Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Utopia for Full Symphony Orchestra with Multiple Live Electronics

17.02.2010, Berlin | UTOPIA – this title was chosen by Thomas Kessler for his first composition for orchestra for two reasons: First, because he had created a completely new acoustic sound out of the interplay of multiple live electronics and orchestra instruments and second, because he could not imagine that his piece, due to its complexity, would ever be performed. The Kunstfest Weimar and the Berliner Festspiele have not shied away from this challenge: A co-production of both institutions, the work premièred in 2009 at pèlerinages and will now be presented as part of the ninth edition of MaerzMusik in Berlin. Itself entitled UTOPIA [LOST], the 2010 MaerzMusik festival puts its thematic focus on music as a site of utopian thought. UTOPIA, Staatskapelle Weimar

Performing the work UTOPIA on March 24, 2010, the Staatskapelle Weimar under the musical direction of Heinz Holliger will bring a new sound to the audience. Spread around the room, each musician is equipped with a computer and an amplifier in order to distort the instrumental sound live and electronically. The Ernst Schering Foundation supports this performance at the Berlin Philharmonie in particular for its innovative approach to connecting technology and music. In addition to the work by Thomas Kessler, the concert will also feature compositions by Heinz Holliger and Bernd Alois Zimmermann.

Born in Zurich in 1937, Thomas Kessler for over thirty years has dedicated himself to linking traditional instrumental play with electronic devices, synthesizers and computers. In contrast to compositions that are designed for a central mixing desk, where a sound engineer controls the sound of the entire orchestra, Kessler in UTOPIA explicitly focuses on the individual musician who modulates his/her own musical interpretation at an individual live-electronic setup (synthesizer, laptop, foot pedal, etc.) – in, as it were, a “subversive way,” as Kessler puts it.

With his work, the composer hopes to create a “utopian” symphony orchestra where each musician plays a second, live-electronic instrument in addition to his actual instrument. For Thomas Kessler, this is the dawn of a “better – live-electronic – world,” musically speaking.

March 24, 2010, 8 p.m.

Berlin Philharmonie
Herbert-von-Karajan-Str. 1
10785 Berlin

7 p.m. Introduction

Südfoyer
Wolfgang Korb in conversation with Thomas Kessler

Concert Program:

Heinz Holliger
Tonscherben
Fragments for Orchestra
In memoriam David Rokeah [1916-1985] (1985)

Bernd Alois Zimmermann
Stille und Umkehr
Sketches for Orchestra (1970)

Thomas Kessler
Utopia for Full Symphony Orchestra with Multiple Live Electronics (2009)

Performers:

Staatskapelle Weimar
Conductor: Heinz Holliger

Simon Böckenhoff / Rico Graupner / Egor Poliakov / Daniel Schulz /
Thomas Seelig / Clemens Wegener, Audio Design
Markus Danne / Martin Felderhoff, Technical Services


Further information is available at
http://www.berlinerfestspiele.de/en/aktuell/Startseite.php

Photos: Maik Schuck

UTOPIA, Staatskapelle Weimar

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Utopia für großes Sinfonieorchester mit multipler Live-Elektronik

17.02.2010, Berlin | UTOPIA nannte Thomas Kessler seine erste Komposition für Orchester, weil er mit dem Zusammenspiel aus multipler Live-Elektronik und Orchesterinstrumenten ein völlig neues Klangbild geschaffen hatte und sich zudem nicht vorstellen konnte, dass dieses Stück aufgrund seiner Komplexität jemals zur Aufführung käme. Diese große Herausforderung haben das Kunstfest Weimar und die Berliner Festspiele nicht gescheut: Das Werk wurde als Koproduktion der beiden Institutionen erstmals 2009 bei den pèlerinages aufgeführt und wird nun im Rahmen der neunten Ausgabe von MaerzMusik in Berlin präsentiert. Diese steht selbst unter dem Motto UTOPIE [VERLOREN] und setzt ihren thematischen Schwerpunkt im Jahr 2010 auf Musik als Ort utopischen Denkens.

UTOPIA, Staatskapelle Weimar

Mit dem Werk UTOPIA wird die Staatskapelle Weimar unter der Leitung von Heinz Holliger am 24. März 2010 einen neuen Klang erfahrbar machen. Verteilt im Raum verfügt jeder einzelne Musiker über einen Computer und Verstärker, um den Instrumentalklang live-elektronisch zu verfremden. Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt die Aufführung in der Berliner Philharmonie insbesondere aufgrund dieses innovativen Ansatzes in der Verbindung von Technik und Musik. Neben dem Werk von Thomas Kessler werden in dem Konzert Kompositionen von Heinz Holliger und Bernd Alois Zimmermann zu hören sein.

Der 1937 in Zürich geborene Thomas Kessler widmet sich seit über dreißig Jahren der Verbindung traditionellen Instrumentalspiels mit elektronischen Apparaten, Synthesizern und Computern. Anders jedoch als bei Kompositionen, die ein zentrales Mischpult vorsehen, an dem ein Klangregisseur die Kontrolle über den Gesamtklang des Orchesters ausübt, legt Kessler in UTOPIA sein Augenmerk explizit auf den einzelnen Musiker, der jeweils die Modulation seiner eigenen musikalischen Interpretation an einem individuellen live-elektronischen Setup (Synthesizer, Laptop, Fußpedal, etc.), quasi „subversiv“, wie Kessler sagt, vornimmt.

Mit seinem Werk verbindet der Komponist den Wunsch, ein „utopisches“ Sinfonieorchester zu schaffen, in dem jeder Musiker neben seinem eigentlichen Instrument ein zweites, live-elektronisches spielt. Für Thomas Kessler bedeutet dies musikalisch den Aufbruch in eine „bessere – live elektronische – Welt“.

24. März 2010, 20 Uhr

Philharmonie Berlin
Herbert-von-Karajan-Str. 1
10785 Berlin

19 Uhr Einführungsveranstaltung
Südfoyer
Wolfgang Korb im Gespräch mit Thomas Kessler 

Konzertprogramm:

Heinz Holliger
Tonscherben
Orchester-Fragmente
In memoriam David Rokeah [1916-1985] (1985)

Bernd Alois Zimmermann
Stille und Umkehr
Orchesterskizzen (1970)

Thomas Kessler
Utopia
für großes Sinfonieorchester mit multipler Live-Elektronik (2009) 

Ausführende:

Staatskapelle Weimar
Leitung: Heinz Holliger

Simon Böckenhoff / Rico Graupner / Egor Poliakov / Daniel Schulz /
Thomas Seelig / Clemens Wegener, Audio-Designer
Markus Danne / Martin Felderhoff, Technik

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter
www.berlinerfestspiele.de

Fotos: Maik Schuck

Utopia, Staatskapelle Weimar

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr