Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Schering Stiftung Art Award 2009

Brazilian artist Renata Lucas usually works with already existing situations. Based on fictions, she intervenes into found landscapes and architectures making the background become the main character. Her displacements cause spaces to become the main focus of attention revealing their deeper structures and proposing meaningful transformations. In her new work she creates a geometric alteration at the extremes of the terrain of KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Berlin, causing its boundaries to become instable and thresholds to become crossed.

With the exhibition at KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Berlin, Renata Lucas, recipient of the Schering Stiftung Art Award, is presented for the first time in Germany. The jury explains its decision as follows: “What is most impressive about Renata Lucas’s work is her subtle, sometimes technically elaborate intervention at the border between inside and outside, critically examining both the concept of property and the role of human beings in architectural and urban planning processes.”

Renata Lucas (born in 1971 in Ribeirão Preto, Brazil) graduated with a master of fine arts degree from Unicamp (Universidade Estadual de Campinas) in 1999 and subsequently earned her doctorate at the University of São Paulo. In 2001, together with a group of artists, she opened a non-commercial gallery, “10.20 x 3.60”, where she presented her first solo exhibition. Her work has been shown, among other places, at the Bienal de São Paulo (2006), the Tate Modern in London (2007), the Institute of Contemporary Art in Boston (2008), and the Biennale of Sydney (2008). In 2009 her work was exhibited at the “Fare Mondi // Making Worlds” exhibition at the 53rd Biennale di Venezia. Renata Lucas lives and works in São Paulo.

In 2009 it was for the first time that the Ernst Schering Foundation presented its art award in cooperation with KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Berlin. Fifteen internationally renowned curators each nominated one artist for the award. A jury—consisting of Prof Dr Horst Bredekamp, Dr Ulrike Groos, Udo Kittelmann, Susanne Pfeffer, and Dr Theodora Vischer—selected Renata Lucas from amongst the nominees.

The exhibition will be accompanied by a catalogue designed by Manuel Raeder in close collaboration with the artist including essays by Jens Hoffmann und Dr Charlotte Klonk as well as a conversation between Renata Lucas and Susanne Pfeffer, edited by Susanne Pfeffer, KW Institute for Contemporary Art and Heike Catherina Mertens, Ernst Schering Foundation.

Opening: Saturday, 11.09.2010, 5 – 10 pm

Exhibition duration: 12.09. – 07.11.2010

opening hours: Tue–Su 12–19 pm, Thu 12–21 pm
entrance fee: 6 Euro, reduced 4 Euro

 

Photo of Renata Lucas: Daniel Steegmann

090716_portait_lucas_300dpi_foto_ daniel steegmann_website

 

News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Kunstpreis der Schering Stiftung 2009

Die brasilianische Künstlerin Renata Lucas arbeitet stets mit vorhandenen Situationen. Von Fiktionen ausgehend greift sie in vorgefundene Landschaften und Architekturen ein und erhebt den Hintergrund zur Hauptfigur. Ihre Versetzungen lassen Räume ins Bewusstsein treten, legen deren tiefe Strukturen frei und inspirieren Bedeutungswandel. In ihrer neuen Arbeit entwickelt sie eine geometrische Veränderung an den Extrempunkten des Geländes der KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Berlin, lässt Grenzen ins Schwingen geraten und Schwellen überschreitbar werden.

Als Preisträgerin des Kunstpreises der Schering Stiftung wird Renata Lucas in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Berlin erstmals in Deutschland vorgestellt. „Renata Lucas beeindruckt insbesondere durch ihre subtilen, in der Realisierung häufig aufwändigen Eingriffe an der Grenze zwischen Innen und Außen, durch die sie sowohl das Konzept von Eigentum als auch die Rolle des Menschen in architektonischen und stadtplanerischen Prozessen hinterfragt.“, so die Begründung der Jury.

Renata Lucas (* 1971 in Ribeirão Preto) schloss ihr Studium der bildenden Künste an der brasilianischen Unicamp (Universidade Estadual de Campinas) 1999 mit einem Master ab und promovierte anschließend an der Universität von São Paulo. 2001 eröffnete sie mit einer Künstlergruppe in São Paulo die nicht-kommerzielle Galerie „10,20 x 3,60“, in der sie ihre erste Einzelausstellung präsentierte. Ihre Arbeiten wurden unter anderem in der Bienal de São Paulo (2006), in der Tate Modern, London (2007), dem Institute of Contemporary Art in Boston (2008) und der Biennale of Sydney (2008) gezeigt. Im vergangenen Jahr präsentierte sie eine Arbeit in der Ausstellung „Fare Mondi // Making Worlds“ auf der 53. Biennale di Venezia. Renata Lucas lebt und arbeitet in São Paulo.

2009 hat die Schering Stiftung den Kunstpreis der Schering Stiftung zum ersten Mal in Kooperation mit den KW Institute for Contemporary Art verliehen. 15 international renommierte Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren haben jeweils eine Künstlerin oder einen Künstler für den Preis nominiert. Eine Jury, bestehend aus Prof. Dr. Horst Bredekamp, Dr. Ulrike Groos, Udo Kittelmann, Susanne Pfeffer und Dr. Theodora Vischer, wählte Renata Lucas aus den Nominierten aus.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Künstlerin ein von Manuel Raeder gestalteter Katalog mit Texten von Jens Hoffmann und PD Dr. Charlotte Klonk sowie einem Gespräch zwischen Renata Lucas und Susanne Pfeffer, herausgegeben von Susanne Pfeffer, KW Institute for Contemporary Art und Heike Catherina Mertens, Schering Stiftung.


Eröffnung:  Samstag, 11. September 2010, 17 – 22 Uhr

Ausstellungsdauer: 12.09. – 07.11.2010

Öffnungszeiten: Di – So 12 – 19 Uhr, Do 12 – 21 Uhr
Eintritt: 6 Euro, ermäßigt 4 Euro

 

Foto von Renata Lucas: Daniel Steegmann

090716_portait_lucas_300dpi_foto_ daniel steegmann_website

 

Aktuelles

Nachwachsende Gliedmaßen und Nervenschädigungen im Visier

05.09.2017, Berlin | Am 25. September 2017, um 18:30 Uhr, verleiht die Schering Stiftung in der...
mehr

6. Max-Planck-Konferenz „Visions in Science“

04.09.2017, Berlin | Vom 29. September bis 1. Oktober 2017 findet zum sechsten Mal die Konferenz...
mehr

Vortragsreihe: Life in Numbers - mit Johan Elf

04.09.2017, Berlin | Im Sommersemester 2017 lädt das Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften (IRI) der Humboldt-Universität Berlin...
mehr