Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Examples to Follow! Expeditions into Aesthetics and Sustainability

24.08.2010, Berlin | On September 2, 2010, the exhibition “Examples to Follow! Expeditions into Aesthetics and Sustainability” will open at the Uferhallen in Berlin-Wedding. Organized by the Stiftung Forum der Kulturen zu Fragen der Zeit and initiated by journalist, author, and curator Adrienne Goehler and art educator, project manager, and curator Jaana Prüss, the project examines artistic practices and positions for visions of a sustainable future. Focusing in particular on the rather over-used term “sustainability,” the exhibition asks what sustainable changes we can bring about to continue to make life on our planet worth living. Presenting over 37 positions from art, design, architecture, and technological inventions, it argues that a sustainability that sees itself as a creative force cannot do without the arts and sciences: it is from them that we can learn to think in terms of transitions, provisional solutions, models, and projects. zur nachahmung empfohlen!

The exhibition is accompanied by workshops for children and young people, panel discussions with representatives of art, science, foundations, business, industry, and NGOs, and a film program. The ambitious project is supported by numerous public and private institutions, including the German Federal Cultural Foundation and the Ernst Schering Foundation.

The exhibition will be accompanied by a publication, which consists of a catalogue, a reader, a children’s coloring book, and handicraft instructions. After Berlin the exhibition will be on view at the Westwendischer Kunstverein in Gartow, at the Federal Environment Agency in Dessau, the Neuer Pfaffenhofener Kunstverein, the Kunstverein Ingolstadt, the Städtische Galerie Neuburg an der Donau, and, in cooperation with the local Goethe-Institutes, in St. Petersburg, Australia, and Athens.


Exhibition Opening: Thursday, September 2, 2010, 6 p.m.

Exhibition Dates: September 3 – October 10, 2010

Location:
Uferhallen
Uferstraße 8-11
13357 Berlin (Wedding)

Opening Hours: Tue – Sun: 12 noon – 8 p.m., Thu: 12 noon – 10 p.m.
Admission: 5 euro (discounted tickets 2 euro), discounts for groups and school groups

For additional information (list of participating artists and sponsors) and the program schedule, please visit www.z-n-e.info.


Photo: Jennifer Allora & Guillermo Calzadilla, Under Discussion, 2004-05, video still, courtesy of the artists

News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

zur nachahmung empfohlen! expeditionen in ästhetik und nachhaltigkeit

Am 2. September 2010 eröffnet in den Uferhallen in Berlin-Wedding die Ausstellung „zur nachahmung empfohlen! expeditionen in ästhetik und nachhaltigkeit“. Das Projekt der Stiftung Forum der Kulturen zu Fragen der Zeit, initiiert von der Publizistin und Kuratorin Adrienne Goehler und der Kunstvermittlerin, Projektmanagerin und Kuratorin Jaana Prüss sucht in künstlerischen Praktiken und Positionen nach Visionen eines zukunftsfähigen Lebens. Was können wir tun, um den Planeten Erde nachhaltig zu verändern und damit seinen Lebenswert zu erhalten? Die Ausstellung rückt insbesondere den Begriff der Nachhaltigkeit, der heute zunehmend inflationär benutzt wird, in den Mittelpunkt und will mit über 37 Positionen aus Kunst, Design, Architektur und technischen Erfindungen dafür sensibilisieren, dass Nachhaltigkeit, die sich als gestaltend versteht, nicht ohne die Künste und Wissenschaften auskommt: Von ihnen ist das Denken in Übergängen, Provisorien, Modellen und Projekten zu lernen.

zur nachahmung empfohlen!

Die Ausstellung wird begleitet von Workshops mit Kindern und Jugendlichen, Panels mit VertreterInnen aus Kunst, Wissenschaft, Stiftungen, Wirtschaft und NGO’s, sowie einem ausgewiesenen Filmprogramm. Neben der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und der Schering Stiftung engagieren sich zahlreiche weitere öffentliche und private Institutionen für das ambitionierte Projekt.

Begleitend zur Ausstellung erscheint eine Publikation, bestehend aus einem Katalog, einem Lesebuch, einem Kindermalbuch und Bauanleitungen. Nach Berlin wird die Ausstellung im Westwendischen Kunstverein, Gartow, im Umweltbundesamt Dessau, im Neuen Kunstverein Pfaffenhofen, im Kunstverein Ingolstadt und in der Städtischen Galerie Neuburg an der Donau gezeigt, anschließend in Kooperation mit den jeweiligen Goethe-Instituten in St. Petersburg, Australien und Athen.

Ausstellungseröffnung:
Donnerstag, 2. September 2010, 18 Uhr

Ausstellungsdauer: 3. September – 10. Oktober 2010

Ausstellungsort:
Uferhallen
Uferstraße 8-11
13357 Berlin (Wedding)

Öffnungszeiten: Di – So 12 – 20 Uhr, donnerstags bis 22 Uhr
Eintritt: 5 Euro, ermäßigt 2 Euro, Rabatte für Gruppen und Schulklassen

Weitere Informationen (Künstlerliste und Liste der Förderer) sowie das Rahmenprogramm finden Sie unter unter www.z-n-e.info

 

Abbildung: Jennifer Allora & Guillermo Calzadilla, Under Discussion, 2004-05, Videostill, courtesy the artists

Aktuelles

Praktikant/in ab Oktober 2017 gesucht

18.07.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung bietet einer/einem Praktikantin/en ab Oktober 2017 die Möglichkeit, Einblick in...
mehr

"Women" von Sasha Waltz

19.07.2017, Berlin | Sasha Waltz & Guests werden im Rahmen von „Tanz im August“ am 30....
mehr

KreativWettbewerb "Suizid ist nicht die Lösung!"

19.07.2017, Berlin | Das Thema Suizid wird in der Öffentlichkeit gern verdrängt und wer nicht direkt...
mehr