Philipp Lachenmann: DELPHI Rationale

 

Bohlmann Lecture 2008

Richard R. Schrock, professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, MA, and 2005 Nobel laureate in chemistry, will give the Bohlmann lecture at the Department of Chemistry of the Technical University of Berlin on October 24, 2008. The lecture is sponsored by the Ernst Schering Foundation.

Richard R. Schrock (born 1945) is researching in the fields of organometal chemistry, synthetic chemistry, inorganic chemistry, catalysts and polymers. His particular interest is in catalysts used for olefin metathesis and ring-opening metathesis polymerisation. Professor Schrock was the first to produce an efficient metal compound catalyst for metathesis – a chemical method which nowadays is used by industry in a cost-efficient and environmentally friendly way. In 2005, he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry together with Professor Yves Chauvin and Professor Robert Howard Grubbs.

As part of the Bohlmann Lecture on October 24, 2008, Schrock will talk about “Monoalkoxide Monopyrrolide Olefin Metathesis Catalysts of Molybdenum: High Turnover, Variability, and Asymmetry at the Metal.” Following the lecture, the Society of Friends of the Technical University of Berlin will present the Schering Prize 2007, which is awarded for outstanding dissertations in chemistry and which is also sponsored by the Ernst Schering Foundation.

When:

October 24, 2008
4:15 p.m.: Bohlmann Lecture 2008 by Prof. Richard R. Schrock on “Monoalkoxide Monopyrrolide Olefin Metathesis Catalysts of Molybdenum: High Turnover, Variability, and Asymmetry at the Metal”
5:30 p.m.: Presentation of the Schering Prize 2007 to Dr. Kathrin Schneider and Dr. Kati Vehlow

Where:
Technical University of Berlin (Lecture Hall C 130)
Straße des 17. Juni 115
10623 Berlin

For more information, please visit:
www.alumni.tu-berlin.de


News

The Unseen Universe (An Introduction to Particle Physics)

26.04.2018, Berlin | For his video work DELPHI Rationale, the artist Philipp Lachenmann filmed at the...
more

Live-Debatte: Arm durch Wohnen? Wie Mieten bezahlbar bleiben

16.05.2018, Berlin/Braunschweig | Die Mieten in Deutschland steigen kontinuierlich: Seit 2010 zahlen Bundesbürger im Durchschnitt 30...
more

DOME – Our Relationship with the Cosmos

25.04.2018, Berlin | The interdisciplinary art project DOME invites you to engage with “cosmic realities” at...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2008

Richard R. Schrock, Professor am Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, und Nobelpreisträger für Chemie des Jahres 2005, hält am 24. Oktober 2008 die Bohlmann-Vorlesung des Instituts für Chemie der Technischen Universität Berlin. Die Vorlesung wird von der Schering Stiftung gefördert.

Das Forschungsgebiet von Richard R. Schrock (*1945) liegt auf den Gebieten der Organometallchemie, der synthetischen Chemie, der anorganischen Chemie, der Katalysatoren und Polymere. Im Speziellen forscht er an Katalysatoren für die Olefinmetathese und die Ringöffnungs- metathese-Polymerisationen. Als Erster stellte Professor Schrock eine katalytisch effiziente Metallverbindung für die Metathese her – einem chemischen Verfahren, das heute kostengünstig und umweltfreundlich in der Industrie einsetzbar ist. Im Jahr 2005 wurde er zusammen mit Professor Yves Chauvin und Professor Robert Howard Grubbs mit dem Nobelpreis für Chemie ausgezeichnet.

Im Rahmen der Bohlmann-Vorlesung am 24. Oktober 2008 spricht Schrock zum Thema „Monoalkoxide Monopyrrolide Olefin Metathesis Catalysts of Molybdenum. High Turnover, Variability, and Asymmetry at the Metal”. Im Anschluss an die Vorlesung verleiht die Gesellschaft von Freunden der TU Berlin den von der Schering Stiftung geförderten Schering Preis 2007 für hervorragende Dissertationen im Fach Chemie.

Termin:24. Oktober 2008

16.15 Uhr: Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2008 von Prof. Richard R. Schrock zum Thema „Monoalkoxide Monopyrrolide Olefin Metathesis Catalysts of Molybdenum. High Turnover, Variability, and Asymmetry at the Metal”

17.30 Uhr: Verleihung des Schering-Preises 2007 an Dr. Kathrin Schneider und Dr. Kati Vehlow

Veranstaltungsort:
Technische Universität Berlin (Hörsaal C 130)
Straße des 17. Juni 115
10623 Berlin

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter:

www.alumni.tu-berlin.de


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: “Young Investigator Fund” für innovative Forschungsideen

22.03.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt erfolgsversprechende Forschungsideen junger WissenschaftlerInnen mit einer Anschubfinanzierung. Gefördert werden...
mehr

Leere Meere oder wildes Leben? Der Weltozean im 21. Jahrhundert

08.03.2017, Berlin | Unsere Weltmeere sind mit Abstand das größte Ökosystem unserer Erde. Sie bedecken mehr...
mehr

Weiter Schreiben. Ein literarisches Portal für AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten

02.03.2017, Berlin | Das Projekt „Weiter Schreiben“ veröffentlicht Texte von AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten und verleiht ihnen...
mehr