Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

The Last Days of the Ceausescus

30.11.2009, Berlin | The images of the sentencing and execution of Elena and Nicolae Ceausescu on Christmas Day 1989 have seared themselves into the memory of several generations of TV viewers as one of the mythical events of world history. Twenty years later, with support from the Ernst Schering Foundation, the International Institute of Political Murder (IIPM) brings to the stage a play about this major event in the sequence of events leading to the fall of Communism. Based on authentic video footage and eye-witness accounts, the arguably most famous show trial in European history will be staged, in Romanian, in an authentically reproduced set. Ceausescu

Conducting extensive research in Romania, the IIPM managed to establish contact with the people that were directly involved in the overthrow and trial of the Ceausescus: the general who betrayed them, the officer who arrested them, the soldier who killed them, but also dissidents, politicians of the transition government, revolutionaries, and people on the streets. From the inside – i.e. the personal perspectives of the people involved – “The Last Days of the Ceausescus” vividly captures the atmosphere at the time, a mix of euphoria, insecurity and betrayal. The dramatically condensed, subjective memory images culminate in the complete re-staging of the show trial of Elena and Nicolae Ceausescu. The audience is an eye-witness to this ur-event in the fall of Communism. World history becomes something to be experienced up close and personal, and documentary theater a painstakingly researched and highly political resurrection of images and memories.

“The Last Days of the Ceausescus“ is a story about the downfall of the most despotic ruling couple in post-war Europe as well as about regular people who made world history during the chaotic events of the overthrow. But it is also a story of a revolution, where a whole people rose up against its oppressors – only to be cheated out of real changes by its new rulers.

Based in Berlin and Zurich, the IIPM was founded in 2007 by Milo Rau together with Simone Eisenring, Jens Dietrich, Marcel Bächtiger, Nina Wolters and Franziska Dick with the goal to promote – and theoretically reflect on – the exchange among drama, visual arts, film and research in the field of reenactments, i.e. the re-staging of historical events. For many years, the founding members have been working together in a variety of constellations and formats. Their previous productions, which have been shown to great acclaim at numerous theaters in Germany, England and Switzerland, represent a new form of extensively researched and aesthetically crafted political theater.

The 20th anniversary of the execution of Elena and Nicolae Ceausescu is an interesting dramatic topic not only from the perspective of contemporary history, but primarily because of the fact that it was a media event, which itself already functions like an artificial series of images. The Ernst Schering Foundation supports the project because of its unusual staging as a re-enactment by Milo Rau, Simone Eisenring and Jens Dietrich, which can be seen as the most logical form of coming to terms with an issue that so far has only been dealt with in media terms.

Reenactment of the Ceausescu Trial (in Romanian, with German translation)
World première on December 18, 2009, at 8 p.m.
Additional performances on December 19, 20, and 21, 2009, at 8 p.m.

Hebbel am Ufer
Hallesches Ufer 32
10963 Berlin

On the occasion of the première, a comprehensive documentation, Die letzten Tage der Ceausescus (The Last Days of the Ceausescus) will be published by Verbrecher Verlag in Berlin. In addition to the annotated transcripts of the court proceedings, the documentation includes historical, art theoretical and social scientific articles on the project as well as extensive research material on the play’s development and public reception.

The International Institute of Political Murder is giving a report of its tour through Rumania, Germany and Switzerland that lasted three months on

Tuesday, February, 9, 2010, 20:30 p.m.

"The Last Days of the Ceausescus"
Lecture, Discussion, Video

at Monarch Club
Skalitzerstrasse 134
10999 Berlin-Kreuzberg

 

Performances in Switzerland
January 14, 15, and 16, 2010, 8:30 p.m.
January 17, 2009, 7 p.m.
Schlachthaus Theater Bern
The Last Days of the Ceausescus

January 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16, 2010, daily 4–8:30 p.m.
Laden des Schlachthaus Theaters Bern
A performative study by the Bern University of the Arts by Eva-Maria Bertschy, Maren Rieger, and Lorenz Aggermann

January 17, 2010, 4–6 p.m.
Laden des Schlachthaus Theaters Bern
Symposium and discussion with Milo Rau, Julia Wehren, Maren Rieger, and Lorenz Aggermann

January 28, 29 and 30, 2010, 8 p.m.
Theaterhaus Gessnerallee Zürich
The Last Days of the Ceausescus (performance as part of the “Gedankensprünge” festival)

January 30, 2010, 5 p.m.
Theaterhaus Gessnerallee Zürich
“The Revolution will (not) be televised: Dokumentation, mediale Vermittlung und Inszenierung von Geschichte (Documentation, media communication and the staging of history)” – a panel discussion with Andrei Ujica, Daniel Ursprung, Milo Rau, Gesa Ziemer, chaired by Valentin Groebner (organized by the History Department of the University of Zurich and the IIPM).

February 3 and 4, 2010, 8 p.m.
Südpol Luzern
The Last Days of the Ceausescus

Please note that the dates and times listed above may be subject to change. For more information, please check the respective websites of the co-producers.

 

Foto: Alexandru Patatics / IIPM

Additional information is available at:
www.die-letzten-tage.com
www.international-institute.de

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Die letzten Tage der Ceausescus

30.11.2009, Berlin | Die Bilder der Verurteilung und Hinrichtung des Ehepaars Ceausescu am ersten Weihnachtstag 1989 haben sich als eines der mythischen Ereignisse der Weltgeschichte ins Gedächtnis mehrerer Generationen von Fernsehzuschauern gebrannt. 20 Jahre später bringt das International Institute of Political Murder (IIPM) dieses bedeutende Ereignis der Wende mit Unterstützung der Schering Stiftung auf die Bühne. Auf Grundlage von authentischen Videodokumenten und Zeugenberichten wird der wohl berühmteste Schauprozess der europäischen Geschichte in originalgetreu nachgebauten Kulissen und in rumänischer Sprache reinszeniert. Ceausescu

In umfangreichen Recherchen vor Ort ist es dem IIPM gelungen, den Kontakt zu Personen herzustellen, die unmittelbar an der Revolution und dem Prozess gegen die Ceausescus beteiligt waren: dem General, der sie verriet, dem Offizier, der sie gefangen nahm, dem Soldaten, der sie erschoss, aber auch zu Dissidenten, Politikern der Übergangsregierung, zu Revolutionären und Leuten von der Straße. Von innen heraus – aus der persönlichen Sicht der beteiligten Menschen – macht „Die letzten Tage der Ceausescus“ die Atmosphäre jener Tage aus Euphorie, Unsicherheit und Verrat unmittelbar spürbar. Die dramatisch verdichteten subjektiven Erinnerungsbilder gipfeln in der vollständigen Re-Inszenierung des Schauprozesses gegen das Ehepaar Ceausescu. Der Zuschauer erlebt dieses Ur-Ereignis der Wende als Augenzeuge mit. Weltgeschichte wird damit hautnah erlebbar; dokumentarisches Theater zu einer minutiös recherchierten und hochpolitischen Auferstehung der Bilder und Erinnerungen.

„Die letzten Tage der Ceausescus“ ist eine Geschichte über den Untergang des despotischsten Herrscherpaars im Nachkriegseuropa und über gewöhnliche Menschen, die im Chaos des Umsturzes zu Akteuren der Weltgeschichte wurden. Es ist aber auch die Geschichte einer Revolution, in der ein ganzes Volk sich gegen seine Unterdrücker erhob – nur um von neuen Herrschern um die eigentliche Wende betrogen zu werden.

Das IIPM mit Sitz in Berlin und Zürich wurde 2007 von Milo Rau zusammen mit Simone Eisenring, Jens Dietrich, Marcel Bächtiger, Nina Wolters und Franziska Dick gegründet, um den Austausch zwischen Theater, bildender Kunst, Film und Forschung auf dem Gebiet des Reenactments – der Re-Inszenierung geschichtlicher Ereignisse – zu intensivieren und theoretisch zu reflektieren. Die Gründungsmitglieder arbeiten schon seit vielen Jahren in wechselnden Konstellationen und Formaten zusammen. Ihre bisherigen Produktionen, die an zahlreichen Theatern Deutschlands, Englands und der Schweiz gespielt wurden, stießen auf große Resonanz und stehen für eine neue, umfassend recherchierte und ästhetisch verdichtete Form politischen Theaters.

Der 20. Jahrestag der Hinrichtung des Diktatorenpaars Elena und Nicolae Ceausescu ist nicht nur aus zeitgeschichtlicher Perspektive ein interessantes dramaturgisches Thema, sondern vorrangig aufgrund der Tatsache, dass es sich dabei um ein Medienereignis handelt, das selbst bereits wie eine künstlerische Bildserie funktioniert. Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt das Projekt aufgrund der ungewöhnlichen Inszenierung als Reenactment durch Milo Rau, Simone Eisenring und Jens Dietrich, das vor dem Hintergrund des bisher nur medial aufbereiteten Themas als konsequenteste Form der Aufarbeitung gelten kann.

Reenactment des Ceausescu-Prozesses (in rumänischer Sprache mit deutscher Übersetzung)
Uraufführung am 18. Dezember 2009 um 20 Uhr
Weitere Vorstellungen am 19., 20. und 21.12.2009 um 20 Uhr

Hebbel am Ufer 2
Hallesches Ufer 32
10963 Berlin

Zur Premiere der Inszenierung erscheint ein umfangreicher Dokumentationsband („Die letzten Tage der Ceausescus“, Verbrecher Verlag Berlin). Neben dem kommentierten Prozess-Protokoll finden sich darin historische, kunsttheoretische und gesellschaftswissenschaftliche Beiträge zum Projekt sowie ausführliches Recherchematerial zu seinem Entstehungsprozess und zur öffentlichen Resonanz.

Über die Erlebnisse ihrer dreimonatigen Tour durch Rumänien, Deutschland und die Schweiz berichtet das Produktionsteam am

Dienstag, 9. 2. 2010, 20.30 Uhr:

"Die letzten Tage der Ceausescus"
Lesung, Gespräch, Video

im Monarch Club
Skalitzerstrasse 134
10999 Berlin-Kreuzberg

Termine in der Schweiz
14. bis 16.01.2010 um 20.30Uhr am 17.01.2009 um 19 Uhr
Schlachthaus Theater Bern
Die letzten Tage der Ceausescus

12. bis 16.01.2010, täglich 16 bis 20.30 Uhr
Laden des Schlachthaus Theaters Bern
Eine performative Studie der Hochschule der Künste Bern von Eva-Maria Bertschy, Maren Rieger und Lorenz Aggermann

17.01.2010, 16 bis 18 Uhr
Laden des Schlachthaus Theaters Bern
Symposium und Diskussion mit Beiträgen von Milo Rau, Julia Wehren, Maren Rieger und Lorenz Aggermann

28. bis 30.01.2010 um 20 Uhr
Theaterhaus Gessnerallee Zürich
Die letzten Tage der Ceausescus (Aufführung im im Rahmen des Festivals „Gedankensprünge“)

30.01.2010 um 17 Uhr
Theaterhaus Gessnerallee Zürich
Podiumsgespräch des Historischen Seminars der Universität Zürich und des IIPM zum Thema “The Revolution will (not) be televised: Dokumentation, mediale Vermittlung und Inszenierung von Geschichte” mit Andrei Ujica, Daniel Ursprung, Milo Rau, Gesa Ziemer. Moderation: Valentin Groebner

03. und 04.02.2010 um 20 Uhr
Südpol Luzern
Die letzten Tage der Ceausescus

Angaben ohne Gewähr. Details auf den Websites der betreffenden Koproduzenten

 

Foto: Alexandru Patatics / IIPM

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter:
www.die-letzten-tage.com
www.international-institute.de

Aktuelles

Wie frei sind wir wirklich?

17.02.2017, Berlin | Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet...
mehr

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2017

16.02.2017, Berlin | Brauchen wir Spielplätze für unsere Nutztiere? Wie werden 7 Milliarden Menschen satt? Und...
mehr

In Spandau startet die Al-Farabi Musikakademie

02.01.2017, Berlin | Eine sorgenfreie und unbeschwerte Jugend ist nicht für alle Kinder eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach...
mehr