Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Walter Hohlweg Prize 2008

Dr. Jörg Engel

Wuerzburg University Gynecological Hospital

Preclinical Studies of Receptor-Mediated Tumor Therapy with Peptide Hormone Analogues

In September 2008, Dr. Jörg Engel, assistant medical director at the Wuerzburg University Gynecological Hospital, was awarded the 2008 Walter Hohlweg Prize by the German Society of Gynecology and Obstetrics. The €8,000 prize was funded by the Ernst Schering Foundation. Engel was honored for his “Preclinical Studies of Receptor-Mediated Tumor Therapy with Peptide Hormone Analogues.”

In his work, Engel showed that receptor-mediated therapy (“targeted therapy”) with cytotoxic GnRH, bombesin/GRP and somatostatin analogues in preclinical tumor models is highly effective while showing little hematoxicity. In the presented studies, the hybrid molecule in the examined tumor diseases was significantly more potent than the “non-targeted” 2-pyrrolinodoxorubicin. The high effectiveness in highly different tumor entities, such as malignant melanoma and endometrial cancer, indicates that the potential therapeutics might be applied widely. The expression of the specific target receptor on tumor cells, however, is a sine qua non for an effective therapy, because blocking the tumor receptors always led to a significantly reduced effectiveness of the cytotoxic peptide analogues. In all experiments, the hematoxicity following receptor-mediated chemotherapy was lower than following undirected therapy with cytotoxic radical. There is little indication of a fast development of chemotherapeutic resistance following receptor-mediated therapy, because no experiment has shown an increased expression of MDR proteins after treatment. With AN-152, one of the investigated therapeutics is now being tested in clinical trials. In a phase-1 trial with patients with GnRH-receptor positive mammal, ovarian and endometrial cancer, AN-152 was well-tolerated and is now tested for its effectiveness in phase-II trials.

In further studies, it could be shown that the peptide hormone GHRH, originally a hypothalamic peptide, is likely to function as an autocrine growth factor in non-Hodgkin lymphomas and endometrial carcinoma. In-vitro studies and animal models showed that interrupting this autocrine loop through GHRH antagonists inhibits growth in both tumor entities.

Jörg Engel

News

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Digital Salon: A Soft Spot for Cyborgs

22.05.2017, Berlin | Smart robot hands, artificial legs, printable organs: Are implants the panacea of the...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Walter Hohlweg Preis 2008

PD Dr. Jörg Engel

Universitäts-Frauenklinik Würzburg

Präklinische Untersuchungen zur rezeptorvermittelten Tumortherapie mit Peptidhormonanaloga

Im September 2008 erhielt Dr. Jörg Engel, Oberarzt an der Universitäts-Frauenklinik Würzburg und Privatdozent, den Walter Hohlweg Preis 2008 von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Gynäkologie und Geburtshilfe. Das Preisgeld i.H.v. 8.000 € wurde von der Schering Stiftung finanziert. Ausgezeichnet wurde Engel aufgrund seiner Arbeit „Präklinische Untersuchungen zur rezeptorvermittelten Tumortherapie mit Peptidhormonanaloga“.

In der Arbeit zeigte Engel, dass die rezeptorvermittelte Therapie („Targeted Therapy“) mit zytotoxischen Analoga des GnRH, des Bombesins/GRP und des Somatostatin in präklinischen Tumormodellen bei geringer Hämatotoxizität hochwirksam ist. In den vorgestellten Studien war das Hybridmolekül in den untersuchten Tumorerkrankungen deutlich potenter als das „non-targeted“ 2-Pyrrolinodoxorubicin. Die gute Wirksamkeit in tumorbiologisch recht unterschiedlichen Entitäten, wie z.B. dem malignen Melanom und dem Endometriumkarzinom spricht für die Möglichkeit einer breiten Einsetzbarkeit der potentiellen Therapeutika. Die Expression des jeweiligen Targetrezeptors auf Tumorzellen ist allerdings eine conditio sine qua non für eine effektive Therapie, denn eine Blockade der tumoralen Rezeptoren führte immer zu einer deutlichen Wirkungsabschwächung der zytotoxischen Peptidanaloga. Die Hämatotoxizität nach rezeptorvermittelter Chemotherapie war in allen Experimenten geringer als nach ungerichteter Therapie mit dem zytotoxischen Radikal. Mit der schnellen Entwicklung einer Chemoresistenz nach rezeptorvermittelter Therapie ist wahrscheinlich nicht zu rechnen, denn in keinem Experiment wurde eine vermehrte Expression von MDR-Proteinen nach Behandlung beobachtet. Mit AN-152 ist jetzt eines der hier untersuchten Therapeutika in die klinische Prüfung eingetreten. In einer Phase I Studie an Patientinnen mit GnRH-rezeptorpositiven Mamma-, Ovarial-und Endometriumkarzinomen war AN-152 gut verträglich und wird jetzt in Phase-II Studien weiter auf seine Wirksamkeit überprüft.

In weiteren Untersuchungen konnte demonstriert werden, dass das ursprünglich im Hypothalamus beschriebene Peptidhormon GHRH in Non-Hodgkin Lymphomen und Endometriumkarzinomen wahrscheinlich als autokriner Wachstumsfaktor fungiert. Durch in vitro Untersuchungen und im Tiermodell wurde gezeigt, dass die Unterbrechung dieses autokrinen Loops durch GHRH-Antagonisten zur Wachstumsinhibition in beiden Tumorentitäten führt.

Jörg Engel

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni...
mehr