Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

2010 CMG Lecture on Ancient Medicine

The working group of the “Corpus Medicorum Graecorum/Latinorum” at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) invited to the 2nd “CMG Lecture on Ancient Medicine.” The lecture series aims to present selected topics in ancient medicine, and their current relevance, to a broader public. This year’s guest speaker was Prof. Dr. Heinrich von Staden, Princeton, who gave a talk about “Animal Experiments in Ancient Medicine” at the BBAW on June 9, 2010, at 7 p.m. The lecture was made possible by the Ernst Schering Foundation. CMG Lecture

Staden is a member of the American Philosophical Society and the Académie des Inscriptions et Belles Lettres at the Institut de France, as well as a corresponding member of the British Academy, the Finnish Academy, and the Academy in Göttingen. After receiving his Ph.D. from the University of Tübingen, he taught classics and comparative literature at Yale, before being appointed to the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton in 1998. He was president of the International Federation of the Societies of Classical Studies and of the Society for Ancient Medicine and is considered to be one of the most important historians of ancient history of our time, outside of his specialty in ancient medical history.

The nature and extent of scientific experiments in ancient Greek and Roman science remains a disputed subject. Analyzing reports of animal experiments that were conducted by Greek biologists and doctors from the fourth century B.C. to the second century A.D., the lecture focussed on some of the more controversial aspects of this subject. It discussed the motivations of the ancient scientists, the purpose of their experiments, their methods and findings, and their selection of indigenous and exotic animal species for use in the experiments. It also looked at significant changes in the social conditions of the experiments, particularly the move from a long tradition of conducting such experiments in private to performing them in public space, often in front of a sizeable audience. Finally, the lecture also explored the limits, ethical and otherwise, of animal experiments in ancient times.

An introduction from a contemporary medical perspective was given by Prof. Dr. Hanfried Helmchen, member of the Bioscience/Medical Class of the BBAW and former managing director of the Psychiatric Clinic and Polyclinic of the Free University of Berlin.

The Ernst Schering Foundation supported the CMG Lecture because of its objectives to foster public understanding of science and research and to promote the dialogue between science and society.

2010 CMG Lecture

Animal Experiments in Ancient Medicine
by Prof. Dr. Heinrich von Staden (Princeton)

Wednesday, June 9, 2010, 7 p.m.

Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities
Leibniz Hall
Markgrafenstraße 38 | 10117 Berlin

Click here to download invitation.

Further information is available at: http://cmg.bbaw.de
 
Photo: Galen as vivisector. Detail from the panel illlustration of the title page of the 9th Junta edition of Galen’s Works, Venice 1625, (c) CMG

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Ivana Franke

 

CMG-Lecture on Ancient Medicine 2010

Die Arbeitsstelle des traditionsreichen altertumswissenschaftlichen Vorhabens „Corpus Medicorum Graecorum / Latinorum“ der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW) lud zur 2. „CMG-Lecture on Ancient Medicine“ ein. Die Vorlesungsreihe hat zum Ziel, ausgewählte Themenbereiche der antiken Medizin und ihre aktuelle Relevanz einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit vorzustellen. Gastredner im Jahr 2010 war Prof. Dr. Heinrich von Staden, Princeton. Er sprach am 9. Juni 2010 um 19 Uhr in der BBAW zum Thema „Tierversuche in der antiken Medizin“. Die Lecture wurde von der Schering Stiftung ermöglicht.

CMG Lecture

Staden ist Mitglied der American Philosophical Society und der Académie des Inscriptions et Belles Lettres am Institut de France sowie korrespondierendes Mitglied der British Academy, der Finnischen Akademie und der Akademie in Göttingen. Nachdem er in Tübingen promoviert wurde, lehrte er als Professor für Classics und vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft in Yale, bevor er 1998 an das Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton berufen wurde. Er war Präsident der International Federation of the Societies of Classical Studies und der Society for Ancient Medicine und gilt über das Fach der Antiken Medizingeschichte hinaus als einer der bedeutendsten Altertumswissenschaftler unserer Zeit.

Wesen und Ausmaß des wissenschaftlichen Experimentierens in der antiken griechischen und römischen Wissenschaft bleiben umstritten. Der Vortrag griff einige der umstritteneren Aspekte heraus und analysierte Berichte über verschiedene Tierversuche, die von griechischen Biologen und Ärzten vom vierten Jh. v. Chr. bis zum zweiten Jh. n. Chr. durchgeführt wurden. Dabei wurden die Beweggründe der antiken Wissenschaftler untersucht, der beabsichtigte Zweck ihrer Versuche, ihre Methoden und Resultate und die Auswahl der einheimischen und exotischen Tierarten, an denen die Versuche gemacht wurden. Bedeutsame Veränderungen der sozialen Begleitumstände von Versuchen wurden ebenfalls beleuchtet: vor allem der Wandel von einer langen Tradition, solche Experimente nur im privaten Rahmen durchzuführen, hin zu Tierversuchen im öffentlichen Raum, nicht selten vor einer ansehnlichen Zuschauermenge. Schließlich wurden auch die ethischen Grenzen und Grenzen anderer Art bei Tierversuchen in der Antike erörtert.

Eine Einleitung aus zeitgenössischer medizinischer Perspektive hielt Prof. Dr. Hanfried Helmchen, Mitglied der Biowissenschaftlich-medizinischen Klasse der BBAW und ehemaliger Geschäftsführender Direktor der Psychiatrischen Klinik und Poliklinik der Freien Universität Berlin.

Die Schering Stiftung unterstützte die CMG-Lecture, da es ihr ein wichtiges Anliegen ist, das öffentliche Verständnis von Wissenschaft und Forschung zu verbessern und den Dialog zwischen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft zu fördern.

CMG-Lecture 2010

Tierversuche in der antiken Medizin
von Prof. Dr. Heinrich von Staden (Princeton)

Mittwoch, 09.06.2010, 19 h

Berlin-Brandenburgische Akadmie der Wissenschaften
Leibnizsaal
Markgrafenstraße 38 | 10117 Berlin

 Einladungskarte zum Download

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter: http://cmg.bbaw.de

 

Foto: Galen als Vivisektor. Ausschnitt aus der Rahmenillustration des Titelblattes der 9. Galen-Juntina, Venedig 1625, (c) CMG

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Am 1. Juni, um 19 Uhr, eröffnet in den KW Institute for Contemporary...
mehr