Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Membranes, Surfaces, Boundaries | Creating Interstices

29.09.2010, Berlin | At first glance, surfaces are boundaries. But already the ancient natural philosophers were aware of the complex and enigmatic nature of this perception. Matter, they speculated, is not a continuum, but consists of small, ultimate elements that are átomos, i.e. indivisible. It is to this topic that the Aedes am Pfefferberg art gallery dedicates an exhibition entitled “Membranes, Surfaces, Boundaries – Creating Interstices,” which will open on October 8, 2010, at 6:30 p.m. The exhibition is sponsored by the Ernst Schering Foundation because of its interdisciplinary approach at the interface of art and science.

Hertrich_Susanna_Robots

The exhibition presents works by artist Heike Klussmann, architect Thorsten Klooster, designer and artist Susanna Hertrich, and designer Clemens Winkler. The projects and experiments show the interaction between the theoretical and material manifestations of membranes, surfaces, and boundaries, and how they mediate between everyday object, technology, and aesthetic production. The encounter of heterogeneous scientific and artistic practices and concepts, because of their differences, generates new ways of understanding and sensuous experience.

The concepts of membranes, surfaces, and boundaries are equally important in technological research, in the humanities, and in the arts, and render accessible important if disparate contents. By virtue of their complexity, these concepts are especially well suited to bringing together an important range of contemporary and historical developments in various disciplines in new and innovative ways. Whether visible or usable in everyday life or removed from our gaze such as in the field of nanotechnological material research or at the level of biotechnological and chemical processes, boundaries determine the reality of our lived world. They define and catalyze life processes, e.g. in the form of cellular membranes, skin, immune systems, or ecological habitats. Phenomena which occur at material boundaries play a role in the applied sciences, e.g. in chemical engineering, and thus also form a link to artistic production. This is manifested in the material forms of surfaces, in their media representations in photography, film, and digital visual media, but also in experiences of indifference such as Duchamp’s concept of “inframince,” which describes the barely perceptible difference between two adjoining processes or conditions.

Conceived by the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science and the University of Kassel in cooperation with the participating artists, the exhibition launches a series of events jointly organized with the Aedes Network Campus Berlin. The goal is to generate a sophisticated dialogue between science and art. For the first time, surfaces become a space for interdisciplinary debate. The exhibition contributions correspond to the scientific positions of a workshop of the same name, which is organized by the MPI and takes place simultaneously with the exhibition opening in Dahlem. For more information about the workshop, please click here:

Membranes, Surfaces, Boundaries
Opening: Friday, October 8, 2010, 6:30 p.m.

Speakers:
Dr.h.c. Kristin Feireiss, Aedes Berlin

Prof. Hans-Jörg Rheinberger, Director at the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin

Heike Catherina Mertens, Arts and Culture Director of the Ernst Schering Foundation

Aedes am Pfefferberg
Christinenstraße 18-19 | 10119 Berlin

Exhibition Dates: October 8 – November 11, 2010
Tue–Fri: 11 a.m.–6:30 p.m., Sat–Sun: 1–5 p.m.

 

 

 

picture credits:
1. Susanna Hertrich | Robot
2. Heike Klussmann | BlingCrete
3. Thorsten Klooster | Smart Surfaces  

Klussmann_Heike_BlingCrete

 

Klooster_Thorsten_smartsurfaces

Project Space

Address: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Opening hours during exhibitions:Thursday through Monday, 1 - 7 p.m. | Admission is free Since 2009, the Ernst Schering Foundation has ...

more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Membranes, Surfaces, Boundaries | Creating Interstices

Auf den ersten Blick sind Oberflächen Grenzen. Doch schon die Naturphilosophen der Antike hatten ein Bewusstsein für die Hintergründigkeit dieser Wahrnehmung. Materie, so spekulierten sie, sei keineswegs ein Kontinuum, sondern bestehe aus kleinen, letzten Bausteinen, die átomos, also unteilbar sind. Die Galerie 'Aedes Am Pfefferberg' widmet diesem Thema die Ausstellung "Membranes, Surfaces, Boundaries - Creating Interstices", welche am 08.10.2010 um 18.30 Uhr eröffnet wird. Die Ausstellung wird von der Schering Stiftung aufgrund ihres interdisziplinären Ansatzes an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Wissenschaft gefördert. Susanna Hertrich Robot


Präsentiert werden Arbeiten von Heike Klussmann, Künstlerin, Thorsten Klooster, Architekt, Susanna Hertrich, Designerin und Künstlerin sowie Clemens Winkler, Designer. In Projekten und Experimenten zeigen sie Wechselwirkungen theoretischer wie materieller Manifestationen von Membranen, Oberflächen und Grenzen und deren Vermittlungsbewegungen zwischen Alltagsgegenstand, Technologie und ästhetischer Produktion. Heterogene wissenschaftliche und künstlerische Praktiken und Konzepte treffen aufeinander, um über ihre Differenzen neue Modi des Verstehens und sinnlichen Erfahrens zu schaffen.

Die Konzepte von Membran, Oberfläche und Grenze sind in der technischen Forschung, in den Geisteswissenschaften wie in den Künsten gleichermaßen bedeutend und erschließen wichtige, jedoch disparate Inhalte. Aufgrund dieser Vielschichtigkeit sind sie besonders geeignet, ein wichtiges Spektrum aktueller wie historischer Entwicklungen verschiedener Disziplinen auf eine neuartige Weise zusammenzuführen. Ob sicht- und nutzbar im Alltagsgebrauch oder dem Blick entzogen wie in den Bereichen der nanotechnologischen Materialforschung, auf der Ebene biotechnologischer und chemischer Prozesse, bedingen Grenzen lebensweltliche Realität. Sie definieren und katalysieren die Prozesse des Lebens, etwa als zelluläre Membranen, in Form der Haut oder des Immunsystems oder als ökologischer Lebensraum. Phänomene an materiellen Grenzen spielen eine Rolle in den angewandten Naturwissenschaften, etwa in der chemischen Verfahrenstechnik, und stellen so auch eine Verbindung zur Produktion von Kunst dar. Diese zeigt sich in den materialen Erscheinungsformen der Oberfläche, in ihren medialen Repräsentationen in Fotografie, Film und digitalen Bildmedien, aber auch in Indifferenzerfahrungen wie Duchamps Konzept des Inframince, das die beinahe nicht wahrnehmbare Trennung zwischen zwei angrenzenden Ereignissen oder Zuständen beschreibt.

Die Ausstellung wurde vom Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte und der Universität Kassel gemeinsam mit den Künstlern konzipiert und bildet den Auftakt zu einer Veranstaltungsreihe mit dem Aedes Network Campus Berlin. Intendiert wird ein differenzierter Austausch von Wissenschaft und Kunst. Oberfläche wird hier erstmalig zu einem interdisziplinären Verhandlungsraum werden. Die Ausstellungsbeiträge korrespondieren mit den wissenschaftlichen Positionen des vom MPI veranstalteten gleichnamigen Workshops, der zeitgleich zur Eröffnung in Dahlem stattfindet.
Mehr zu dem Workshop erfahren Sie hier.

Membranes, Surfaces, Boundaries
Eröffnung: Freitag, 8. Oktober 2010 um 18.30 Uhr

Zur Eröffnung sprechen:

Dr.h.c. Kristin Feireiss, Aedes Berlin

Prof. Hans-Jörg Rheinberger, Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Berlin

Heike Catherina Mertens, Vorstand Kultur der Schering Stiftung

Aedes Am Pfefferberg
Christinenstraße 18-19, 10119 Berlin

Laufzeit: 08.10. bis 11.11.2010
Di-Fr: 11 bis 18.30 Uhr, Sa-So: 13 bis 17 Uhr

 

Abbildungen:
1. Susanna Hertrich | Robot
2. Heike Klussmann | BlingCrete
3. Thorsten Klooster | Smart Surfaces  

Heike Klussmann BlingCrete

 

Thorsten Klooster smartsurfaces

Projektraum

Anschrift: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Öffnungszeiten während der Ausstellungen:Donnerstag – Montag, 13–19 Uhr | Eintritt frei Seit 2009 zeigt die Schering Stiftung im ...

mehr