Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Ernst Schering Prize 2010

Prof. Sir Marc Feldmann and

Prof. em. Sir Ravinder Maini

On September 28, 2010, the Ernst Schering Foundation in Berlin will award this year’s Ernst Schering Prize for international excellence in the field of medicine and basic biological and chemical research. For the first time, the award goes to two scientists. The prize winners are Emeritus Professor em. Sir Ravinder N. Maini and Professor Sir Marc Feldmann from the Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology at Imperial College London, who will be honored for their fight against rheumatoid arthritis and other autoimmune diseases.

A key feature of their work has been the close and fruitful long-term collaboration and the overlap in skills and interests. This has probably helped them to be leaders in the difficult process of translating laboratory research into real medical progress for patients.

About the research work of Marc Feldmann and Ravinder Maini

Ravinder Maini and Marc Feldmann have worked together since the early 1980s to unravel the molecular basis of a major autoimmune disease, rheumatoid arthritis. They discovered a new approach to therapy that has benefitted millions of patients worldwide.

The important research which Feldmann and Maini and their group has performed led to the development of a family of new drugs blocking a host defence molecule, tumor necrosis factor, abbreviated TNF, which controls inflammation and tissue destruction not only in rheumatoid arthritis but also in psoriatic arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, psoriasis, Crohn’s disease, and ulcerative colitis.

The TNF blocking drugs, either monoclonal antibodies or TNF receptor fusion protein, are effective in the majority of patients, even those refractory to all previous treatments, and are now used by patients with the more severe forms of these diseases. Of particular importance is that joint destruction is halted and the quality of life much improved, so that these drugs are highly appreciated by patients.

For more information on the research work and on the biography of the prize winners, please see the press release.

Important Dates

Award ceremony “Ernst Schering Prize 2010”
September 28, 2010, at 6 p.m. in Berlin, by invitation only

Press conference with the prize winners
September 28, 2010, at 11 a.m.
Ernst Schering Foundation | Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin | Germany

Presentations of the prize winners
September 29, 2010, at 10 a.m.
lecture to high school students in Berlin-Tegel, non-public event
"Identification of a molecule that revolutionised treatment of disabling arthritis"

September 29, 2010, at 4 p.m.
Public lecture for scientists and students
"Discovering a molecular therapy for chronic inflammatory arthritis"
Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin - Hörsaal Südflügel
Sauerbruchweg 2 | 10117 Berlin
This lecture will be in English. A registration is not necessary.

Photo: Ravinder N. Maini (l) und Marc Feldmann (r)
© Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology, London 2010

Ernst Schering Preisträger 2010

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Ernst Schering Preis 2010

Prof. Sir Marc Feldmann and

Prof. em. Sir Ravinder Maini

Am 28. September 2010 verleiht die Schering Stiftung in Berlin den diesjährigen Ernst Schering Preis für international herausragende Leistungen im Bereich der medizinischen, biologischen und chemischen Grundlagenforschung. Der Preis geht erstmals an zwei Wissenschaftler. Preisträger sind Professor em. Sir Ravinder N. Maini und Professor Sir Marc Feldmann vom Kennedy-Institut für Rheumatologie am Imperial College London, die für ihren Kampf gegen rheumatoide Arthritis und andere Autoimmunerkrankungen geehrt werden.

Prägend für das Werk der beiden Preisträger ist ihre langjährige enge und fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit sowie die gegenseitige Ergänzung ihrer Fähigkeiten und Interessen. Diesem Umstand verdanken sie wahrscheinlich ihre führende Rolle in dem schwierigen Prozess, die Forschungserkenntnisse aus dem Labor für den medizinischen Fortschritt zum Wohle der Patienten zu nutzen.

Die Forschungsarbeit von Marc Feldmann und Ravinder Maini

Seit Beginn der 1980er Jahre widmen sich Ravinder Maini und Marc Feldmann der Erforschung der molekularen Grundlagen der rheumatoiden Arthritis (Gelenkrheumatismus), einer weit verbreiteten Autoimmunerkrankung. Dabei entwickelten sie im Rahmen ihrer Zusammenarbeit einen neuen Therapieansatz, der seitdem Millionen Patienten auf der ganzen Welt zugute kommt.

Die Forschungstätigkeit von Feldmann, Maini und ihrer Gruppe führte zur Entwicklung einer neuen Medikamentengruppe zur Neutralisierung des Abwehrmoleküls Tumor-Nekrose-Faktor (TNF), welches die Entzündung und Gewebezerstörung nicht nur bei rheumatoider Arthritis, sondern auch bei Psoriasis-Arthritis, Spondylitis ankylosans (Morbus Bechterew), Morbus Crohn und Colitis ulcerosa steuert.

TNF-Blocker – es handelt sich dabei entweder um monoklonale Antikörper oder um TNF-Rezeptorfusionsproteine – sprechen bei der Mehrheit der Patienten an, selbst dann, wenn frühere Therapien versagt haben, und kommen heutzutage bei Patienten mit schwereren Formen dieser Krankheiten zum Einsatz. Von besonderer Bedeutung ist dabei, dass die Zerstörung der Gelenke gestoppt und die Lebensqualität erheblich verbessert wird, weshalb diese Medikamente von Patienten sehr geschätzt werden.

Weitere Informationen zur Forschungsarbeit sowie zu den Biografien der Preisträger können Sie der Presseinformation entnehmen.

Wichtige Termine im Überblick

Preisverleihung „Ernst Schering Preis 2010“
28. September 2010, 18.00 Uhr, Berlin, Teilnahme nur auf Einladung

Pressekonferenz mit den Preisträgern
28. September 2010, 11.00 Uhr
Schering Stiftung | Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin

Vorträge der Preisträger
29. September 2010, 10.00 Uhr
Vortrag vor Schülern in Berlin-Tegel, nicht öffentlich
"Identification of a molecule that revolutionised treatment of disabling arthritis"

29. September 2010, 16.00 Uhr
Öffentlicher Vortrag für Wissenschaftler und Studenten
"Discovering a molecular therapy for chronic inflammatory arthritis"
Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin - Hörsaal Südflügel
Sauerbruchweg 2 | 10117 Berlin
Der Vortrag wird in englischer Sprache gehalten. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.

Fotos: Ravinder N. Maini (l) und Marc Feldmann (r)
© Kennedy-Institut für Rheumatologie, London 2010

Ernst Schering Preisträger 2010

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr