Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

WO BIST DU LICHT! - A "Light Concert" at Radialsystem V

25.01.2010, Berlin | Music and light in unison and dissonance. For the second part of the "Fluktuation 09" project, which is supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation, the Swiss artist Yann Becker, together with the Kaleidoskop Soloists’ Ensemble, stages a concert that connects music and light. Based on the idea of the "sphericity of time" by composer Bernd Alois Zimmermann, which describes the fusion of past, present and future, the Kaleidoskop Soloists’ Ensemble juxtaposes different musical eras and artistic means of expression.

Kaleidoskop ensemble

Photos: Sonja Müller

How does our hearing change if our seeing is actively influenced? In "Wo bist du Licht!" (Light, Where Are you!), the compositions open up a range of tone colors, where light becomes a living and creative matter. The light installations spring from, and interact with, the music. The light, as it were, follows its own score. On stage, music and light construct time and space.

For the concert, the Kaleidoskop Soloists’ Ensemble chose to juxtapose the title work, "Wo bist du Licht!" by Claude Vivier with a classical Haydn symphony as well as compositions by contemporary composers Salvatore Sciarrino and Jan St. Werner (Mouse on Mars). The music thus takes you from the aura of Haydn’s Symphony No. 7, "Le midi," to the disorientation and violence in Vivier’s work to the ecstatic, psychedelic sounds of Jan St. Werner.

Music and light – both surround, penetrate and change us and our reality. By disrupting familiar concert "listening" habits, "Wo bist du Licht!" opens up new perspectives on darkness and harmonies, silence and sparkle, noise and blindness, rhythm and architecture.

Fluktuation 09: II. "Wo bist du Licht!"

Where:
Radialsystem V
Holzmarktstr. 33
10423 Berlin

When:
Thu Feb 2 / Fri Feb 12 / Sat Feb 13, 2010, at 8 p.m.

Kaleidoskop Soloists’ Ensemble
Light Installation and Production: Yann Becker

Music
Claude Vivier (1948-1983) "Wo bist du Licht!"
Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) Symphony No. 7, "Le midi"
and works by Salvatore Sciarrino (*1947) and Jan St. Werner (world première)

Further information is available at:
www.kaleidoskopmusik.de

If you like to see a movie
referring to the project,
please click on the photo!

Kaleidoskop ensemble

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

WO BIST DU LICHT! - Ein "Lichtkonzert" im Radialsystem V

25.01.2010, Berlin | Musik und Licht in Einklang und Dissonanz. Im zweiten Teil des von der Schering Stiftung geförderten Projekts "Fluktuation 09" inszeniert der Schweizer Künstler Yann Becker gemeinsam mit dem Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop ein Konzert, in dem Musik und Licht miteinander verknüpft werden. Basierend auf der Idee der "Kugelgestalt der Zeit" des Komponisten Bernd Alois Zimmermann, mit der er das Verschmelzen von Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft beschreibt, stellt das Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop unterschiedliche musikalische Epochen und künstlerische Ausdrucksmittel einander gegenüber.

Ensemble Kaleidoskop

 

Wie verändert sich unser Hören, wenn das Sehen aktiv beeinflusst wird? In "Wo bist du Licht!" eröffnen die Kompositionen ein Spektrum von Klangfarben, in dem das Licht zur lebendigen und schöpferischen Materie wird. Die Lichtinstallationen entspringen der Musik und interagieren mit ihr. Das Licht folgt gleichsam seiner eigenen Partitur. Auf der Bühne konstruieren Musik und Licht die Zeit und den Raum.

Für das Konzert konfrontiert das Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop das titelgebende Werk "Wo bist du Licht!" von Claude Vivier mit einer klassischen Haydn-Sinfonie sowie Kompositionen der zeitgenössischen Künstler Salvatore Sciarrino und Jan St. Werner (Mouse on Mars). Die Musik führt so von der Aura der Haydn-Sinfonie Nr. 7 "le midi" über die Desorientierung und Gewalt in  Viviers Werk bis hin zu den rauschhaften, psychedelischen Klängen von Jan St. Werner.

Musik und Licht. Beide umgeben, durchdringen und verändern uns und unsere Realität. Mit dem Aufbrechen bekannter Konzert-"Zuhörer"-Gewohnheiten eröffnet uns "Wo bist Du Licht!" neue Perspektiven auf Dunkelheit und Harmonien, Stille und Strahlen, Krach und Blindheit, Rhythmus und Architektur.

Fluktuation 09: II. "Wo bist Du Licht!"

Ort:
Radialsystem V
Holzmarktstraße 33
10423 Berlin

Aufführungen: Do. 11.02. / Fr. 12.02. / Sa. 13.02.2010, jeweils 20 Uhr

Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop

Lichtinstallation und Inszenierung: Yann Becker

Musik
Claude Vivier (1948-1983) "Wo bist du Licht!"
Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) Sinfonie Nr. 7, "le midi"
sowie Werke von Salvatore Sciarrino (*1947) und Jan St. Werner (Uraufführung)

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter:
www.kaleidoskopmusik.de

Fotos: Sonja Müller

Wenn Sie einen Film zum
Projekt sehen möchten,
klicken Sie auf das Bild!

Ensemble Kaleidoskop

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Bewerbungsstart: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017, Berlin | Im April 2018 startet erneut das etablierte Führungskräftetraining Young Leaders in Science, das...
mehr