Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Dialogues 09 in the Neues Museum: A breathtaking experience

02.04.2009, Berlin | The German weekly DIE ZEIT called Sasha Waltz’ choreographic exhibition “Dialogues 09” in the Neues Museum a “once-in-a-century success.” On each of the sold-out evenings, an audience of more than 1,000 stood in awed silence after the great finale on the central staircase, before it rewarded the dancers and musicians with thunderous applause. Throughout the 24 rooms of the museum and on the staircase, the visitors were able to experience moving allegories of human nature – each allegory in relation to its architectural and historical context. It has been a great pleasure for the Ernst Schering Foundation to support this project by Sasha Waltz, the second after “Jagden und Formen” (Hunts and Forms). Her interdisciplinary approach and the tremendous force of her choreography are simply inspiring!

Dialoge 09 im Neuen Museum

From March 18 until March 30, 2009, Sasha Waltz & Guests – seventy dancers, musicians and singers – explored the still empty rooms of the Neues Museum on Berlin’s Museum Island in her work “Dialogues 09 – Neues Museum,” thus celebrating the artistic inauguration of the museum, which is scheduled to reopen after almost sixty years in the fall of 2009. Immediately after the architectural rebuilding of the museum, which took almost ten years, and shortly before the exhibits of the Museum of Prehistory and Early History and of the Egyptian Museum and Papyrus Collection will move into the newly renovated rooms, Sasha Waltz, with support from the Ernst Schering Foundation, presented an extraordinary temporary “exhibition” in the still empty rooms of this complex building.

Sasha Waltz has been working in Berlin since 1991, and from the beginning her work has been characterized by a strong interest in architecture and the fine arts. Again and again, she has been inspired and influenced by a variety of different buildings. Her sensitive and integrative dealings with buildings that are non-stage spaces have earned her the innovative reputation for being “the architect among choreographers.”

It is moments of transition in particular that inspire Sasha Waltz and move her to realize a project in a building. The installation “Dialogues 99/II” at the Jewish Museum was developed a year before the official opening of the museum. In this transitory state, the choreographer collaborated with thirteen dancers and sound artist Hans Peter Kuhn to create a piece that allowed one to experience the special architecture by Daniel Libeskind in a different way. By entering into a dialogue with the space, the bodies of the dancers conjured up images in connection with Jewish history: leave-taking and exile, expulsion, torture and death. Translated into dance, history could be experienced physically.

In 2006, Waltz developed the “Dialogues 06 – Radial Systems” project in the newly renovated Radialsystem V. For several hours, dancers, musicians and singers performed throughout the whole building to inaugurate this new place for the arts on the Spree River, which ever since has held a firm place in the cultural life of Berlin.

After almost ten years of rebuilding under the supervision of David Chipperfield Architects, the Neues Museum on Berlin’s Museum Island also found itself in a special moment of transition between its architectural completion and the moving in of exhibits. In response to this historic constellation, Sasha Waltz staged an extraordinary temporary “exhibition” in the empty museum building. For her project, “Dialogues 09 – Neues Museum,” she brought together dancers from fifteen years of Sasha Waltz & Guests as well as the Vocalconsort Berlin, the soloists’ ensemble Kaleidoskop and colleagues from the theater, costume and lighting design. The audience could move about freely through the rooms.

The Ernst Schering Foundation supports the project of Sasha Waltz & Guests, which will be produced in cooperation with the Foundation of Prussian Cultural Heritage, the State Museums of Berlin, David Chipperfield Architects and the Radial Foundation.

Photos: © Bernd Uhlig

Additional information is available at:
www.sashawaltz.de
www.radialsystem.de
www.smb.museum/neuesmuseum

Dialoge 09 im Neuen Museum

Dialoge 09 im Neuen Museum

Dialoge 09 im Neuen Museum

Dialoge 09 im Neuen Museum

News

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Digital Salon: A Soft Spot for Cyborgs

22.05.2017, Berlin | Smart robot hands, artificial legs, printable organs: Are implants the panacea of the...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Dialoge_09 im Neuen Museum: Ein atemberaubendes Erlebnis

02.04.2009, Berlin | DIE ZEIT spricht von einem Jahrhundertwurf, der Sasha Waltz mit ihrer choreografischen Ausstellung Dialoge_09 für das Neue Museum gelungen ist. Das pro ausverkauftem Abend über 1.000 Personen umfassende Publikum verharrte nach dem ergreifenden Finale im zentralen Treppenhaus in sekundenlanger Stille bevor tosender Applaus Tänzer und Musiker umhüllte. In den 24 Sälen des Museums sowie dem Treppenhaus konnten die Besucher ergreifende Sinnbilder des Menschlichen erleben – jeweils bezogen auf ihren architektonischen und historischen Kontext. Der Schering Stiftung war es eine große Freude, nach Jagden und Formen ein zweites Projekt von Sasha Waltz unterstützen zu dürfen. Ihr interdisziplinärer Ansatz sowie die ungeheure Kraft ihrer choreographischen Bilder begeistern!

Dialoge 09 im Neuen Museum

Sasha Waltz & Guests erkundeten vom 18. bis 30. März 2009 in Dialoge 09 – Neues Museum mit siebzig Tänzern, Musikern und Sängern die noch leeren Räume des Neuen Museums auf der Museumsinsel Berlin und begingen damit die künstlerische Inauguration des Hauses, das nach über sechzigjähriger Schließzeit im Herbst 2009 wiedereröffnet wird. Fast zehn Jahre hat der Wiederaufbau des Museums angedauert. Direkt nach der baulichen Fertigstellung des Gebäudes und kurz bevor die Exponate des Museums für Vor- und Frühgeschichte sowie des Ägyptischen Museums mit der Papyrussammlung in die restaurierten Räume einziehen, präsentierte Sasha Waltz mit Unterstützung der Schering Stiftung vom 18. bis 30. März 2009 eine außergewöhnliche temporäre „Ausstellung“ in den noch leeren Räumen des vielschichtigen Bauwerks.


Sasha Waltz arbeitet seit 1991 in Berlin und die Auseinandersetzung mit Architektur und bildender Kunst prägt ihre Arbeiten seit Anbeginn. Immer wieder hat sie sich dabei von den unterschiedlichsten Bauwerken inspirieren und beeinflussen lassen. Ihr sensibler und integrativer Umgang mit Gebäuden, die zunächst keine Bühnenräume sind, hat ihr den innovativen Ruf der „Architektin unter den Choreographen“ eingebracht.

Im Besonderen sind es Momente der Transition, die Sasha Waltz reizen und bewegen, eine Arbeit in einem Gebäude zu realisieren. Die Installation „Dialoge 99/II“ im Jüdischen Museum entstand ein Jahr vor der offiziellen Eröffnung des Hauses. In diesem Zustand des Übergangs entwickelte die Choreographin mit dreizehn Tänzern und dem Klangkünstler Hans Peter Kuhn ein Stück, das die besondere Architektur von Daniel Libeskind noch einmal in anderer Weise erlebbar machte. In Auseinandersetzung mit dem Raum entstanden an den Körpern der Tänzer Bilder, die uns im Zusammenhang mit der jüdischen Geschichte vor das innere Auge treten: Abschied und Exil, Vertreibung, Folter und Tod. Geschichte wurde durch die Umsetzung in den Tanz als körperliche Geschichte erfahrbar.

2006 entwickelte Waltz das Projekt „Dialoge 06 – Radiale Systeme“ in dem gerade fertig renovierten Radialsystem V. Tänzer, Musiker und Sänger bespielten dabei über mehrere Stunden das ganze Haus. Es war die Inauguration des neuen Ortes für die Künste an der Spree, der seither aus dem kulturellen Leben Berlins nicht mehr wegzudenken ist.

Auch das Neue Museum auf der Museumsinsel Berlin befand sich nach fast zehn Jahren Wiederaufbau unter der Leitung von David Chipperfield Architects in einem besonderen Moment der Transition zwischen baulicher Fertigstellung und musealer Bestückung. Auf diese historische Konstellation antwortete Sasha Waltz mit einer außergewöhnlichen temporären „Ausstellung“ im leeren Museumsbau. In ihrem Projekt „Dialoge 09 – Neues Museum“ vereinte sie Tänzerinnen und Tänzer aus fünfzehn Jahren Sasha Waltz & Guests, ebenso wie das Vocalconsort Berlin, das Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop und Weggefährten aus den Bereichen Bühne, Kostüm und Licht. Das Publikum konnte sich dabei frei durch die Räume bewegen.

Die Schering Stiftung förderte das Projekt von Sasha Waltz & Guests, das in Kooperation mit der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz, den Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin, David Chipperfield Architects und der Radial Stiftung produziert wird.

Fotos: © Bernd Uhlig

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter:
www.sashawaltz.de
www.radialsystem.de
www.smb.museum/neuesmuseum

Dialoge 09 im Neuen Museum

Dialoge 09 im Neuen Museum

Dialoge 09 im Neuen Museum

Dialoge 09 im Neuen Museum

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: “Young Investigator Fund” für innovative Forschungsideen

22.03.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt erfolgsversprechende Forschungsideen junger WissenschaftlerInnen mit einer Anschubfinanzierung. Gefördert werden...
mehr

Leere Meere oder wildes Leben? Der Weltozean im 21. Jahrhundert

08.03.2017, Berlin | Unsere Weltmeere sind mit Abstand das größte Ökosystem unserer Erde. Sie bedecken mehr...
mehr

Weiter Schreiben. Ein literarisches Portal für AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten

02.03.2017, Berlin | Das Projekt „Weiter Schreiben“ veröffentlicht Texte von AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten und verleiht ihnen...
mehr