Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2009

Professor Cornelia Weyand (Stanford University) will talk about “The Immune System in Rheumatoid Arthritis – In Need for Rejuvenation”.

Weyand has just joined the faculty of Stanford University as a professor of medicine. She received her training in medicine and immunology in Germany and completed a fellowship in rheumatology at Stanford University. She was the Barbara Woodward Lips Professor of Medicine and Immunology at the Mayo Medical and Graduate School in Rochester and in 2004 became the David Lowance Professor of Medicine and the Director of the Lowance Center for Human Immunology and Rheumatology at Emory University School of Medicine.

Weyand has received numerous awards and honors including the Henry Christian Award for Excellence in Research (1991), the Henry Kunkel Young Investigator Award (1992), the Carol Nachmann Award for Rheumatology (1995), the Mayo Foundation Outstanding Investigator Award (1999), the Emory University Outstanding Research Citation Award (2006), and the Paul Klemperer Award (2006). She has been elected a member of the American Society of Clinical Investigation and the American Association of Physicians.

Professor Weyand’s principal area of research investigates mechanisms of disease in patients with chronic inflammatory syndromes, with a specific focus on rheumatoid arthritis and inflammatory blood vessel disease. Her primary objective has been to define molecular mechanisms of immune-mediated tissue damage, with the ultimate goal to reduce the burden of autoimmune disease and to develop diagnostic and therapeutic tools to improve immune function in patients and in healthy individuals.

Delivering the Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2009, Cornelia Weyand will talk about “The Immune System in Rheumatoid Arthritis – In Need for Rejuvenation”:

“Rheumatoid arthritis (RA) is a prototypic autoimmune syndrome in which chronic joint inflammation causes pain, deformity and disability. Besides the joint destruction, RA is complicated by accelerated cardiovascular disease; significantly shortening life expectancy. RA patients have increased risk to develop lymphoma and are susceptible to infection, disease complications resistant to current anti-inflammatory therapy. The traditional dogma proposes that innate and adaptive immunity is hyperactive, promoting autoantibodies and formation of complex lymphoid structures in the inflamed joint. Persistence of arthritogenic antigen is assumed to sustain chronicity. Cytokines have been identified as critical amplifiers of inflammation and as valid targets for anti-inflammatory therapy.

Recent evidence suggests that beside antigen-induced T cell activation other pathways are critically involved in promoting tissue-destructive immunity. Specifically, by determining the survival and longevity of T cells, mechanisms of maintaining DNA integrity and repairing broken DNA strands have emerged as key regulators of the immune system.  T cells with shortened and uncapped telomeres and fragmented DNA occupy the immune system in RA, suggesting mechanistic similarities between this autoimmune syndrome and the progeroid syndromes.

T cells are long-lived cells and the carrier of immune memory believed to mediate chronic inflammation.  Unlike most other somatic cells, T cells can upregulate telomerase and elongate their telomeres to prolong survival.  In RA telomeres are age-inappropriately eroded by 1500 kb. Telomeric loss affects not only memory T cells, but also unprimed naïve T cells and, as we have recently shown, CD34 bone marrow hematopoietic precursor cells.  The underlying mechanism involves a defect in upregulating the telomere-elongating enzyme telomerase.  Knock-down of telomerase activity in healthy T cells renders them susceptible to apoptosis. Repair of telomerase activity in RA T cells protects them from apoptotic death implicating this enzyme in cell fate decisions. Insufficiency to maintain intactness and stability of DNA is not limited to the telomeric ends of chromosomes but equally involves non-telomeric DNA strands. RA T cells are loaded with damaged DNA, mostly double strand breaks. Unless tackled by vigorous repair activity double stand breaks are lethal.   Molecular analysis of the DNA repair machinery demonstrate that RA T cells are deficient for the DNA repair enzyme ataxia-telangiectasia-mutated (ATM) and essentially mimic abnormalities in patients with the inherited syndrome ataxia telangiectasia. Forced overexpresion of ATM in RA T cells restores DNA repair, improves radiosensitivity and protects cells from apoptotic death.

In essence, RA emerges as a syndrome of subtle chronic T cell loss, forcing the system to respond with excessive autoproliferation. This response pattern imposes chronic proliferative stress and premature immunosenecence.  With nuclear instability emerging as an RA-associated mechanism, therapeutic approaches should be reconsidered and should include measures of immune rejuvenation.”


Lecture and Award Ceremony on December 1, 2009, at 5 p.m.
The Lecture, which has been supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation since 2008, takes place as part of the awarding of the Avrion Mitchison Prize at the German Rheumatism Reseach Center (DRFZ).

Foyer of the German Rheumatism Research Center (DRFZ) Berlin
Campus Charité Mitte
Charitéplatz 1
10117 Berlin
www.drfz.de

 

 

Cornelia Weyand

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2009

Professor Cornelia Weyand von der Stanford University spricht zum Thema „The Immune System in Rheumatoid Arthritis – In Need for Rejuvenation”

Weyand wurde vor kurzem als Professorin für Medizin an die Stanford University berufen. Sie studierte Medizin und Immunologie in Deutschland und absolvierte ein Fellowship in Rheumatologie an der Stanford University. Sie war Inhaberin der Barbara- Woodward-Lips-Professur für Medizin und Immunologie an der Mayo Medical and Graduate School in Rochester und, ab 2004, Inhaberin der David-Lowance-Professur für Medizin sowie Direktorin des Lowance Center for Human Immunology and Rheumatology an der medizinischen Fakultät der Emory University.

Weyand hat zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Ehrungen erhalten, darunter den Henry Christian Award for Excellence in Research (1991), den Henry Kunkel Young Investigator Award (1992), den Carol Nachmann Award for Rheumatology (1995), den Mayo Foundation Outstanding Investigator Award (1999), den Emory University Outstanding Research Citation Award (2006), und den Paul Klemperer Award (2006). Sie ist Mitglied in der American Society of Clinical Investigation und der American Association of Physicians.

Professor Weyands Hauptforschungsgebiet ist die Untersuchung der Krankheitsmechanismen bei Patienten mit chronisch inflammatorischem Syndrom, vor allem mit Rheumatoider Arthritis und entzündlichen Blutgefäßerkrankungen. Ihr Ziel ist es, die molekularen Mechanismen der immunvermittelten Gewebeschäden zu definieren, um letztendlich die Belastungen durch die Autoimmunerkrankung zu reduzieren sowie diagnostische und therapeutische Werkzeuge zur Verbesserung der Immunfunktion sowohl bei Patienten als auch bei gesunden Menschen zu entwickeln.

Anlässlich der Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2009 spricht Cornelia Weyand zum Thema „The Immune System in Rheumatoid Arthritis – In Need for Rejuvenation”:

„Die Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA) ist eine typische Autoimmunerkrankung, in der chronische Gelenkentzündung Schmerzen, Deformitäten und letztendlich Behinderung verursachen. Neben der Gelenkkomponente spielen im Rheumatiker zusätzlich kardiovaskuläre Komplikationen eine wesentliche Rolle. Eine Beschleunigung der Arteriosklerose führt zu einer signifikanten Verkürzung der Lebenserwartung. Rheumatiker haben ein erhöhtes Risiko, Lymphome und Infektionen zu entwickeln, Krankheitskomplikationen, die von derzeitigen Therapeutika nicht ausreichend kontrolliert werden. Das traditionelle Dogma schlägt vor, dass in Rheumatikern sowohl das angeborene wie das erworbene Immunsystem hyperreaktiv sind, wodurch es zur Autoantikörperbildung kommt und in den Gelenken komplexe lymphoide Strukturen entstehen. Persistenz eines bisher unbekannten Antigens wird als Ursache der Chronizität betrachtet. Zytokine funktionieren als wesentliche Amplifikatoren der Entzündung, und die Suppression von solchen Zytokinen hat die Palette der anti-inflammatorischen Therapien der RA deutlich erweitert.

Neue Untersuchungsergebnisse deuten darauf hin, dass neben der antigen-induzierten T-Zellaktivierung auch andere Mechanismen eine zentrale Rolle spielen in der gewebsdestruierenden Immunität. Von besonderer Bedeutung sind zell-interne Mechanismen, die die Integrität der DNA überwachen und fragmentierte DNA reparieren. Diese Mechanismen beeinflussen das Immunsystem, indem sie die Lebensdauer von T-Zellen kontrollieren.  Im Immunsystem von Rheumatikern akkumulieren sich T-Zellen, deren Telomere verkürzt und “uncapped” sind und deren DNA zerbrochen ist.  Diese Abnormalitäten weisen darauf hin, dass molekulare Defekte in der Rheumatoiden Arthritis mit den angeborenen progeroiden Syndromen geteilt werden.

T-Zellen sind langlebige Zellen und der Träger des immunologischen Gedächtnisses.  Im Gegensatz zu den meisten somatischen Zellen können T-Zellen Telomerase hochregulieren und so ihre Telomere verlängern und länger leben. In Rheumatikern sind die T-Zelltelomere um 1500 kb verkürzt. Telomerverlust betrifft nicht nur die Erinnerungszellen, sondern auch T-Zellen, die bisher nicht einbezogen waren in Immunreaktionen. Sogar die Knochenmarkvorläuferzellen der T-Zellen sind von diesem Teleomerverlust betroffen. Wir haben den molekularen Mechanismus, der zur Telomerzerstörung fuehrt, geklärt. Es handelt sich um einen Defekt in der Regulation der Telomerase, ein Enzym, das das Telomer beschützt, sichert und verlängert. Knock-down der Telomerase führt dazu, dass T-Zellen in Apoptose gehen. Reparatur der Telomerase in Rheumatikerzellen schützt die Zellen vor dem vorzeitigem Tod. Insuffizienz in der Erhaltung von intakter DNA ist nicht beschränkt auf die Enden der Chromosome, sondern involviert auch nicht-telomerische DNA.  T-Zellen in Rheumatikern sind beladen mit geschädigter DNA , insbesondere mit Brüchen von DNA Doppelsträngen. Solche DNA Brüche sind lethal, wenn sie nicht durch aktive Reparaturmechanismen beseitigt werden. Die molekulare Analyse der DNA Reparaturmaschinerie zeigt, dass RA T-Zellen unzureichende Mengen des DNA Reparaturenzyms ataxia-telangiectasia-mutated (ATM) herstellen. Im Prinzip gibt es Ähnlichkeiten zwischen der rheumatoiden Arthritis und dem angeborenen Syndrom der Ataxia-Telangiectasie.  Überexpression des ATM Enzyms in Rheumatiker T-Zellen stellt die DNA Reparatur wieder her, verbessert die Radiosensitivität der Zellen und schützt sie vor Apoptose.

Zusammenfassend entsteht ein neues Krankheitsmodell der rheumatoiden Arthritis. Die Daten weisen darauf hin, dass in diesem Autoimmunsyndrom chronisch T-Zellen verloren gehen. Dies führt zu einer Induktion von exzessiver T-Zellproliferation, dem Versuch, den T-Zellverlust zu kompensieren. Die Folgeerscheinung ist chronischer proliferativer Stress, ein Mechanismus, der Hand in Hand geht mit beschleunigter Alterung des Immunsystems. Mechanismen der nukleären Instabilität müssen mit in das Krankheitskonzept der RA einbezogen werden, besonders wenn neue Therapien entwickelt werden, die die Immunverjüngung als eine grundlegende Strategie miteinbeziehen sollten.“


Festveranstaltung am 1. Dezember 2009, 17 Uhr
Die Lecture, seit 2008 von der Schering Stiftung unterstützt, findet zusammen mit der Verleihung des Avrion-Mitchison-Preises im DRFZ statt.

Foyer des Deutschen Rheuma-Forschungszentrums Berlin
Campus Charité Mitte
Charitéplatz 1
10117 Berlin
www.drfz.de

Cornelia Weyand

Aktuelles

Wie frei sind wir wirklich?

17.02.2017, Berlin | Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet...
mehr

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2017

16.02.2017, Berlin | Brauchen wir Spielplätze für unsere Nutztiere? Wie werden 7 Milliarden Menschen satt? Und...
mehr

In Spandau startet die Al-Farabi Musikakademie

02.01.2017, Berlin | Eine sorgenfreie und unbeschwerte Jugend ist nicht für alle Kinder eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach...
mehr