Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

LÖ BAL ALMANYA – A Music Play

23.04.2010, Berlin | In the early 1980s, the Théatre du Campagnol developed the music theater play “Le Bal,” a lyrical music play: Through music and dance, it tells the stories of twenty totally different people who meet in a Paris ballroom at different times between 1936 and 1983. In cooperation with curator and producer Shermin Langhoff from the Ballhaus Naunynstraße, the Turkish director Nurkan Erpulat has adapted the original play that has already been restaged in many other countries. Entitled “Lö Bal Almanya,” it will have its première at the Ballhaus on May 11, 2010. Bal Almanya

By comprehensively reworking the play and adding songs and exclusively documentary texts, Erpulat created a German version of the play, which reflects the history of labor migration in Germany since the 1960s. Although Erpulat picks up on the basic idea of the play, according to which the stories of different people are told across decades in one place, “Lö Bal Almanya” is not just another variation on the original play as a story without words.

In “Lö Bal Almanya,” the ensemble members – “passionate wanderers with a migration background,” as the Ballhaus Naunynstraße notes – embark on a journey through five memorable decades. They sing their heads off and talk themselves into a rage in order to find answers to questions such as: Why was the one-millionth guest worker in 1964 presented with a moped instead of a fire extinguisher, as had been the original plan? Is the contention that the Berlin Wall would have fallen on the heads of Turks an Anatolian myth? What is the minimum age for a Muslim to be able to be recommended for the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany? Some 50 years after the bilateral recruitment treaty between Germany and Turkey, the music play uses traditional songs and documentary material to demonstrate why the history of labor migration in Germany has to be rewritten.

The Ernst Schering Foundation supports the production of “Lö Bal Almanya” because the play distinguishes itself by telling German social history from the perspective of migrants and in terms of reflecting on German identity. Moreover, the interdisciplinary approach to adapting the play and its objective of international understanding are consistent with the goals of the Foundation. 

Lö Bal Almanya

A production of Kultursprünge e.V. at Ballhaus Naunynstraße

With: Melek Erenay, Katharina Koch, Tobias Schwencke, Muri Seven, Tim Seyfi, Sesede Terziyan, Cem Sultan Ungan, Michael Wenzlaff, Mehmet Yılmaz

Direction: Nurkan Erpulat
Musical Direction: Tobias Schwencke
Dramaturgy: Tunçay Kulaoglu
Set: Justus Saretz
Costumes: Lea Walloschke

Dates & Location

Première: May 11, 2010, at 8 p.m.
Additional performances: May 12, May 14, 15, 16, May 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, May 24, 25, 2010, at 8 p.m.

Ballhaus Naunynstraße
Naunynstr. 27 | 10997 Berlin

Photos: Ute Langkafel, MAIFOTO
For additional information and tickets, please visit: www.ballhausnaunynstrasse.de

Lö Bal Almanya

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Ivana Franke

 

LÖ BAL ALMANYA – Ein musikalisches Schauspiel

23.04.2010, Berlin | Anfang der 1980er Jahre wurde vom Théatre du Campagnol das Musiktheaterstück „Le Bal“ entwickelt. „Le Bal“ ist poetisch-musikalisches Theater: In einem Pariser Ballsaal begegnen sich zu verschiedenen Zeitpunkten zwischen 1936 und 1983 zwanzig grundverschiedene Menschen, deren Geschichten mittels Musik und Tanz mitreißend erzählt werden. Der türkische Regisseur Nurkan Erpulat hat nun in Zusammenarbeit mit der Kuratorin und Produzentin Shermin Langhoff am Ballhaus Naunynstraße das bereits auch in anderen Ländern adaptierte Stück neu inszeniert. Am 11. Mai 2010 wird es als „Lö Bal Almanya“ im Ballhaus uraufgeführt.

Bal Almanya

Mit einer umfassenden, durch Gesang und ausschließlich dokumentarischen Textmaterial erweiterten Neubearbeitung entsteht eine deutsche Fassung des Stückes, die die Geschichte der Arbeitsmigration in Deutschland seit den 1960er Jahren reflektiert. Erpulat greift zwar die Grundidee des Stückes auf, wonach die Geschichten verschiedener Menschen über mehrere Jahrzehnte hinweg an einem Ort erzählt werden, jedoch ist „Lö Bal Almanya“ keine weitere Variation des ursprünglichen Stoffes als Erzählform ohne Worte.

Die Ensemblemitglieder, „leidenschaftliche Wanderer mit Migrationsvordergrund“, wie das Ballhaus Naunynstraße sie beschreibt, begeben sich in „Lö Bal Almanya“ auf eine Zeitreise durch fünf denkwürdige Dekaden. Sie singen sich die Seele aus dem Leib und reden sich in Rage, um Antworten auf Fragen zu finden wie: Warum bekam der millionste Gastarbeiter 1964 ein Moped geschenkt und keinen Feuerlöscher, wie ursprünglich geplant? Ist die Behauptung, die Berliner Mauer wäre auf die Köpfe der Türken gefallen, eine anatolische Lebenslüge? Welches Mindestalter muss ein Moslem haben, um für das Bundesverdienstkreuz vorgeschlagen werden zu können? Rund 50 Jahre nach dem Anwerbeabkommen zwischen Deutschland und der Türkei zeigt das musikalische Schauspiel mit traditionellem Liedgut und dokumentarischem Material, warum die Geschichte der Arbeitsmigration in Deutschland umgeschrieben werden muss.

Die Inszenierung „Lö Bal Almanya“ wird von der Schering Stiftung gefördert, da sie durch die Idee besticht, deutsche Gesellschaftsgeschichte aus migrantischer Sicht zu erzählen und zudem in Bezug auf die eigene deutsche Identität zu reflektieren. Darüber hinaus stehen der interdisziplinäre Ansatz der Neubearbeitung sowie das Ziel der Völkerverständigung im Einklang mit den Förderzielen der Stiftung.

Lö Bal Almanya

Eine Produktion von Kultursprünge e.V. im Ballhaus Naunynstraße

Mit: Melek Erenay, Katharina Koch, Tobias Schwencke, Muri Seven, Tim Seyfi, Sesede Terziyan, Cem Sultan Ungan, Michael Wenzlaff, Mehmet Yılmaz

Regie: Nurkan Erpulat
Musikalische Leitung: Tobias Schwencke
Dramaturgie: Tunçay Kulaoglu
Ausstattung: Justus Saretz
Kostüme: Lea Walloschke

Termine & Veranstaltungsort

Premiere: 11. Mai 2010, um 20 Uhr
Weitere Vorstellungen: 12.05., 14.-16.05., 18.-22.05., 24.-25.05.2010 jeweils um 20 Uhr

Ballhaus Naunynstraße
Naunynstr. 27 | 10997 Berlin

Fotos: Ute Langkafel, MAIFOTO
Weitere Informationen und Tickets erhalten Sie unter: www.ballhausnaunynstrasse.de

 

Bal Almanya

 

Bal Almanya

Aktuelles

Wer hat Angst vorm fremden Mann?

12.05.2017, Berlin | Die Angst vor dem Fremden scheint ein Wesensmerkmal des Menschen zu sein. Sie...
mehr

SYSTEMA NATURAE

22.05.2017, Berlin | Im Jahr 2013 begannen die Komponisten Mauro Lanza und Andrea Valle ihre Zusammenarbeit...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr