Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Prototypes - Bionics and Looking to Nature

From time immemorial, humans have tried to use examples in nature to develop technological solutions. The systematic search for natural structures which can be important as models for technology is called bionics. In order to familiarize a broader public with the achievements and advances in bionics and thus contribute to a public understanding of science and research, the Ernst Schering Foundation supports this ambitious exhibition on "Prototypes - Bionics and Looking to Nature" organized by the Stiftung Brandenburger Tor, which will be on display at the Max Liebermann Haus in Berlin from May 24 to August 24. Abbildung Manta

In six theme areas, the exhibition provides occasionally astonishing answers to the following questions: How is movement created? What are boundaries good for? What is stability? Where does energy come from? How do you arrive at solutions? How do things organize themselves?

One special feature of the exhibition is the inclusion of art. Scientists are not the only ones fascinated by nature. Artists, too, are inspired by nature and constantly explore the relationship between humankind, nature and technology. Selected historical and contemporary works of art invite visitors to reflect on these issues beyond the purely scientific-technical context. By supporting this exhibition, the Ernst Schering Foundation pursues its vision to build bridges between art and science and to promote a fruitful dialogue between these disciplines.

Exhibition

May 24 until August 24, 2008
Opening: May 23, 2008
Mon, Wed, Thu, Fri: 10 a.m.-6 p.m.
Sat, Sun: 11 a.m.-6 p.m.

Max Liebermann Haus of the Stiftung Brandenburger Tor
Pariser Platz 7  |  10117 Berlin
www.brandenburgertor.de

Lecture "Do Art and Technology Imitate Nature?"
by Professor Dr. Gernot Böhme, Institute for Philosophy, Technical University of Darmstadt
Thursday, June 26, 2008, 7:30 p.m.

Photos: Festo AG Co. KG (1), Michael Hölzl (2+3)

Prototypen Bionik

 

Prototypen Bionik

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Prototypen – Bionik und der Blick auf die Natur

Seit alters her versucht der Mensch, Vorbilder in der Natur zur Entwicklung technischer Lösungen fruchtbar zu machen. Die systematische Suche nach natürlichen Strukturen, die technisch als Vorbilder von Bedeutung sein können, wird als Bionik bezeichnet. Um die Leistungen der Bionik einem breiten Publikum nahezubringen und damit zum öffentlichen Verständnis von Wissenschaft und Forschung beizutragen, unterstützt die Schering Stiftung die ambitionierte Ausstellung „Prototypen – Bionik und der Blick auf die Natur“ der Stiftung Brandenburger Tor, die vom 24. Mai bis 24. August im Max Liebermann Haus in Berlin gezeigt wird. Abbildung Manta

Die Ausstellung gibt in sechs Themenräumen zum Teil verblüffende Antworten auf folgende Fragen: Wie entsteht Bewegung? Wozu dienen Grenzen? Was ist Stabilität? Woher kommt Energie? Wie entstehen Lösungen? Wie organisieren sich Dinge von selbst?

Eine Besonderheit ist die Einbeziehung der Kunst in die Ausstellung. Denn die Natur fasziniert nicht nur Wissenschaftler, auch Künstler lassen sich von ihr inspirieren und hinterfragen stets aufs Neue das Verhältnis zwischen Mensch, Natur und Technik. Ausgewählte historische und zeitgenössische künstlerische Arbeiten laden die Besucher ein, sich über den rein wissenschaftlich-technischen Kontext hinaus mit diesen Fragen zu beschäftigen. Mit der Förderung der Ausstellung folgt die Schering Stiftung auch ihrem Anliegen, Brücken zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft zu bauen und diese beiden Felder in einen fruchtbaren Dialog miteinander zu bringen.

Ausstellung

Eröffnung: 23. Mai 2008
Laufzeit: 24. Mai bis 24. August 2008
Montag, Mittwoch, Donnerstag und Freitag von 10 - 18 Uhr
Samstag, Sonntag von 11 - 18 Uhr

Max Liebermann Haus der Stiftung Brandenburger Tor
Pariser Platz 7  |  10117 Berlin
www.brandenburgertor.de

Vortrag "Ahmen Kunst und Technik die Natur nach?"
Professor Dr. Gernot Böhme, Institut für Philosophie, Technische Universität Darmstadt
Donnerstag, 26. Juni 2008, 19.30 Uhr

Fotos: Festo AG Co. KG (1), Michael Hölzl (2+3)

Prototypen Bionik


Prototypen Bionik

Aktuelles

Nachwachsende Gliedmaßen und Nervenschädigungen im Visier

05.09.2017, Berlin | Am 25. September 2017, um 18:30 Uhr, verleiht die Schering Stiftung in der...
mehr

6. Max-Planck-Konferenz „Visions in Science“

04.09.2017, Berlin | Vom 29. September bis 1. Oktober 2017 findet zum sechsten Mal die Konferenz...
mehr

Vortragsreihe: Life in Numbers - mit Johan Elf

04.09.2017, Berlin | Im Sommersemester 2017 lädt das Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften (IRI) der Humboldt-Universität Berlin...
mehr