Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2008

Professor Steffen Gay talks about “Epigenetics in Rheumatoid Arthritis”

Professor Steffen Gay received his clinical training in Leipzig, Wuerzburg and Munich and then went on to the University of Alabama in Birmingham, USA, before becoming, in 1996, head of the Department of Rheumatology at the University Hospital of Zurich, one of the most renowned centers for experimental rheumatology in Europe.

In addition to his research, Professor Gay’s main focus is on promoting young medical scientists. Thanks to his efforts, the scientific centers in Alabama and Switzerland, where Gay works, have been designated so-called “WHO Collaborating Centers,“ which makes it possible for them to take part in international academic exchanges with countless universities – in particular exchanges of fellowships recipients and researchers in rheumatology.

In the Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2008, Professor Gay will talk about “Epigenetics in Rheumatoid Arthritis“ and explain the latest findings of his research group on the molecular and cellular basis of joint destruction in rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis and ankylosing spondylitis. Special emphasis is given to the epigenetic mechanisms of gene regulation.

The lecture, which has been sponsored by the Ernst Schering Foundation since 2008, takes place at the DRFZ, in connection with the presentation of the Avrion Mitchison Prize. With this annual prize, the DRFZ and the Ernst Schering Foundation honor an outstanding contribution by a young scientist to experimental or clinical rheumatism research. This year’s prize winner is Dr. Kirsten Neubert.

When:
December 2, 2008
5:00 p.m.: Presentation of the Avrion Mitchison Prize 2008 to Dr. Kirsten Neubert, followed by a lecture by the prize winner
6:10 p.m.: Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2008 by Prof. Dr. Steffen Gay on “Epigenetics in Rheumatoid Arthritis”

Where:
German Rheumatism Research Center Berlin
Charitéplatz 1
10117 Berlin

For additional information, please contact

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or visit www.drfz.de


News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2008

Professor Steffen Gay referiert zum Thema „Epigenetics in Rheumatoid Arthritis“.

Gay, der nach seiner klinischen Ausbildung in Leipzig, Würzburg und München an die University of Alabama in Birmingham, USA, ging, ist seit 1996 Leiter des Departments für Rheumatologie an der Universität Zürich – eines der renommiertesten Zentren für Experimentelle Rheumatologie in Europa.

Neben seiner Tätigkeit in der Forschung ist die Förderung des medizinischen Nachwuchses von zentraler Bedeutung für Professor Gay. Durch sein Zutun wurden die wissenschaftlichen Zentren in Alabama und der Schweiz, in denen Gay tätig ist, zu so genannten „WHO Collaborating Center“ berufen, was den internationalen akademischen Austausch mit zahllosen Universitäten ermöglicht – insbesondere auch den Austausch von Stipendiaten und Wissenschaftlern der deutschen Rheumatologie.

Für die Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2008 hält Professor Gay einen Vortrag zum Thema „Epigenetics in Rheumatoid Arthritis“ und erläutert die neusten Ergebnisse seiner Forschungsgruppe auf dem Gebiet der molekularen und zellularen Gelenkzerstörung in Zusammenhang mit rheumatischer Arthritis, Arthrose und Spondylitis ankylopoetica. Hierbei geht er insbesondere auf die epigenetischen Mechanismen von Erbgutanordnungen ein.

Die Lecture, seit 2008 von der Schering Stiftung unterstützt, findet zusammen mit der Verleihung des Avrion-Mitchison-Preises im DRFZ statt. Mit dem Preis zeichnen das DRFZ und die Schering Stiftung jedes Jahr eine herausragende Arbeit eines jungen Wissenschaftlers zur experimentellen oder klinischen Rheumaforschung aus. Die diesjährige Preisträgerin ist Frau Dr. Kirsten Neubert.

Termin:
2. Dezember 2008
17.00 Uhr: Verleihung des Avrion-Mitchison-Preises 2008 an Dr. Kirsten Neubert mit anschließendem Vortrag der Preisträgerin
18.10 Uhr: Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2008 von Prof. Dr. Steffen Gay zum Thema „Epigenetics in Rheumatoid Arthritis“

Veranstaltungsort:
Deutsches Rheuma-Forschungszentrum Berlin
Charitéplatz 1
10117 Berlin

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter:
www.drfz.de


Aktuelles

Wie frei sind wir wirklich?

17.02.2017, Berlin | Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet...
mehr

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2017

16.02.2017, Berlin | Brauchen wir Spielplätze für unsere Nutztiere? Wie werden 7 Milliarden Menschen satt? Und...
mehr

In Spandau startet die Al-Farabi Musikakademie

02.01.2017, Berlin | Eine sorgenfreie und unbeschwerte Jugend ist nicht für alle Kinder eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach...
mehr