to capture those mostly spontaneous works on film.

Through films, photographs, objects and installations, the exhibition project “re.act.feminism” presents pathbreaking performances by more than 20 international artists whose artistic positions have contributed to the social transformations of those two decades in the Western capitals of art as well as in Eastern and Southeastern Europe. At the same time, the exhibition explores contemporary developments and strategies for re-appropriation, re-enactments and archival projects. The video archive offers visitors an opportunity to view approximately 70 video performances and documentations. Live performances and a conference in January 2009 complement the program. One of the participating artists is Tanja Ostojić from Serbia, the current recipient of the Köstlin Anniversary Fellowship of the Ernst Schering Foundation, who will also present a live performance at the Academy of Arts in January 2009.

Following the exhibition in Berlin, the video archive will travel to the “International Festival of Contemporary Arts – City of Women“ in Ljubljana in the spring of 2009 and to the Kunsthaus Erfurt.

The Ernst Schering Foundation supports this project curated by Bettina Knaup and Beatrice E. Stammer, since it is both a comprehensive retrospective of feminist performance art of the 1960s and 1970s and a forum for contemporary performance approaches which deal, in partly radical and experimental ways, with the female body and the role of women in society. The dialogue between two generations of female artists thus enables a new perspective on the artistic strategies of performance artists in the United States, Western, Eastern and Southeastern Europe and the former GDR.

Exhibition

December 13, 2008 – February 8, 2009
Opening: December 12, 2008, 7 p.m.
Live Performances and Conference: January 22-25, 2009

Berlin Academy of Arts
Hanseatenweg 10
10557 Berlin

A project by cross links e.V., curated by Bettina Knaup and Beatrice E. Stammer

Movie clips from the live-performances and the collected speeches of the Congress (as audio files) are available on the website www.reactfeminism.org

Photos:
Picture of the introduction: Kate Gilmore: Star Bright, Star Might, 2007, Video Still, Courtesy: the artist and Smith-Stewart Gallery © Kate Gilmore
Picture above: Ewa Partum: Poem by Ewa, 1971 © Ewa Partum/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2008
Picture below: Esther Ferrer: Intimo y Personal Performance, MACBA Barcelona 1998 © Esther Ferrer

Ewa Partum_Poem by Ewa_1971_copyright Ewa Partum,VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2008A.jpg

 

Esther Ferrer_Intimo y Personal_Performance, MACBA Barcelona 1998_Copyright Esther Ferrer1.jpg

 

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

re.act.feminism

Performancekunst der 1960er und 70er Jahre heute

01.12.2008, Berlin | Vom 13. Dezember 2008 bis zum 8. Februar 2009 zeigt das internationale Performanceprojekt „re.act.feminism“ in der Akademie der Künste, Berlin, seine exemplarische Bestandsaufnahme genderkritischer Performancekunst der 1960er und 70er Jahre und ihrer aktuellen ‚Wiederkehr’ in Form von Re-Inszenierungen und Aneignungen durch junge Künstlerinnen heute.

Kate_Gilmore_Star_Bright_Star_Might_2007_Video_Still

Die Performance war in den 1960er und 70er Jahren das ideale Medium für die Erforschung des (weiblichen) Körpers jenseits von Zuschreibung und Deformation und stand für den Versuch, Identitäten spielerisch oder gewaltvoll neu zu erfinden. Nicht zuletzt war Performance ein Medium für kollektive und politische Aktion und die neu entdeckte Videokunst eine ideale Möglichkeit, diese meist spontanen Arbeiten filmisch festzuhalten.

Das Ausstellungsprojekt „re.act.feminism“ zeigt in Filmen, Fotos, Objekten und Installationen wegweisende Performances von mehr als 20 internationalen Künstlerinnen, die den gesellschaftlichen Aufbruch dieser beiden Jahrzehnte in den westlichen Kunstzentren wie auch in Ost- und Südosteuropa mit ihren künstlerischen Positionen mitgestaltet haben. Gleichzeitig untersucht die Ausstellung die zeitgenössische Szene und stellt aktuelle Strategien von Wiederaneignung, archivarischen Projekten und Re-Inszenierungen vor. Ein Videoarchiv ermöglicht selbständige Einblicke in ca. 70 Videoperformances und Dokumentationen. Live-Performances und eine Tagung im Januar 2009 runden das Programm ab. Eine der beteiligten jungen Künstlerinnen ist die serbische Künstlerin Tanja Ostojic, die derzeit das von der Schering Stiftung vergebene Köstlin Jubiläumsstipendium erhält. Auch sie ist im Januar 2009 mit einer Live Performance in der Akademie der Künste zu sehen.

Im Anschluss an die Berliner Ausstellung wird das Videoarchiv im Frühjahr 2009 auf dem „International Festival of Contemporary Arts - City of Women“ in Ljubljana sowie im Kunsthaus Erfurt präsentiert.

Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt dieses engagierte Projekt von Bettina Knaup und Beatrice E. Stammer, da es zugleich eine umfassende Retrospektive der feministisch beeinflussten Performancekunst der 1960er und 70er Jahre als auch ein Forum zeitgenössischer Performanceansätze darstellt, die sich in teils radikaler und experimenteller Weise mit dem weiblichen Körper und der Rolle der Frau in der Gesellschaft auseinandersetzen. Der Dialog zweier Künstlerinnengenerationen erweitert so einen neuen Blick auf die künstlerischen Strategien der Performerinnen in den USA, in West-, Ost- und Südosteuropa sowie in der ehemaligen DDR.

Programm re.act.feminism

Ausstellung:
13. Dezember 2008 bis 8. Februar 2009
Eröffnung: 12. Dezember 2008, 19 Uhr
Live-Performances und Tagung: 22. bis 25. Januar 2009

Akademie der Künste Berlin
Hanseatenweg 10
10557 Berlin

Ein Projekt von cross links e.V., kuratiert von Bettina Knaup und Beatrice E. Stammer

Filmausschnitte aus den live-Performances und die gesammelten Vorträge des Kongresses (als Audiofiles) finden Sie auf der Website www.reactfeminism.org

Fotos:
Einleitender Kurztext: Kate Gilmore: Star Bright, Star Might, 2007, Video Still, Courtesy: die Künstlerin und Smith-Stewart Gallery © Kate Gilmore
Bild rechts oben: Ewa Partum: Poem by Ewa, 1971 © Ewa Partum/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2008
Bild rechts unten: Esther Ferrer: Intimo y Personal Performance, MACBA Barcelona 1998 © Esther Ferrer

Ewa Partum_Poem by Ewa_1971_copyright Ewa Partum,VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2008A.jpg

 

Esther Ferrer_Intimo y Personal_Performance, MACBA Barcelona 1998_Copyright Esther Ferrer1.jpg

 

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: “Young Investigator Fund” für innovative Forschungsideen

22.03.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt erfolgsversprechende Forschungsideen junger WissenschaftlerInnen mit einer Anschubfinanzierung. Gefördert werden...
mehr

Leere Meere oder wildes Leben? Der Weltozean im 21. Jahrhundert

08.03.2017, Berlin | Unsere Weltmeere sind mit Abstand das größte Ökosystem unserer Erde. Sie bedecken mehr...
mehr

Weiter Schreiben. Ein literarisches Portal für AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten

02.03.2017, Berlin | Das Projekt „Weiter Schreiben“ veröffentlicht Texte von AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten und verleiht ihnen...
mehr