Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2008

Dr. Kirsten Neubert

Dermatology Clinic at the University of Erlangen, Department Biology of Arborescent Cells

"The proteosome inhibitor bortezomib depletes plasma cells and protects mice with lupus-like disease from nephritis"

In spite of intensive efforts, the treatment of antibody-mediated autoimmune diseases still poses a great challenge. The currently available and partly very aggressive therapeutic possibilities can improve the symptoms, but frequently fail to effect a lasting cure. The reason for this seems to be long-lived plasma cells which are involved in maintaining the humoral immunity by permanently secreting antibodies. In the case of autoimmune diseases, these cells, however, secrete large amounts of pathogenic antibodies, so-called auto-antibodies, which cause damage to tissues and organs. So far, long-lived plasma cells have been resistant to conventional drugs and radiation treatment. Therefore, the development of new selective and better tolerated therapy concepts is urgently necessary.

Systemic lupus erythematosus represents the prototype of an antibody-mediated autoimmune disease. This chronic inflammatory disease is characterized by the production of autoantibodies that cause a variety of organ damages.

In two mice models, Dr. Kirsten Neubert investigated the impact of Bortezomib on the autoantibody titer and the course of the disease. The preventive and therapeutic use of Bortezomib could prevent or at least substantially improve the lupus disease of NZB/W F1- and MRL/lpr-mice. The treatment led to a significant reduction in autoantibodies, a strong decrease of proteinuria and a dramatic increase in life expectancy without obvious side effects.

In addition, Neubert noted that Bortezomib can eliminate the largely therapy-resistant, long-lived plasma cells more effectively than conventional therapeutics. The biologist could also show that plasma cells, due to their markedly increased antibody production, respond better to Bortezomib than other cells of the immune system. This finding is another important argument in favor of the clinical use of Bortezomib. Since the established treatments are relatively unspecific and come with severe side effects, the preferential elimination of the plasma cell population could limit the range of side effects.

These findings show that Bortezomib is a promising new option for treating antibody-mediated autoimmune diseases. Since Bortezomib is already used successfully to treat multiple myeloma, relevant studies on the treatment of other antibody-mediated diseases could thus be initiated and performed more easily.

2008_Neubert

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2008

Dr. Kirsten Neubert

Dermatologische Klinik der Universität Erlangen, Abteilung Biologie Dendritischer Zellen

"Bortezomib gegen Plasmazellen zur Behandlung von Autoimmunkrankheiten"

Die Behandlung Antikörper-vermittelter Autoimmunerkrankungen stellt trotz intensiver Bemühungen immer noch eine große Herausforderung dar. Die derzeit zur Verfügung stehenden und teils recht aggressiven Therapiemöglichkeiten bewirken zwar eine Verbesserung der Symptome, jedoch wird eine dauerhafte Heilung häufig nicht erreicht. Der Grund hierfür scheinen langlebige Plasmazellen zu sein, die durch ihre permanente Antikörpersekretion an der Aufrechterhaltung der humoralen Immunität beteiligt sind. Im Fall von Autoimmunerkrankungen sondern diese Zellen jedoch große Mengen pathogener Antikörper ab, so genannte Autoantikörper, die zu Gewebs- und Organschäden führen. Bisher waren langlebige Plasmazellen gegenüber konventionellen Therapeutika und Bestrahlung resistent. Aus diesem Grund ist die Entwicklung neuer selektiverer und verträglicherer Therapiekonzepte dringend erforderlich.

Der systemische Lupus erythematodes stellt den Prototyp einer Antikörper-vermittelten Autoimmunerkrankung dar. Diese chronisch-entzündliche Erkrankung ist durch die Bildung von Autoantikörpern charakterisiert, die vielfältige Organschäden hervorrufen.

In zwei Mausmodellen untersuchte Dr. Kirsten Neubert den Einfluss von Bortezomib auf die Autoantikörpertiter und den Krankheitsverlauf. Durch die präventive und therapeutische Anwendung von Bortezomib wurde die Lupuserkrankung von NZB/W F1- und MRL/lpr-Mäusen verhindert bzw. wesentlich verbessert. Die Behandlung führte zu einer deutlichen Reduktion der Autoantikörper, zu einer starken Abnahme der Proteinurie sowie zu einer drastischen Verlängerung der Lebenserwartung ohne offensichtliche Nebenwirkungen.

Darüber hinaus stellte Neubert fest, dass Bortezomib die weitestgehend therapieresistenten langlebigen Plasmazellen effektiver eliminieren kann als die konventionellen Therapeutika. Die Biologin konnte ebenfalls zeigen, dass Plasmazellen aufgrund ihrer stark erhöhten Antikörperproduktion sensitiver auf Bortezomib reagieren als andere Zellen des Immunsystems. Dieses Ergebnis liefert ein weiteres wichtiges Argument für die klinische Anwendung von Bortezomib. Da die etablierten Behandlungsformen relativ unspezifisch und mit starken Nebenwirkungen verbunden sind, könnte durch die präferenzielle Eliminierung der Plasmazellpopulation das Nebenwirkungsspektrum eingeschränkt werden.

Diese Ergebnisse zeigen, dass Bortezomib eine vielversprechende neue Option für die Behandlung von Antikörper-vermittelten Autoimmunerkrankungen darstellt. Da Bortezomib bereits erfolgreich für die Behandlung des Multiplen Myeloms eingesetzt wird, können deshalb entsprechende Studien zur Behandlung anderer Antikörper-vermittelter Erkrankungen leichter initiiert und durchgeführt werden.

2008_Neubert

Aktuelles

Vortragsreihe Cell Communication: Daily Oscillations in the Liver

23.10.2017, Berlin | Im Wintersemester 2017/2018 lädt das Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften der HU Berlin zu...
mehr

Hybrid Encounters. Siobhan Davies & Arno Villringer

23.10.2017, Berlin | Die Hybrid Plattform und die Schering Stiftung starten mit »Hybrid Encounters« eine neue...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen, die herausragende Arbeiten...
mehr