Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Working Shade . Formed Light

Is sunlight composed of different colors and is it refracted into rays of different colors? This discovery by Isaac Newton, taught unquestioningly in physics classes today, was already vehemently challenged by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe in 1810, the year of the publication of his “Theory of Colors,” and has since been hotly debated by both scientists and artists. Two exhibitions, which will open in Berlin on September 4 and 8, 2010, will make it possible for visitors to relive the famous color debate between Goethe and Newton and will re-open the debate through spectacular light installations using state-of-the-art optical equipment. Working Shade_Ingo Nussbaumer

In the exhibition “Working Shade . Formed Light,” which will open on September 8, 2010, at 7 p.m., artist and philosopher Ingo Nussbaumer will present his intensive exploration into the insights of Newton and Goethe; he playfully translates the insights gained from spectral light phenomena into big water prism installations. Through innovative optical experiments and complex experimental set-ups, the Austrian artist shows the surprising constellations of colors that can be elicited and the great diversity of the irregular, unexpected behavior of light colors. “For decades, Ingo Nussbaumer’s work has alternated between real materials and imaginary color spaces, between constellations and fragmentations, between scientific research and artistic action.”(*) By sponsoring the exhibition, the Ernst Schering Foundation once again supports an artist who works at the interface of science and art.

In 2010, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe’s “Theory of Color” – just like Berlin’s Humboldt University – celebrates its 200th anniversary. On the occasion of this double anniversary, the university juxtaposes Ingo Nussbaumer’s art project with a purely scientific experimental set-up, which allows the visitors to re-enact Newton’s and Goethe’s experiments in an experimental lab set up by physicists Johannes Grebe-Ellis and Matthias Rang. In addition, the serial color light objects by Ingo Nussbaumer are complemented by a colored shade intervention by artist Hubert Schmidleitner, entitled “Colored Shades.”

(*) Vitus H. Weh, “Komplexität und Reichtum” (Complexity and Richness), in: Malerei der Anordnungen. Rücknahme und Eingriff, ed. Ingo Nussbaumer/Galerie Hubert Winter, Nuremberg 2010, pp. 6-7.


Working Shade . Formed Light
A serial and spectral color project by Ingo Nussbaumer
With a light/shade intervention by Hubert Schmidleitner: Colored Shades

Opening:
Wednesday, September 8, 2010, 7 p.m.

Exhibition Dates: September 9 – October 6, 2010

Location:
Humboldt University of Berlin
University Building Invalidenstr. 42
(former Bauernmensa) East Building, First Floor
[next to the Museum of Natural History]
10115 Berlin

Opening Hours:
Tuesday – Friday: 2 – 8 p.m.
Saturday: 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Additional information is available at:

www.workingshade.com

Experimentum Lucis
Exhibition and experimental lab set up by physicists Prof. Dr. Johannes Grebe-Ellis (Lüneburg and Berlin) and Matthias Rang (Lüneburg and Dornach)

Opening: Monday, September 4, 2010, 7 p.m.

Exhibition Dates: September 5 – 25, 2010

Location:
Lichthof (Atrium) of Humboldt University of Berlin
Unter den Linden 6
10099 Berlin

Opening Hours:
September 5 – 12 and September 24 – 25: daily from 4 – 10 p.m.

Exhibition Closing Party:
September 25, 2010, 8 p.m.

Additional information is available at:
www.experimentum-lucis.de


Photos: Ingo Nussbaumer, Michael Goldgruber

Working Shade_Ingo Nussbaumer

Project Space

Address: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Opening hours during exhibitions:Thursday through Monday, 1 - 7 p.m. | Admission is free Since 2009, the Ernst Schering Foundation has ...

more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Working Shade . Formed Light

Ist Sonnenlicht aus verschiedenen Farben zusammengesetzt und wird es bei Brechung in verschiedenfarbige Lichtstrahlen zerlegt? Das, was Schülerinnen und Schüler heute im Physikunterricht als Entdeckung Isaac Newtons ohne Widerspruch lernen, wurde bereits von Johann Wolfgang von Goethe mit Erscheinen seiner „Farbenlehre“ im Jahr 1810 vehement bezweifelt und wird seither von Wissenschaftlern wie Künstlern gleichermaßen intensiv diskutiert. Am 4. und 8. September 2010 eröffnen in Berlin zwei Ausstellungen, die ihre Besucher am berühmten Farbenstreit teilhaben lassen und die Debatte in spektakulären Lichtinstallationen mit modernsten optischen Mitteln neu entfachen werden.

Working Shade_Ingo Nussbaumer

In der Ausstellung „Working Shade . Formed Light“, die am 8. September 2010, 19 Uhr, eröffnet wird, präsentiert der Künstler und Philosoph Ingo Nussbaumer seine intensive Auseinandersetzung mit den Erkenntnissen Newtons und Goethes und setzt die aus spektralen Lichtphänomenen gewonnenen Erkenntnisse spielerisch in Installationen mit großen Wasserprismen um. In innovativen optischen Experimenten und komplexen Versuchsanordnungen zeigt der österreichische Künstler, welch überraschende Farbkonstellationen hervorgerufen werden können und wie mannigfaltig die irregulären, unerwarteten Verhaltensweisen von Lichtfarben sein können. „Das Werk von Ingo Nussbaumer alterniert seit Jahrzehnten zwischen realen Materialien und imaginären Farbräumen, zwischen Konstellationen und Fragmentationen, zwischen wissenschaftlicher Forschung und künstlerischem Handeln.“(*) Mit der Förderung seiner Ausstellung unterstützt die Schering Stiftung einen weiteren Künstler, der an der Schnittstelle von Naturwissenschaft und Kunst arbeitet.

Die „Farbenlehre“ Johann Wolfgang von Goethes blickt im Jahr 2010 – ebenso wie die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin – auf ihre 200-jährige Geschichte zurück. Anlässlich dieses doppelten Jubiläums stellt die Universität dem Kunstprojekt von Ingo Nussbaumer eine rein wissenschaftliche Versuchsanordnung gegenüber, in der die Besucher Newtons und Goethes Experimente in einem Experimentallabor der Physiker Johannes Grebe-Ellis und Matthias Rang nachvollziehen können. Zudem werden die seriellen Farblichtobjekte von Ingo Nussbaumer um eine farbige Schatten-Intervention, „Colored Shades“, des Künstlers Hubert Schmidleitner erweitert.

(*) Vitus H. Weh: „Komplexität und Reichtum“, in: Malerei der Anordnungen. Rücknahme und Eingriff, hrsg. von Ingo Nussbaumer/Galerie Hubert Winter, Nürnberg 2010, S. 6–7

Working Shade . Formed Light
Ein serielles und spektrales Farbprojekt von Ingo Nussbaumer
Mit einer Licht-Schatten-Intervention von Hubert Schmidleitner: Colored Shades

Eröffnung:
Mittwoch 8. September 2010, 19.00 Uhr

Dauer der Ausstellung: 9.9. bis 6.10.2010

Ort:
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Universitätsgebäude Invalidenstraße 42
(ehemalige Bauernmensa) Erdgeschoss Ostbau
[neben dem Museum für Naturkunde]
10115 Berlin

Öffnungszeiten:
Dienstag – Freitag: 14 bis 20 Uhr
Samstag: 11 bis 15 Uhr

Weitere Informationen unter:

www.workingshade.com

Experimentum Lucis
Ausstellung und Experimentallabor der Physiker Prof. Dr. Johannes Grebe-Ellis (Lüneburg und Berlin) und Matthias Rang (Lüneburg und Dornach)

Eröffnung: Montag, 4. September 2010, 19 Uhr

Dauer der Ausstellung: 5.9. bis 25.9.2010

Ort:
Lichthof der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Unter den Linden 6
10099 Berlin

Öffnungszeiten:
5. bis 12. und 24. bis 25. September, täglich von 16 bis 22 Uhr

Finissage:
25. September 2010, 20 Uhr

Weitere Informationen unter:
www.experimentum-lucis.de

In einem ausführlichen Aufsatz stellt Olaf Müller die experimentellen und ästhetischen Hintergründe der Installationen Ingo Nussbaumers dar.
Diesen Aufsatz, der in Nussbaumers Buch /Rücknahme und Eingriff/ (Nürnberg 2010) erschienen ist, finden Sie hier.

Fotos: Ingo Nussbaumer, Michael Goldgruber

Working Shade_Ingo Nussbaumer

Projektraum

Anschrift: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Öffnungszeiten während der Ausstellungen:Donnerstag – Montag, 13–19 Uhr | Eintritt frei Seit 2009 zeigt die Schering Stiftung im ...

mehr