Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Cooperation at a Crossroads? For Opportunities and Risks, Ask Your Artist or Scientist. Experts meet for a status workshop in Berlin on December 8-9, 2008

Art and science have always been interconnected by a history of uneasy yet productive relations. Since 2005, the “Forum on Science and Art” of the Ernst Schering Foundation has focused on the contemporary development of this interrelationship. After three years of interdisciplinary study and work, a status workshop now took stock of the current situation. At the invitation of the Ernst Schering Foundation, 35 scientists, curators, artists and art historians with a background in cultural studies met in Berlin on December 8-9, 2008 to take up the challenges of an increased cooperation between science and art.

27web.jpg

Art and science have always been interconnected by a history of uneasy yet productive relations. Since 2005, the “Forum on Science and Art” of the Ernst Schering Foundation has focused on the contemporary development of this interrelationship. After three years of interdisciplinary study and work, a status workshop now took stock of the current situation. At the invitation of the Ernst Schering Foundation, 35 scientists, curators, artists and art historians with a background in cultural studies met in Berlin on December 8-9, 2008 to take up the challenges of an increased cooperation between science and art.

The workshop both reflected on new forms of cooperation between artists and (natural) scientists and examined the new possibilities of an interdisciplinary transfer of knowledge with regard to the reciprocal processes of influence, reflection and appropriation of scientific and artistic cognitive processes and methodologies. In this context, one aspect that was inevitably highlighted was the notion of artistic research. On the one hand, artistic means are employed to try out forms and strategies of generating knowledge and experiences and contrast them with scientific procedures, on the other hand, the appropriation of scientific approaches and methods leads to new ways of artistic expression. This also moves the artistic focus away from the production of a work of art or image to the documentation of processes such as artistic and scientific working methods. That is, artistic strategies become instruments of gaining knowledge, while scientific processes and methods themselves serve as media of artistic expression. Whether art is able to meet the expectations of science – namely, that it applies its competencies in the development of images also to the communication of science and the ‘public understanding of science’ – was one of the questions discussed in the workshop.

The developments in the field of artistic research and in other areas contain both opportunities and challenges for the “operating system of art,” in particular for established art institutions, but also for modern scientific research. Although SciArt projects and exhibitions are booming right now – with topics ranging from art in space to art and climate change and art from the lab –, the encounter and intercommunication between art and science have to be continually re-negotiated. The possibilities of institutional collaborations (e.g. integration of interdisciplinarity in the design of training and study programs) and the conditions of artistic and scientific production have to be examined in light of the internationalization of the art market and the exhibition industry as well as of scientific research and the distribution of financial resources.

As a result, the Status Workshop on Science and Art focussed on the following questions:
  • What are the actual interactions between the systems of art and science?
  • Which relationships do currently exist between artistic and scientific working processes and methodological approaches?
  • How can we adequately describe the economic, political, technological or scientific conditions relevant to the relationship between science and art?
  • Which strategies for cooperation and the mutual transfer of knowledge are conceivable and desirable for both art and science in the future?

These are some of the questions that have been addressed at the status workshop. The meeting has been run according to the Open Space method; introductory presentations by six renowned artists and scientists were followed by workshop discussions. The speakers were:

Frank Rösl, Head of the Division of Viral Transformation Mechanisms, German Cancer Research Center, Heidelberg
“Creativity, Art and Basic Research: Innovation through Synthesis?“

Christa Sommerer, Artist and Head of the Interface Culture Program, University of Art and Industrial Design, Linz
“The Art and Science of Interaction”

Susanne Witzgall, Curator and Research Associate, Department of Art History, Academy of Fine Arts, Munich
“The Other Knowledge. Artistic Knowledge versus Scientific Knowledge and the Idea of Synthesis”

Bergit Arends, Curator of Contemporary Art, Natural History Museum, London
“Host and Symbiont. Give and Take. Forms of Symbiosis for Art and Research at a Natural History Museum”

Florian Dombois, Head of Y – Institute of Transdisciplinarity, University of Arts, Bern
“Art as Research”

Jens Hauser, Curator, Filmmaker and Journalist, Bochum and Paris
“‘Lebenskunst’, die ‘Wissen’ schafft? From Deconstructing the Method to Subverting the Means

The Status Workshop on Science and Art was on invitation only. The results of the workshop in form of a summary by Christine Heidemann are available in German:

Bericht über den Status-Workshop Wissenschaft und Kunst.pdf

For additional information, please contact:

Andrea Lehmann
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
030-20 62 29 60

Fotos: Daniel Flaschar

70web.jpg



58web.jpg



Project Space

Address: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Opening hours during exhibitions:Thursday through Monday, 1 - 7 p.m. | Admission is free Since 2009, the Ernst Schering Foundation has ...

more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Kooperation am Scheideweg? Zu Chancen und Risiken fragen Sie Ihren Künstler oder Wissenschaftler.

Kunst und Wissenschaft sind seit jeher durch eine ebenso spannungsvolle wie produktive Beziehungsgeschichte verbunden. Das ‚Forum Wissenschaft und Kunst’ der Schering Stiftung richtet seit 2005 seinen Fokus auf die gegenwärtige Entwicklung dieses Wechselverhältnisses. Mit einem Status-Workshop sollte nun nach dreijähriger disziplinenübergreifender Auseinandersetzung mit diesem Thema eine möglichst konzise Beschreibung der gegenwärtigen Situation erfolgen. Auf Einladung der Schering Stiftung kamen am 08.12. und 09.12.2008 35 Naturwissenschaftler, Kuratoren, Künstler und kulturwissenschaftlich orientierte Kunsthistoriker in Berlin zusammen, um sich den Herausforderungen einer verstärkten Kollaboration von Wissenschaft und Kunst stellen.

27web.jpg


Die Schwerpunkte des Workshops lagen zum einen auf der Reflexion von neuen Kooperationsformen zwischen Künstlern und (Natur-)Wissenschaftlern und zum anderen auf der Untersuchung von neuen Möglichkeiten eines interdisziplinären Wissenstransfers im Hinblick auf die wechselseitigen Vorgänge der Einflussnahme, Reflexion und Aneignung von wissenschaftlichen wie künstlerischen Erkenntnisprozessen und Methoden. Dabei rückte als ein Aspekt der Begriff der künstlerisch motivierten Forschung – artistic research – unweigerlich in den Blick. Auf der einen Seite werden mit künstlerischen Mitteln Formen und Strategien der Generierung von Wissen und Erfahrungen erprobt und naturwissenschaftlichen Verfahren gegenübergestellt, und auf der anderen Seite werden durch die künstlerische Aneignung von wissenschaftlichen Ansätzen und Methoden neue künstlerische Ausdrucksweisen gefunden. Damit ist die Verschiebung des künstlerischen Fokus weg von der Produktion eines Werkes oder Bildes hin zur Dokumentation von Prozessen – wie z.B. der künstlerischen und (natur-)wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsmethoden – verbunden. D.h. künstlerische Strategien werden Instrumente der Erkenntnisgewinnung, während wissenschaftliche Verfahren und Methoden selbst als Medien des künstlerischen Ausdrucks dienen. Ob die Erwartungshaltung der Naturwissenschaften an die Kunst, die ihr zugesprochene Kompetenz in der Bildentwicklung auch zur Wissenschaftskommunikation und zum ‚Public Understanding of Science’ einzusetzen, erfüllt werden kann, war eine zu diskutierende Frage in dem Workshop.

Die Entwicklungen im Bereich des artistic research wie auch in anderen Feldern birgt Chancen aber zugleich auch Herausforderungen für das „Betriebssystem Kunst“ in sich, insbesondere für etablierte Kunstinstitutionen, aber auch für den modernen Forschungsbetrieb naturwissenschaftlich ausgerichteter Disziplinen. Obwohl SciArt Projekte und Ausstellungen fraglos gegenwärtig Konjunktur haben und das Spektrum der Themen von Kunst im Weltraum, Kunst und Klimawandel bis zu Kunst aus dem Labor reicht, muss die Begegnung und Vernetzung von Kunst und Wissenschaft immer wieder neu ausgehandelt werden. Die Möglichkeiten institutioneller Kooperationen (z.B. Integration von Interdisziplinarität in die Konzeption von Ausbildungs- und Studiengängen) sowie der Rahmen künstlerischer und wissenschaftlicher Produktion müssen vor dem Hintergrund der Internationalisierung sowohl des Kunstmarktes und Ausstellungswesens als auch der wissenschaftlichen Forschung und der Verteilung finanzieller Ressourcen reflektiert werden.

  • Welches sind die tatsächlichen Wechselwirkungen zwischen Kunst- und Wissenschaftssystem?
  • Welche Beziehungen bestehen aktuell zwischen künstlerischen und wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsprozessen und methodischen Herangehensweisen?
  • Wie lassen sich die ökonomischen, politischen, technologischen oder wissenschaftlichen Bedingungen, die für die Beziehung zwischen Wissenschaft und Kunst relevant sind, adäquat beschreiben?
  • Welche Strategien zu Kooperationen und wechselseitigem Wissenstransfers sind sowohl für die Kunst als auch für die Wissenschaft in der Zukunft denkbar und wünschenswert?

Diese und weitere Fragen standen daher im Zentrum des Status-Workshops und wurden im Open Space Verfahren sowie in sechs Impulsreferaten renommierter Künstler und Wissenschaftler aufgegriffen und in Arbeitsgruppen diskutiert. Die Referenten waren:

  • Frank Rösl, Leiter der Abteilung „Virale Transformationsmechanismen“ am Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum, Heidelberg
    „Kreativität, Kunst und Grundlagenforschung: Innovation durch Synthese?“
  • Christa Sommerer, Künstlerin und Leiterin der Abteilung für Interface Cultures an der Kunstuniversität Linz
    „The Art and Science of Interaction”
  • Susanne Witzgall, Kuratorin und Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Lehrstuhl für Kunstgeschichte, Akademie der bildenden Künste, München
    „Die andere Erkenntnis. Künstlerisches Wissen versus wissenschaftliches Wissen und die Idee der Synthese"
  • Bergit Arends, Kuratorin des Contemporary Arts Program am Natural History Museum, London
    „Wirt und Symbiont. Leistung und Gegenleistung. Formen der Symbiose für Kunst und Forschung im Naturkunde Museum.“
  • Florian Dombois, Leiter des Instituts für Transdisziplinarität (Y) an der Hochschule der Künste, Bern
    „Kunst als Forschung“
  • Jens Hauser, Kurator, Filmemacher und Journalist, Bochum / Paris
    „’Lebenskunst’ die ’Wissen’ schafft? Von der Dekonstruktion der Methode zur Subversion der Mittel“

Die Ergebnisse des Workshops hat Christine Heidemann zusammengefasst. Klicken Sie einfach auf den nachstehenden Link.

Bericht über den Status-Workshop Wissenschaft und Kunst.pdf

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei:

Andrea Lehmann
Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.
030-20 62 29 60

Fotos: Daniel Flaschar

70web.jpg



58web.jpg



Projektraum

Anschrift: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Öffnungszeiten während der Ausstellungen:Donnerstag – Montag, 13–19 Uhr | Eintritt frei Seit 2009 zeigt die Schering Stiftung im ...

mehr