Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Musical Cross-Border Dialogue – Laptop Orchestra Reworks Missa Choralis by Franz Liszt

03.06.2010, Berlin – Pécs – Osijek | In 2010, the Ernst Schering Foundation and MitOst e.V. for the third time organized a joint competition – this year under the title “kultur-im-dialog.moe” (culture-in-dialogue.moe). The competition is designed to promote cultural projects that foster the long-term relationship between neighboring countries and/or in border regions in Eastern, Central and Southeastern Europe. One of the winning projects is the “Musical Cross-Border Dialogue” of the Berlin Laptop Orchestra. The Laptop Orchestra transforms classical music into contemporary electronic music and thus tries to sensitize young people and young adults from the Duna/Dráva border region between Pécs, Vukovár, and Osijek to the social and artistic transformation processes of our times. Grenzdialog

Ever since the collapse of the Eastern Bloc, the people in this region are experiencing a severe identity crisis. For most of them, the tension between adhering to old traditions and searching for new directions is a burden rather than an opportunity. This manifests itself in the rise of right-wing extremist parties or the fact that many 25- to 45-year-olds leave the region for the urban centers of Central Europe. The global economic crisis, which has hit Eastern Europe particularly hard, is not the cause, as might be assumed, but rather a catalyst for these developments. Led by Christian Gracza and Bettina Lehmann, the project team wants to use unusual contemporary means to reach their target group.

The project consists of several parts: First, the Laptop Orchestra “Endliche Automaten” (Finite-State Machines) goes on a composition tour from Berlin to Osijek via Pécs. In Pécs, a regional composer will re-work and set to the music the Missa Choralis by Franz Liszt for the Laptop Orchestra. In addition, there will be a ten-day public orchestra rehearsal, which will give the orchestra the opportunity to rehearse the upcoming concert in Osijek, provide an artistic framework for dealing with the genre, and generate the platform for a workshop on the question of the region’s identity in the Europe of the 21st century.

The “Musical Cross-Border Dialogue” will conclude with the premiere of the re-worked Missa Choralis for Laptop Orchestra at the City Galleries of Osijek. In this way, German artists cooperate with a local Hungarian composer to create musical art for a Croatian audience.

Through this novel approach of combining the final phase of the orchestra rehearsals with a workshop, Christian Gracza and Bettina Lehmann want to spark the interest of young people and young adults who are eager to deal with the problems of our times. Contemporary classical music provides the means to this end.

An important goal of the project is to communicate the avant-garde in audio-visual arts to Central, Southern and Eastern Europe while at the same time communicating each region’s trends in musical art across its borders. Producers, mediators and recipients are put in a position to deal with their cross-border neighbors and are sensitized to recognize both European commonalities and differences. Following this core philosophy, the project pursues one of the guiding ideas behind the identity discussion in Europe: “living cultural unity and living cultural diversity.”

Workshop

June 18–20, 2010
Lenau House, Munkácsy M. u. 8, 7621 Pécs, Hungary

Concert

June 21, 2010
City Galleries Osijek, Fakultetska 7, 31000 Osijek, Croatia

Award Ceremony of kultur-im-dialog.moe 2010

The two winning projects – “Musical Cross-Border Dialogue” and “Track Changes” – will receive their awards during the MitOst Festival in Perm/Russia (October 13–17, 2010).

Photos: 1 – Setup Venue, Timişoara, © Hagen Wiel | 2 – Travel Impressions, © Marek Brandt | 3 – Barutana, Osijek, © Hagen Wiel

Grenzdialog

 

Grenzdialog

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Musikalischer Grenzdialog – Laptoporchester überarbeitet Missa Choralis von Franz Liszt

03.06.2010, Berlin – Pécs – Osijek | Im Jahr 2010 loben die Schering Stiftung und der MitOst e.V. zum 3. Mal einen gemeinsamen Wettbewerb aus, der 2010 unter dem Titel kultur-im-dialog.moe steht. Mit dem Wettbewerb werden Kulturprojekte unterstützt, die die nachhaltigen Beziehungen zwischen Nachbarländern oder in Grenzregionen Ost-, Mittel- und Südosteuropas fördern. Eines der beiden Gewinnerprojekte ist der „Musikalische Grenzdialog“ des Labtoporchesters Berlin. Das Laptoporchester transformiert klassische Musik in zeitgenössische elektronische Musik und versucht so, Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene aus der europäischen Grenzregion Duna/Dráva zwischen Pécs, Vukovár und Osijek für den gesellschaftlichen und künstlerischen Transformationsprozess der Gegenwart zu sensibilisieren.

Grenzdialog

Die Menschen in dieser Region befinden sich seit dem Zusammenbruch des Ost-Blocks in einer tiefen Identitätskrise. Das Spannungsfeld zwischen dem Festhalten an Traditionen und der Suche nach neuen Wegen, empfindet die Mehrheit nicht als Chance, sondern als Last. Dieser Zustand ist in der Region etwa am Erstarken rechtsextremer Parteien oder am Wegzug der Menschen im Alter zwischen 25 und 45 Jahren in die Zentren Mitteleuropas ablesbar. Die Weltwirtschaftskrise, welche Osteuropa ganz besonders hart getroffen hat, ist hierfür, wie man annehmen könnte, nicht die Ursache, sondern vielmehr Katalysator. Das Projektteam um Christian Gracza und Bettina Lehmann möchte mit auβergewöhnlichen zeitgenössischen Mitteln die Aufmerksamkeit der Zielgruppe erreichen.

Das Projekt besteht aus mehreren Teilen: Zunächst geht das Laptoporchester „Endliche Automaten“ auf Kompositionsreise von Berlin über Pécs nach Osijek. In Pécs wird ein regionaler zeitgenössischer Komponist die Missa Choralis von Franz Liszt für das Laptoporchester überarbeiten und vertonen. Ferner gibt es eine zehntägig öffentliche Orchesterprobe, welche dem Orchester einerseits die technische Möglichkeit einräumt, das bevorstehende Konzert in Osijek einzustudieren, und andererseits den künstlerischen Rahmen für die inhaltliche Auseinandersetzung sowohl mit dem Genre an sich bietet als auch die Plattform für den Workshop generiert, welcher der Frage nach der eigenen Identität der Teilnehmer aus der Region in einem Europa des 21. Jahrhunderts nachgeht.

Den Abschluss des „Musikalischen Grenzdialogs“ bildet die Uraufführung der Überarbeitung der Missa Choralis in eine Fassung für ein Laptoporchester in den Städtischen Galerien in Osijek. Auf diese Weise erschaffen die deutschen Künstler in Kooperation mit dem ungarischen Komponisten vor Ort ihre Tonkunst für ein kroatisches Publikum.

Mit diesem neuartigen Ansatz, die Orchesterproben in ihrer Endphase mit dem Workshop zu verbinden, möchten Christian Gracza und Bettina Lehmann das Interesse der Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen wecken, die sich ernsthaft und konzentriert mit den Problemen der Gegenwart auseinandersetzen wollen. Die zeitgenössische elektronische Musik bildet hierbei den Aufhänger.

Ein wichtiges Ziel des Projekts ist die Vermittlung von Trendspitzen innerhalb der audiovisuellen Kunst in Mittel-, Süd- und Osteuropa. Gleichzeitig gilt es jedoch die tonkünstlerischen Tendenzen aus den jeweiligen Regionen über die Grenzen hinweg zu vermitteln. Produzenten, Vermittler und Empfänger werden in die Lage versetzt, sich mit dem jeweiligen Nachbarn auseinanderzusetzen. Sie werden sensibilisiert europäische Gemeinsamkeiten, aber auch Unterschiede zu erkennen. Auf diesem entscheidenden Moment beruht die Philosophie dieses Projekts. Dieses Modellprojekt verfolgt einen der Leitgedanken der Identitätsdiskussion in Europa: „living cultural unity and living cultural diversity”.

Workshop

18. bis 20. Juni 2010
Lenau-Haus, Munkácsy M. u. 8 H-7621 Pécs

Konzert

21. Juni 2010
Gradske Galerije Osijek, Fakultetska 7, HR-31000 Osijek

Preisverleihung kultur-im-dialog.moe 2010

Die zwei Gewinnerprojekte aus: „Musikalischer Grenzdialog“ und „Track Changes“ werden im Rahmen des MitOst Festivals in Perm/ Russland (13. - 17.10.2010) ausgezeichnet.

Fotos: 1 - Setup Venue, Temeswar, © Hagen Wiel | 2 - Reiseimpressionen, © Marek Brandt | 3 - Barutana, Osijek, © Hagen Wiel

Grenzdialog

 

Grenzdialog

Aktuelles

Wie frei sind wir wirklich?

17.02.2017, Berlin | Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet...
mehr

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2017

16.02.2017, Berlin | Brauchen wir Spielplätze für unsere Nutztiere? Wie werden 7 Milliarden Menschen satt? Und...
mehr

In Spandau startet die Al-Farabi Musikakademie

02.01.2017, Berlin | Eine sorgenfreie und unbeschwerte Jugend ist nicht für alle Kinder eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach...
mehr