Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Making Visible the Invisible: “For the Use of Those Who See”

There are things that cannot be depicted, things that one cannot see and maybe not even imagine. With them, the impossibility of visualization outside of one’s imagination is an inherent quality. In 1920, Paul Klee wrote in Schöpferische Konfession (Creative Confession) that art did not reproduce the visible, but made visible. It is this im/possibility of making visible the invisible that is the focus of the exhibition “For the Use of Those Who See,” which will open at KW Institute for Contemporary Art on Saturday, November 21, 2009, at 5 p.m. For the use of those who see

Curated by Susanne Pfeffer, the exhibition shows how artists deal with forms of transition, disappearance and that which eludes us. It explores the boundaries of that which is invisible and the aesthetic visualization of that which appears to be impossible. Many of the presented works by international artists touch on related disciplines and provide entry points to other fields of perception.

“For the Use of Those Who See” is one of the most important projects supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation in 2009. The idea behind the exhibition – reflecting both on the power of the image and the limits of perception across genres – goes far beyond contemporary art and is an important topic of our times.


Exhibition:
November 22, 2009 – January 24, 2010
Tue - Sun: 12 noon – 7 p.m. / Thu: 12 noon – 9 p.m.
Opening: Saturday, November 21, 2009, 5 – 10 p.m.

KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststrasse 69
10117 Berlin

Photos: Letter on the Blind, for the Use of Those Who See, 2007, (c) Javier Téllez, Galerie Peter Kilchmann, Zürich

Additional information is available at:
www.kw-berlin.de

For the use of those who see

For the use of those who see

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Die Schwelle des Sichtbarmachens: „For the use of those who see“

16.11.2009, Berlin | Es gibt Dinge, die nicht darstellbar sind, Dinge, die nicht sichtbar und vielleicht nicht einmal vorstellbar sind. Die Unmöglichkeit der Abbildbarkeit jenseits einer Imagination ist ihnen inhärent. Paul Klee hat 1920 in der Schöpferischen Konfession formuliert, dass Kunst nicht das Sichtbare wiedergibt, sondern sichtbar macht. Mit dieser Schwelle des Sichtbarmachens beschäftigt sich die Ausstellung „For the use of those who see“ in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art, die am Samstag, den 21. November 2009, um 17 Uhr eröffnet.

For the use of those who see

Die von Susanne Pfeffer kuratierte Ausstellung zeigt den künstlerischen Umgang mit Formen des Übergangs, des Verschwindens und des Nicht-Fassbaren. Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei das Ausloten der Grenzen des Nicht-Sichtbaren und die ästhetische Bildfindung des scheinbar Unmöglichen. Dabei berühren die gezeigten Kunstwerke internationaler Künstler immer wieder angrenzende Disziplinen und offenbaren Schwellen zu anderen Wahrnehmungsbereichen.

„For the use of those who see“ zählt zu den wichtigsten Förderprojekten der Schering Stiftung in 2009. Das Ausstellungskonzept, das gattungsübergreifend die Kraft des Bildes einerseits und der Grenzen der Wahrnehmung andererseits reflektiert, geht weit über die zeitgenössische Kunst hinaus und stellt ein wichtiges Thema unserer Gegenwart dar.

Ausstellung:
22. November 2009 – 24. Januar 2010
dienstags bis sonntags: 12 – 19 Uhr / donnerstags: 12 – 21 Uhr
Eröffnung: Samstag, 21. November 2009, 17 bis 22 Uhr

KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststraße 69
10117 Berlin

Fotos: Letter on the Blind, for the Use of Those Who See, 2007, (c) Javier Téllez, Galerie Peter Kilchmann, Zürich

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter:
www.kw-berlin.de

For the use of those who see

For the use of those who see

 

Aktuelles

Wie frei sind wir wirklich?

17.02.2017, Berlin | Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet...
mehr

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2017

16.02.2017, Berlin | Brauchen wir Spielplätze für unsere Nutztiere? Wie werden 7 Milliarden Menschen satt? Und...
mehr

In Spandau startet die Al-Farabi Musikakademie

02.01.2017, Berlin | Eine sorgenfreie und unbeschwerte Jugend ist nicht für alle Kinder eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach...
mehr