Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Ernst Schering Prize 2009

Prof. Dr. Rudolf Jaenisch

The Ernst Schering Foundation will award this year’s Ernst Schering Prize to stem cell researcher Rudolf Jaenisch from the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, Cambridge, MA. Jaenisch will be honored for his groundbreaking work in the field of transgenic animal models and therapeutic cloning. The prize also acknowledges his sensible, ethical and responsible participation in the political debate about human stem cell research.

Already in 1974, Rudolf Jaenisch developed the first transgenic mouse – a revolutionary model to study diseases at the molecular level, which has been used all over the world by researchers in the fields of medicine, molecular biology and developmental biology since the 1980s. Today, Professor Jaenisch is a successful stem cell researcher with a special focus on epigenetic regulation of gene expression in healthy and diseased cells, epigenetic re-programming, the use of nuclear transfer technology for therapeutic cloning and in vitro reprogramming.

The Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious science prizes in Germany. Established in 1991 by the Ernst Schering Research Foundation, it has been awarded by the Ernst Schering Foundation since 2003. It honors outstanding international achievements in the fields of biological, medical and chemical basic research.

The award ceremony will take place in Berlin on September 22, 2009. On September 23, 2009, Professor Jaenisch will give a public lecture on the topic of “ES Cells und iPS Cells: Potential for Personalized Medicine” at the Robert Koch Institute in Berlin.

Wednesday, September 23, 2009, at 4 p.m.
Robert Koch Institute, Lecture Hall, Nordufer 20, 13353 Berlin

The lecture will be in English.
Registration is not required.
The lecture will be organized in cooperation with the Robert Koch Institute.

Picture Gallery of the Award Ceremony

2009_Jaenisch_grau

Curriculum Vitae

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Ernst Schering Preis 2009

Prof. Dr. Rudolf Jaenisch

Die Schering Stiftung verleiht den Ernst Schering Preis in diesem Jahr an den Stammzellforscher Professor Rudolf Jaenisch vom Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, Cambridge, USA. Jaenisch wird für seine bahnbrechenden Arbeiten auf dem Gebiet der transgenen Tiermodelle und des therapeutischen Klonens ausgezeichnet. Mit der Verleihung des Preises wird auch seine besonnene und ethisch-verantwortungsvolle Beteiligung an politischen Diskussionen zur Forschung an humanen Stammzellen gewürdigt.

Bereits 1974 entwickelte Rudolf Jaenisch die ersten transgenen Mäuse – ein revolutionäres Modell zur Erforschung von Erkrankungen auf molekularer Ebene, das seit den achtziger Jahren weltweit von Medizinern, Molekular- und Entwicklungsbiologen in der Forschung genutzt wird. Heute arbeitet Professor Jaenisch sehr erfolgreich in der Stammzellforschung. Seine Spezialgebiete sind die epigenetische Regulierung der Genexpression in gesunden und kranken Zellen, die epigenetische Reprogrammierung, die Anwendung der Kerntransplantationstechnologie beim therapeutischen Klonen sowie die in-vitro-Reprogrammierung.

Der Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen Wissenschaftspreise. Er wurde 1991 von der Schering Forschungsgesellschaft ins Leben gerufen und wird seit 2003 von der Schering Stiftung verliehen. Ausgezeichnet werden auf internationaler Ebene exzellente Leistungen im Bereich biologischer, medizinischer und chemischer Grundlagenforschung.

Die Preisverleihung findet am 22.09.2009 in Berlin statt. Am 23.09.2009 hält Professor Jaenisch eine öffentliche Vorlesung zum Thema „ES Cells und iPS Cells: Potential for Personalized Medicine“ im Robert Koch-Institut Berlin.

Mittwoch, 23. September 2009 um 16 Uhr
Robert Koch-Institut, Hörsaal, Nordufer 20, 13353 Berlin

Vortragssprache ist Englisch.
Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.
Die Vorlesung wird in Kooperation mit dem Robert Koch-Institut veranstaltet.

Zur Bildergalerie des Preisverleihung

2009_Jaenisch_grau

Curriculum Vitae

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Am 1. Juni, um 19 Uhr, eröffnet in den KW Institute for Contemporary...
mehr