Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Bohlmann Lecture 2009

On December 4, 2009, at 4 p.m., the Technical University of Berlin will host the 2009 Bohlmann Lecture in conjunction with the presentation of the 2008 Schering Prize. The lecture will be given by Nobel Prize laureate Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Gerhard Ertl on the topic of “Elementary Steps in Heterogeneous Catalysis.”

Born in 1936, Ertl studied physics in Stuttgart, Munich and Paris from 1955 until 1961. In 1965, he earned his doctorate from the Technical University of Munich, followed by his habilitation just two years later. Between 1968 and 1973, he was a professor and director at the Institute of Physical Chemistry at the Technical University of Hanover (today: Leibniz University of Hanover), before moving to the University of Munich (LMU). From 1986 until his retirement in 2004, he was director of the Department of Physical Chemistry at the Fritz Haber Institute (FHI) of the Max Planck Society in Berlin.

His research focuses on the field of so-called surface chemistry. His work on catalysis has made a key contribution to explaining many previously unknown processes of industrial catalysis. His findings are of major importance for many processes used in industry. For example, only his research made it possible to fully understand the processes in car catalysts.

Gerhard Ertl is the recipient of numerous awards and prizes, including eight honorary professorships. In 2007 he received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

On the occasion of the Bohlmann Lecture, the Technical University of Berlin will make Gerhard Ertl an honorary member. The university thus honors an extraordinary scientist and one of the most important chemical scientists of our time.

The Ernst Schering Foundation sponsors the lecture in order to strengthen the international networking among scientists and to make visible renowned experts as role models for young scientists. In addition, the lecture makes it possible for a broader, interested public to learn about the latest scientific findings.

Bohlmann Lecture 2009 and Schering Prize 2008
December 4, 2009, 4 p.m.

Technical University of Berlin
Lecture Hall C 130 (old chemistry building)
Straße des 17. Juni 115
10623 Berlin

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2009

Am 4. Dezember 2009 um 16 Uhr findet in der Technischen Universität die Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2009 zusammen mit der Verleihung des Schering-Preises 2008 statt. Die Vorlesung wird von dem Nobelpreisträger Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Gerhard Ertl zum Thema „Elementarschritte bei der heterogenen Katalyse“ gehalten.

Der 1936 geborene Ertl studierte zwischen 1955 und 1961 Physik in Stuttgart, München und Paris. Im Jahr 1965 promovierte er an der TU München, zwei Jahre später folgte die Habilitation. Zwischen 1968 und 1973 war er Professor und gleichzeitig Direktor am Institut für Physikalische Chemie der TU Hannover (heute Leibniz Universität Hannover), danach wechselte er an die Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Von 1986 bis zu seiner Emeritierung im Jahr 2004 war er Direktor der Abteilung Physikalische Chemie am Fritz-Haber-Institut (FHI) der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft in Berlin.

Sein wissenschaftlicher Schwerpunkt liegt im Bereich der sogenannten Oberflächenchemie. Seine Arbeiten zur Katalyseforschung haben wesentlich dazu beigetragen, dass viele weitgehend unverstandene Prozesse der technischen Katalyse im Ansatz aufgeklärt werden konnten. Die Erkenntnisse, die aus seiner Arbeit gewonnen werden konnten, sind für viele wirtschaftlich genutzte Prozesse von großer Bedeutung. So wurden erst durch seine Forschung die Vorgänge in den Katalysatoren von Autos vollständig nachvollziehbar.

Gerhard Ertl hat für seine wissenschaftlichen Leistungen zahlreiche Auszeichnungen bekommen, allein acht Honorarprofessuren finden sich auf der Liste seiner Ehrungen. Im Jahr 2007 wurde er mit dem Nobelpreis für Chemie ausgezeichnet.

Im Rahmen der Bohlmann-Vorlesung verleiht die TU Berlin an Gerhard Ertl die Würde einer Ehrenmitgliedschaft. Die Universität ehrt damit einen außerordentlichen Wissenschaftler und einen der bedeutendsten Chemiker unserer Zeit.

Die Schering Stiftung fördert die Vorlesung, um die internationale Vernetzung von Wissenschaftlern zu stärken und renommierte Fachexperten als Vorbilder für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs sichtbar zu machen. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht die Vorlesung einer breiten interessierten Öffentlichkeit die Teilhabe an neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen.

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2009 und Schering-Preis 2008
4. Dezember 2009, 16 Uhr

Technische Universität Berlin
Hörsaal C 130 (altes Chemiegebäude)
Straße des 17. Juni 115
10623 Berlin

 

Aktuelles

Nachwachsende Gliedmaßen und Nervenschädigungen im Visier

05.09.2017, Berlin | Am 25. September 2017, um 18:30 Uhr, verleiht die Schering Stiftung in der...
mehr

6. Max-Planck-Konferenz „Visions in Science“

04.09.2017, Berlin | Vom 29. September bis 1. Oktober 2017 findet zum sechsten Mal die Konferenz...
mehr

Vortragsreihe: Life in Numbers - mit Johan Elf

04.09.2017, Berlin | Im Sommersemester 2017 lädt das Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften (IRI) der Humboldt-Universität Berlin...
mehr